My Latest Skincare Regime #2

One week before I was due for Singapore last weekend, I had one of the most horrible breakouts that I ever had. My skin complexion was dull and blotchy. No matter how many sheet masks I applied, my skin complexion still doesn’t show much improvement. I was so frustrated about it to the extent that I went on complaining about it to my Sister. She then suggested to me that I should change my skincare routine or the brands that I am using. If you had been following my blog long enough, you would probably have realized that my staple brand for majority of my skincare products is Shiseido.

But I had started to switch in between brands over the past few months. I am more of a Kose user right now compared to Shiseido. I have switched to about 70% of my skincare routine to Kose. The reason why I am doing this post again after a few months is that I find this latest skincare regime which I just opted to be pretty effective on my current skin condition. Well, whenever you change to a new skincare routine, they usually work coz your skin is accepting and absorbing new products. But if it doesn’t work, your skin condition might turn even worse.

Let’s start, shall we?

DSCF0282

Bioderma Sebium H2O Solution Micellaire: If you had been following the trend of makeup removers, you would definitely have heard of this amazing brand. I have only heard about Bioderma when I was blog-hopping on some beauty blog. And then I started to check for more and more reviews about the said product. Majority of the blog reviews came out to be positive. So, I got interested and bought a few bottles for myself when I was in Singapore last weekend. I had only started this product two days ago, but I reviewed about Bioderma Sensibio H2O Solution Micellaire yesterday. Trust me, both products are amazing and worked wonders!

I don’t wear makeup but only skincare products throughout the whole day. Even so, our skin is very likely to pick up some dirt when exposed to the air. So, therefore double cleansing is a must apart from your usual facial cleanser. You could either use cleansing water or maybe cleansing oil. Both will do, as long as they work well with your skin. Original retail price of Bioderma Sebium H2O Solution Micellaire 250ml is S$27.90.

DSCF0319

Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash: I had been using this facial cleanser for quite a few months and I love it. It doesn’t leave my skin feeling tight and dry after washing. The BA at Kose specifically recommended me this over Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash because the powder version is more suitable for oily skin like mine while the liquid version is more for dry and normal skin. But well, the BA did mentioned that I could still use the liquid version but lesser dosage. I got this from Kose, Miri at RM124. A few bucks cheaper compared to Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Cleansing Foam.

DSCF0303

Kose Seikisho Clear Lotion: This is one new skincare product which I just added into my skincare routine couple days ago. I found out about this product when I was purchasing Kose Sekkisei Lotion couple of months ago. I was being told to use this product after cleansing your face and before applying the lotion (toner). It helps to smooth out skin complexion and at the same time, removes the remaining residues of dirt which was not being cleaned away during facial wash.

And I fell in love with it the first moment I tried it on. Kinda regretted not getting extra few bottles when I was at Changi International Airport. Original retail price is S$33 at Sephora but you could get it for S$28 at Changi International Airport. Kose Miri is selling it for RM93.

DSCF0307

Kose Sekkisei Lotion: Another new product which I am totally in love with at the moment and I am already halfway through with their 360ml which I bought in last March. I have heard so many good reviews about the said product, even my Sister likes it too. The lotion could be used with those compressed cotton facial sheet mask. It reeks a bit of alcohol but so far, I think my skin could still tolerate it quite well though it does sting a bit when it gets in contact with open scars. But majority lotions do that anyways unless it’s completely alcohol free. Original retail price is RM255 for 360ml.

DSCF0314

Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum+: This is one product which I don’t think I could live without. Anyone who had seen me in real life would definitely know that I have a lot of leftover darkened scars from previous breakouts. This is only my second bottle of the product. I was hesitant at first when my first bottle ran out due to the steep price. So, I scouted for something equivalent but cheaper in price and I found Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector. So, I bought one home at the price of B$120 from Hua Ho, Yayasan.

And oh God, I did not even get to see the results when I stopped using it. It broke out on my skin quite horribly and I decided to stop using it for good. It does leave my skin with matte feeling after application but it’s the oil content that broke out on my skin. I tried using the product again a month ago, and the same thing happened again. I even offered to give the whole bottle away to my Sister but she had forgotten to bring it back with her when she came back during last Chinese New Year.

Original retail price of Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum+ in Brunei is B$175 but I got mine for B$140 each instead when they are having some Baiduri Bank promotion. Shiseido, Malaysia is selling it for about RM430 and S$159 in Singapore.

DSCF0300

Kose Sekkisei Emulsion: I got this in a trial size kit from Changi International Airport at the price of S$88 and it came with a full size bottle of Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash and Kose Sekkisei Lotion 100ml. I was wondering if I should get a full size bottle of Kose Sekkisei Emulsion and the BA came to my rescue telling me that I could get a trial size kit just in case if I am not sure of the effectiveness of the product. I find it to be completely reasonable since I had been using some of their Kose products too especially the facial cleanser and lotion. Original retail price is RM177 at Kose, Miri. It’s retailed at S$82 in Sephora, Singapore but you could get it for S$54.50 from Changi International Airport.

DSCF0272

Kiehl’s Line-Reducing Eye-Brightening Concentrate: My previous tube of Biotherm Skin.Ergetic Eyes doesn’t seem to be working anymore compared to when I first started using it. I was given this free sample when I was purchasing Kiehl’s Cucumber Herbal Alcohol-Free Toner from Changi International Airport. I poured the liquid into a small skincare container for easy scooping and storage as well. Some may not like how this product felt on the eye areas after application as it’s a little bit warm. I would normally rub the liquid with my fingertips before applying them around the eye areas. I have only been using this product for a few days and I couldn’t vouch the effectiveness of this product until I had finished the entire sample.

