Birthday Getaway To Miri & Skincare Haul

Early of this year, I was planning on a birthday holiday trip to go Seoul, Korea with my Sister. But then there was a change of plan. The whole family decided to go Nanjing, China to visit my Sister on last April. So, there goes my plan to go Seoul, Korea. On the very one month before I am due to celebrate my 25th birthday, I was planning on a solo holiday to KK, Sabah. Call me weirdo or crazy, I don’t care. Hahaha …. Not sure what had possessed me badly at that point of time, I was desperately in need of a holiday getaway.

But then going solo to KK wasn’t a very great idea especially I am a girl. Even Jia said that my idea was absurd. You were right, my dear. Then I came up with the idea of a weekend trip to Miri with Jia and friend. Both were kinda keen with my idea until one week before my actual birthday when Jia dropped me a bombshell telling me that she wouldn’t be able to make it for my birthday weekend trip to Miri coz it was her niece Sarah’s birthday. Her mom specifically told her to cancel all plans with her friends (if she had any). She hadn’t been in town in the last two years for her niece and nephews birthdays. And all relatives were asking where she was on those occasions. So, she had no choice but to oblige to her mom’s duty calls.

My mom only allowed me to go on the road trip provided that Jia follows me and follows my friend from KB to Miri. When I told her that Jia is not tagging along, my mom was reluctant to let me drive on my own to KB. Took me some time to convince her to let me drive on my own. Told her that I am gonna drive real slow. I asked friend if he wants to cancel the whole thing off since Jia is not tagging along. He said it’s all up to me since I am the birthday girl. Yeah, you are so damn right! Hahaha …

So, I drove on my own to KB on last Saturday morning. Set out from home at 7:15a.m. in the morning and reached KB safely at some time past 9:00a.m. Received an earful from friend for taking more than 2 hours to reach his place from Bandar. Coz it usually took him less than 1.5 hours to reach his place from Bandar. I am a safe driver, okay???!!! We set out immediately from his place after I had parked my car safely in his garage. Reached Miri before 10:00a.m. and there starts my heavenly shopping spree till he almost got the shock of his life. Hahaha …

Without much further ado, let me show you what I have bought in Miri. I hope you won’t get shocked seeing how much I’ve bought and spent. Andrea asked how much I have bought. I told her that I bought too many until I don’t even dare to count them. Hahaha …

1. Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash & Kose Seikisho Exfoliating Massage Gel

I am not sure if you have ever heard of the powder version of facial cleanser from Kose. Most people heard of Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash. My first intention was to get the latter. But the Beauty Advisor told me that she would suggests me to go ahead with Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash instead Sekkisei White Liquid Wash. She explained to me that the liquid version is more suitable for normal to dry skin. However, the powder version would work better for oily skin like mine. The bottle is quite big in size. The cap is pretty tight so there is no worry of powder spilling out when travelling and it saves a lot of luggage allowance. Hahaha … Both Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash and Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash were priced the same at RM124 each.

Kose is currently doing a promotion whereby you can get both Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash and Kose Seikisho Exfoliating Massage Gel at RM149 only! Isn’t that a good bargain? I have no intention of getting Kose Seikisho Exfoliating Massage Gel in the first place. But seeing that I am running low on my Shiseido Pureness Pore Purifying Warming Scrub, I decided to go for the package. The original retail price of Kose Seikisho Exfoliating Massage Gel is RM88.

If you are interested in Kose products in Malaysia, you can click here to look for their descriptions and products pricing details are provided as well.

2. Kanebo Freshel White C Cleansing Oil

Got to know about this product after reading a blog entry from MyWomenStuff. It’s inexpensive but whether it will work on my skin or not is another different story. Shall do a product review when I have tried the product. I have just finished both my Kanebo Blanchir Superior Oil Cleansing and Shu Uemura Fresh Pore Clarifying Gentle Cleansing Oil on the day before I go down Miri. Got this from Kanebo Freshel counter at Boulevard Hypermarket for RM41.40 each. Original retail price was RM46.00. But I think the BA got mistaken and gave me member price when I do not have a member card.

3. Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Cleansing Oil

This is also one wildly raved cleansing oil on the Internet. I got this at Guardian outlet at Boulevard Shopping Complex for RM44.90. Original retail price was RM49.90 but there was 10% discount.

4. Nature Republic Given By Nature Sheet Masks

Nature Republic is also another Korean skincare brand which is currently unavailable in Brunei yet. Got their Aloe, Green Tea and Tea Tree Sheet Masks at RM5.90 each.

