Review: Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Day Essence

I intended to do a blog entry on Pandan Chiffon Cake today but water supply at home was cut off since yesterday evening. Something went technically wrong with our water pump or pressure tank. So, I couldn’t do any baking yesterday evening after I came home from work. Water came back this morning after Dad went to check on them but water came out as dark as the color of a chocolate bar. Water pressure was low as well. Hence, showering time took longer than usual.

So, I decided to do review on one of the skincare products from my skincare products’ review list. What I am about to review today is Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Day Essence. That’s a mouthful for a product name, huh? LOL!

DSC03695

Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Day Essence

I bought this particular product from Elizabeth Arden, Hua Ho Yayasan when my previous bottle of Artistry Ideal Radiance Illuminating Essence ran low on supply. I was even contemplating if I should return to purchasing another bottle of the latter. But before I decided on purchasing Elizabeth Arden, I Google searched the mentioned product and check on the reviews. Most of the reviews which I checked on highly raved about this product apart from the downside on being a little bit too pricey.

Extracted from Elizabeth Arden Singapore:

This concentrated yet lightweight daytime serum instantly brightens skin, evens out skin tone and controls melanin production. Powerful melanin inhibitors help minimize the appearance of existing dark spots and help prevent future excess pigmentation. Supports natural collagen and elastin so skin reflects a smoother, more even-textured and luminous appearance.

DSC03696

The 30ml of essence was housed in a glass bottle and it came with a “squeeze” pump dispenser like in the above picture. I like the “squeeze” pump dispenser as it’s very hygienic and you do not have to worry about accidentally squirting too much of the essence. One squeeze will dispense a droplet of the essence which is more than enough for the entire face. When purchasing this product, Shet Fui reminded me that the tip of the dispenser must not get in contact with the skin for hygiene reason.

DSC03700

One of the ingredients of this product was Diamond Powder. Hence, it explained why the liquid looked gold in color and slightly glittery. Albeit the essence was gold in color, it doesn’t make your face looking all gold and glittery after application. The consistency of the liquid is slightly runny and it gets absorbed onto the skin very quickly. It felt soft and velvety to the touch. It smelled pleasant but I personally think that it smelled slightly different compared to some other Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening range of products.

I had been using this product religiously for about a month and I am quite impressed with the performance so far. My skin complexion had brightened up a lot and it looked radiant and smoother nowadays. But there are those days when my skin do not go cooperative with me and turns a little blotchy. If you are wondering if this essence can lighten up scar marks/dark spots, it could only help a little as this product focuses more on the complexion rather than scar marks/dark spots. If you are looking for a product to lighten up scar marks, I would suggest trying Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Anti-Melanin Spot Corrector.

The major downside of this product is of course the pricing. It’s half price more expensive compared to Artistry Ideal Radiance Illuminating Essence and Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence which I previously used. Another downside is that you need to buy Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Night Capsules to complete the set. Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Day Essence can only be used during the day while Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Night Capsules is to be used at night.

So, here’s what I think of Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Day Essence in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Came with “squeeze” pump dispenser for hygiene reason.
2. Essence gets absorbed onto the skin quickly.
3. Leave a soft and velvety feeling to the touch.
4. Brightened and radiant skin complexion.
5. Smelled pleasant.

Cons:
1. Pricey!
2. Can only be used during the day. Another product for nighttime use.
3. Bottle is easily breakable when slipped.

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Price: B$130

Repurchase? Yes, but only during sales period.

2 thoughts on “Review: Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Day Essence

Leave a comment