DSCF0293

Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++: I got this product couple of days ago and I quite like it the moment when I tried on my hands before purchasing it. The BA at Shiseido squeezed an extremely generous amount of the liquid onto my arms and asked me to gently massage the liquid into my skin in circular motions. Well, the good thing is that the liquid doesn’t feel sticky or oily at all. As a matter of fact, it doesn’t even leave a “layering” feel on the skin and it smelled quite nice too.

I had been using this product since yesterday morning and it doesn’t break out on me. YAY! Majority sunscreens breakout on me like Laneige Sun Block Oil Free SPF35 PA++ whereby it contains a certain level of oil in it despite it claimed to be oil free. So, if you are looking for a decent sunscreen and doesn’t feel sticky or oily after application, you could always consider this. But on the downside, the price is quite steep for 30ml. I bought it for B$55 from Shiseido, Hua Ho Yayasan.

Day Routine:
1. Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash
2. Kose Seikisho Clear Lotion
3. Kose Sekkisei Lotion
4. Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum+
5. Kose Sekkisei Emulsion
6. Kiehl’s Line-Reducing Eye-Brightening Concentrate
7. Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++

Evening Routine:
1. Bioderma Sebium H2O Solution Micellaire
2. Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash
3. Kose Seikisho Clear Lotion
4. Kose Sekkisei Lotion
5. Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum+
6. Kose Sekkisei Emulsion
7. Kiehl’s Line-Reducing Eye-Brightening Concentrate

As you can see, I have pretty much changed majority of my skincare routine. I am currently sticking with the same skincare routine for both day and night apart from cleansing water and sunscreen. So, that pretty much sums up my current favorite skincare regime which suits my current skin condition just fine. What’s yours? Please share!

Click here and here for my previous posts on skincare routine. Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “My Latest Skincare Regime #2

  1. Hi…thanks for your sharing…I also have been using some products from Shiseido also..but i’m finding some products from others brands now cause I don’t see any improvement. Could you give me advice for eye serum treatment as well as whitening serum . I’m in really bad dark circle condition even i’m 21, i’ve already had wrinkles under my eyes @@ thanks so much..hope u have a nice day 😀

    1. May I know which products from Shiseido have you been using?

      I am not sure if I’ll be able to give you the right recommendation for reducing the appearance of dark circles as I do not have such problem for the time being. I had read positive reviews about Shiseido White Lucent Anti-Dark Circle Eye Cream though. Have you tried that?

      Wrinkles could be formed due to constant rubbing around your eye areas. I had wrinkles too lately and it’s bugging me a lot. Lots of eye creams in the market don’t do well in terms of reducing the appearance of wrinkles. I heard those eye creams from Lancome and Estee Lauder are good but I think the ingredients may be too potent for your age.

      I am currently using Artistry Youth Xtend Enriching Eye Cream. It’s a skincare brand from Amway. I had been using it for nearly two months and I could see that my wrinkles were visibly lesser compared to before.

      In terms of brightening serum, the best which I had used so far was Shiseido White Lucent Spot Targeting Serum+. If budget is not your main concern, go ahead with it. But if it is, you could always consider Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence. It works well on my skin.

      1. Oh hi, thanks for answering me! 😀 you’re so sweet, honestly. I’m currently using anti-dark circles eye cream as well as cleanser foam, day and night emulsion, brightening balancing softener (yes exactly 3 steps kit from shiseido) and urban environment oil-free UV protector. OMG, we use too many the same products 😀 But right now, I’m so confused cause shiseido seemly sells makeup remover and cleaser as only single product. So whether i supplement a makeup remover or not in my skincare routine?! I have combination dry skin…..hope you have a nice day 😀

      2. So, you are using Shiseido White Lucent Anti-Dark Circle Eye Cream at the moment? Does it actually work? I mean in terms of lightening up the dark circles?

        I had stopped using Shiseido White Lucent for nearly a year. After two rounds of Shiseido White Lucent, I realized that they were not as good as I first started using them so I switched to Kose Sekkisei range.

        Kose Sekkisei is the whitening range of Kose and I think it’s better than Shiseido White Lucent. It depends on individual skin condition though.

        I don’t usually use makeup remover as they normally focus on eye and lip more than the face. I use cleansing oils most of the time. Any brand will do as they don’t break out on your skin.

        You don’t necessarily have to go for brands for cleansing oils. Expensive doesn’t necessarily mean that they are good either. Those cleansing oils sold at drugstores are usually the same like those from branded ones. The reason why they are expensive was because they have their own sole counters to display the products.

        I don’t use makeup so I did not know which cleansing oil is good for removing makeup especially waterproof mascara. You gotta Google for reviews if you really need a good makeup remover. But sometimes cleansing oils/makeup removers are hit or miss skincare products.

        You wouldn’t know if they are good until you have tried them on your skin. What worked for others also doesn’t necessarily mean that it will work on your skin either as we all have different skin conditions.

        Regardless whether you are using makeup or not, I strongly advise double cleansing by the end of the day. Cleansing oil/makeup remover with your usual facial cleanser.

        Speaking of facial cleanser, have you tried Shiseido Ibuki Gentle Cleanser? I think it’s a lot nicer than the facial cleanser from Shiseido White Lucent.

Leave a Reply