After having our brunch around Boulevard area, we headed towards Imperial Shopping Mall to see if we are able to check in at Imperial Hotel. Receptionist told us that our 2 bedrooms apartment is vacant but the housekeeper is currently cleaning the place, so we can only go to our rooms an hour later. After we were done with our check in procedures and gotten the card keys to our 2 bedrooms apartment, we drove out to Bintang Megamall whereby I continued my skincare haul. Hahaha …

Had a cup of Ice Blended White Chocolate Dream Latte at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf. They are currently doing a promotion whereby you get Buy One Get One Free if you ordered any of their Ice Blended drink. Relaxed for a while at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf while playing away with my iPad. Left friend at The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf on his own while I go shopping. Proceeded to Shiseido counter whereby I got my Shiseido Pureness Anti Shine Refreshing Lotion. Friend asked me why would I go all the way to Parkson at Bintang Megamall when I could have also bought Shiseido products at Boulevard Hypermarket. Reason being, I have never bought from Shiseido counter at Boulevard Hypermarket. Another reason is that the BA at Parkson would usually go easy on me when it comes to asking for samples. Hahaha …

5. Shiseido Pureness Anti Shine Refreshing Lotion

My total purchase from Shiseido was RM345, including birthday gifts for Patrick from Shiseido products. Got him Shiseido Men Deep Cleansing Scrub and Shiseido Men Hydrating Lotion. A bottle of Shiseido Pureness Anti Shine Refreshing Lotion is priced at RM100 now. Shiseido would usually increase their products’ pricing by RM5 on every April. The last time I bought it, it was only RM95. Hahaha …

The BA told me that if my purchase is more than RM350, I am entitled to have a sample set of White Lucent range products. Well, I usually got this whenever I buy at Shiseido counter. But instead of giving me Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Balancing Softener, the BA gave me Shiseido Eudermine Revitalizing Essence. The BA told me that their Eudermine range is Shiseido’s first creation. It’s main function is to give radiance to the skin and it is only to be used at night. And she also gave me a small tube of their Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protection Cream SPF30 with Shiseido The Skincare Eye Moisture Recharge.

6. Biotherm Purefect Skin Hydrating Gel

Headed over to Biotherm counter after I am done with my Shiseido purchases. Intended to check out their Biotherm Biopur Pore Reducer Moisturizer but the BA told me that they no longer have that series anymore. But it was replaced with Biotherm Purefect Skin series, which is the enhanced version of their Biopur series. Seeing that my usual Estee Lauder Pore Minimizing Skin Refinisher is not working that effectively anymore, I decided to look for another new product.

The BA also introduced me to Biotherm Source Therapie Serum but it was kinda pricey. RM260 per bottle. So, I went for Biotherm Purefect Skin instead for RM135. The BA told me that I could get a set which comes with both Biotherm Purefect Skin Cleansing Gel and Biotherm Purefect Skin Toner for RM187. I am such as a sucker when it comes to set deals. The BA then gave me free samples of Biotherm Source Therapie Serum and Biotherm Purefect Skin Targeting Serum. Hahaha …

Realizing that I have spent another RM600 in within an hour, I quickly gave friend a call and asked his whereabouts. I needed to leave Parkson as soon as possible or else I am gonna go home with more skincare purchases. Hahaha … So, we checked in at our 2 bedrooms apartment whereby friend continued with his revision for his upcoming CPA exam and I on the other hand read To The Moon And Back by Jill Mansell from my iPad. Rested for a while until 4:30p.m. until I bugged my friend to go out coz I am getting hungry. Went to have sandwich at Kaya Toast which is across Imperial Hotel.

We had my birthday dinner at JD’s Fine Foods, which was previously known as Mr. Ho’s Fine Foods. Not sure if there was a change of ownership or just change of branding. Food was okay. We were actually too full from our sandwiches at Kaya Toast to fully enjoy our dinner. We ordered a Roast Pork Pizza to share and couldn’t even finish the whole thing. He later dropped me off at Bintang Megamall so that I could meet up with Ing and he went back to Imperial Hotel to get ready for his night out with some friends at Club Celebrities. When I was getting out of the car, he specifically reminded me not to buy anymore skincare products. *sweat*

7. Biotherm White D-Tox Detoxifying + Cleansing Oil

Bad habit never dies. Hahaha …. Got a bottle of Biotherm White D-Tox Detoxifying Cleansing Oil with the Gift Card worth of RM100 that Alan bought for me for my birthday this year. The original retail price of this product is RM130. So, I topped up another RM30 with the Gift Vouchers that I got in the afternoon with my previous purchase of Shiseido and Biotherm products. The BA gave me another two sample sachets of Biotherm Skin.Ergetic Eye.

Gonna end today’s blog entry with a picture of Artistry Pure White Power Radiance Mask that Ing gave me when I met her for supper at Starbucks Coffee.

According to Ing, this isn’t anything like the usual cotton facial sheet masks that we use most of the time. It’s a HYDRATING GEL sheet mask. Usual cotton facial sheet mask could only last for about 20 – 30 minutes, but this could last for about 40 minutes! Not sure if it’s as good as Ing claimed it to be, but I am sure gonna try it to find out. Hahaha …

Till then. Ciao~~~

3 thoughts on “Birthday Getaway To Miri & Skincare Haul

  1. Lol wow what a haul! Birthday haul eh? Happy Belated Birthday! πŸ˜€ Omg did you saw other Hada Labo products like the sunscreen? They weren’t available here in Brunei & good to see Miri does have them! Although i don’t go there lol.

    1. @Matsu Thank you for the belated birthday wishes.

      I am not sure if either Guardian or Watson have Hada Labo sunscreen. But they should have it coz I saw lots of Hada Labo products on display as compared to the Guardian in Brunei.

Leave a Reply

