Review: Sarang Korean Restaurant, Brunei

I was able to try out Sarang Korean Restaurant last Saturday evening after work with friend. I planned to try out the place with Kaylie and Chuan when it was reopened again last month but then we ended up having dinner at Excapade Sushi, Regent Square. So when friend agreed to go out for dinner, he asked me to choose a place. He was pretty interested with Sarang Korean Restaurant because it was formerly known as Yam Yam Korean Fried Chicken. It was pretty famous around Bandar when it was first opened up at Beribi, then closed up and relocated to the current location – Batu Bersurat.

The new restaurant was opened up around the end of last year or early of this year but then it was closed down for about six months before it was reopened again last month. Not sure what’s the main reason behind the temporary closure but I heard it had something to do with the business license. Anyways, it’s not our concern anyways.

So, let me show you what we had for dinner the other night.

DSCF0322

Condiments that came with our main course.

I only tried like two or three of their condiments and the rest were left untouched. Friend wasn’t a fan of their condiments either. The preserved kimchi tasted alright in my opinion, flavoring was done adequately but it wasn’t as crunchy as those from Kimchi Restaurant. See that dish at the bottom right in the picture? At first, I thought it was some sort of radish or pickles drenched in soy sauce. And it turned out to be chicken frankfurters marinated in soy sauce. LOL! Quite an invention, I would say. Hahaha …

DSCF0324

Korean Fried Chickens!

I couldn’t remember the price of this platter. I think it was in between B$11.00 – B$15.00 or more. Hahaha … This Korean Fried Chicken platter consisted of 3 different types of flavors. It came with 7 pieces altogether. 3 pieces of Fried Chicken (Original), 2 pieces respectively for Yang-Neom Chicken and Gan-Jang Chicken. And it came with a dipping sauce as well – honey! LOL! I actually had an extremely high expectation on their Korean Fried Chicken but I was slightly disappointed with them by the end of the meal.

Yang-Neom Chicken is Korean sweet and spicy fried chicken, if I am not wrong. It wasn’t as spicy as I expected. The fried chicken was coated with their special sweet and spicy sauce after deep fried hence making the batter to be slightly soggy if you don’t eat it instantly when served. The Gan-Jang Chicken is like honey fried chicken. I did not try any of that, so I couldn’t be sure how it tasted like. I think I liked the original version better. It was crispy. Even friend agreed that original and Gan-Jang Chicken were better than Yang-Neom Chicken.

DSCF7122

Teriyaki Grilled Eel | B$25.00

I was extremely tempted to try this when I saw a food blog review on Sarang Korean Restaurant from Food Hungry. I wanted to try Gochujang Grilled Eel actually. But friend couldn’t really tolerate hot and spicy food much and he doesn’t really like grilled eel in comparison to sashimi. So, I went for the safer option and got the teriyaki version instead. The grilled eel was cooked to perfection. It was extremely soft and melted inside your throat. Even friend complimented that it was nicely done. Hahaha … But the dish could be pretty sweet and salty to be eaten plainly. Make sure that you order yourself a bowl of rice if you were to order their Teriyaki Grilled Eel.

Overall Rating: 9 out of 10

Verdict: Customer service was good in my opinion as the waitress patiently answered to all my questions. I actually bombarded her with quite a lot of questions. Hahaha … But unfortunately, I find their food pricing to be steep. The price range were about the same like the ones I had at Kho Kho Nara, Singapore. The total bill for two came out to be B$44. We both ordered drinks each and two bowls of rice. A bowl of rice is B$1.00, and it’s not plain white rice but those healthy rice. I ordered Warm Honey Lemon and I find it to be too sweet for a sourish drink. Hahaha … Too much honey in the drink itself.

Make sure that you make a reservation ahead before going to the restaurant as the place could be quite crowded with patrons. And finally, be prepared to come out from the restaurant smelling like fried chickens! Hahaha … That was how I smelt like by the end of the meal. Couldn’t smell it when you are in open air area but you can instantly smell the oil and grease when you are in the car. Friend complained that his newly bought Prada belt doesn’t smell like leather anymore but fried chickens! LOL!

Sarang Korean Restaurant
Unit 6, Block J,
Batu Bersurat,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-8607830

Leave a Reply

