Review: Kanebo Impress IC Refining Face Wash

I think this is my first time reviewing on a Kanebo facial cleanser. The previous Kanebo product which I had reviewed was Kanebo Blanchir Superior Oil Cleansing. After having used up my previous bottle of Neutrogena Deep Clean Brightening Mulberry Ultra Foam Cleanser, I started using this Kanebo Impress IC Refining Face Wash. I do have a few other new facial cleansers which I bought home from my previous Shanghai trip. But I was intrigued to try this Kanebo facial cleanser first among the others.

I never had much confidence in Kanebo products after the press releases on their Blanchir Superior range couple of years ago. Sister used to be an avid user of Kanebo Blanchir Superior range but I am not sure if she still uses them now. I think she is more of a Shiseido user at the moment while my skincare products are mostly on various brands like Kose, Elizabeth Arden, Origins, Kiehl’s and Clinique. I can have many brands on my face at once. LOL!

Anyways, let’s not get carried away and get started with my skincare product review on Kanebo Impress IC Refining Face Wash.

DSC06921

If I recall correctly, I had been using this facial wash for almost three weeks now. To be frank, I would usually avoid facial cleansers that comes in paste form. If you had been following my blog, you would have realized that I usually go for facial cleansers in gel or foam texture. Speaking from bad experiences before, my skin tends to go dry especially when I am using paste texture kind of facial cleansers.

Back when I was younger and without any source of income, I used those facial cleansers sold in local supermarkets and they made my skin go dry after wash. As I grow “older” with a steady income every month, I started investing on better facial cleansers. I had used facial cleansers from Biotherm, Clinique, Shiseido, Kose and Elizabeth Arden. That’s when I realized that the price does makes a difference on how my skin would feel after wash.

Albeit this facial cleanser comes in paste form, it is way creamier in texture than those cheap facial cleansers which I bought from supermarkets when I was younger. I quite like the fragrance of this facial cleanser. It is floral scented but not heavily scented. With just a small amount of the facial cleanser, it can works up quite a lather and cleanses my face well enough. The product aims to remove impurities and old keratin, which I think it worked to what it claimed for.

Reason being, I can see my skin looking and feeling squeaky clean after rinsing the cleanser off with lukewarm water. My skin complexion was slightly brighter than usual after wash and feeling moisturized too at the same time. And best of all, this facial cleanser doesn’t strip skin moisture and no skin breakout the following day after using this facial cleanser.

So, here is what I think of Kanebo Impress IC Refining Face Wash in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Floral scented.
2. Cleanses the skin well enough.
3. Can work up a good lather.
4. Doesn’t strip skin moisture.
5. No skin breakout.

Cons:
1. No Kanebo counter in Brunei.
2. Slightly expensive.

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Price: RM100 (East Malaysia)

Repurchase? Maybe, not sure if I wanted to spend RM100 on a facial cleanser.

2 thoughts on “Review: Kanebo Impress IC Refining Face Wash

  1. If you don’t like those paste type of facial cleansers then u might want to be cautious when using the Aqualabel White Clear Foam. it’s really strong…on par with those oil control facial washes for men.

    • Thanks! I will take note of that.

      I saw Kanebo Freshel Pack & Massage Foam in Miri the other day. It was also selling the same price as in West Malaysia. Wanted to buy one but decided not to since I still have so many cleansers from my Shanghai hauls.

Leave a comment