Review: Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash

Finally, I am all ready to blog and review about this product. Had been meaning to do it before my Australia trip in early of last month but I kept on procrastinating and ended up reviewing on other products instead. I bought this product few months ago when I went Miri with friend for my birthday weekend getaway and at the same time, I had a major skincare haul which my friend almost had my friend’s eyes popped out.

I actually intended to get Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash but the BA suggested me that I go Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash instead because it’s more suitable for oily skin like mine. So, I took her suggestion and bought the latter. And at the same time, she also offered me that if I were to get Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash, I can get Kose Seikisho Exfoliating Massage Gel at the price of RM25 only! As usual, I am a sucker with skincare deals.

DSCF9399

DSCF9404

As usual, Kose Sekkisei and Seikisho range come in their signatory packaging which is blue in colour. Majority of their bottles were made out of plastic, even their lotions as well. The bottle comes with a normal cap, just like the cap of your ordinary household dish wash liquid. Like what’s stated on the product name, it comes in powder form. Do not underestimate the powder as it can whip up a thick and creamy lather just like those liquid or creamy cleansers.

According to Kose website, Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash is formulated with “four kinds of moisturizing Chinese and Japanese extracts (Chinese Pearl Barley, Angelica, Peony Root and Perilla Leaf).” It also “contains highly moisturizing skin friendly phospho-lipid polymers which remain on skin after rinsing. Forms moisturizing veil over skin to protect from external stimuli, while keeping skin calm and super dewy. It also gets rid of dullness by removing impurity and old skin cells containing melanin pigments.”

DSCF9392

I don’t usually use a mask bowl to whip up a lather but to prove my point, I made an exception yesterday. As a matter of fact, if you rub the powder with both your hands accompanied by a little bit of water, the texture is much more thicker than in the picture above. I think I have used up quite a little bit more water than I normally did. Hence, the lather is much more bubbly instead of thick. I only used about two pinches of the powder for it to whip up a lather of this size.

The scent of the powder is exactly the same like any other products from their Sekkisei and Seikisho range. I couldn’t exactly describe the scent but it’s fresh. After rinsing, I could see that my skin complexion had brightened up after a continuous usage for about a month. And it did leave my skin with a dewy effect and not stripping my skin moisture at the same time. At first I was kinda skeptical about the product but after reading so much positive reviews about the product, I decided to give it a try. And it was really as good as what those reviews claimed to be. But unfortunately, I wouldn’t say this would suit all skin type.

Jia had been using Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash previously before I bought Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash. Her skin broke out quite terribly throughout the period when she was using Kose products until she gave up and not finishing the rest of the products and continued with her usual non-branded skincare products. And guess what, her skin condition returned to normal. I know that they were both different products that Jia and I used. But they were both from the same brand and the same range. Sometimes, purchasing skincare products is actually a bet when you don’t even know if it’s gonna work on your skin.

But I am glad to say that Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash works on mine very well. As a matter of fact, quite a lot of Kose products work on my skin quite well. Hahaha … xD

Pros:
1. Works up a rich and creamy lather.
2. Brightened skin complexion.
3. Dewy effect.
4. Doesn’t strip skin moisture.
5. Very economical and affordable.

Cons:
None that I could think of.

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Price: RM124

Repurchase? Yeah, but I think I’ll try Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash first.

2 thoughts on “Review: Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash

  1. OMG i’ve been always fantasizing about this since i ever saw it on the magazine long time ago! Specially talking about the complete set as well! I just love the infusion ingredients of Japanese & Chinese herbs. Are you only use the cleanser? Heard this brand line is very good. I wanna try this first if i ever could afford SK II already hehe lol..

    1. Oh God! WordPress filtered your previous two comments as spam. Only realized that when I was about to clear my spam comments and saw them.

      Yeah, so far I am only using the cleanser from Kose Sekkisei range but another two products from their Seikisho range. I had previously used Kose Seikisho Perfect Cleansing Oil as well. It was good enough for me. I have yet tried their other products from Sekkisei range though. Am thinking about it but I still have lots of Shiseido products in hand. So, maybe in another one or two years.

      Honestly speaking, Kose products aren’t that expensive compared to other brands. I think half price cheaper compared to SK-II. Their Seikisho Perfect Cleansing Oil is RM88 per bottle, but a lot cheaper if you could get from Singapore Changi International Airport. Cleansers are RM124 each. Facial scrub and peel off mask are also RM88 each, if I am not wrong.

      I have a friend who is using Kose products for the past few years and she said it’s very good. But too bad, Kose counter at Yayasan was already shut down for more than a year.

Leave a Reply

