Review: Sushi Tei, Brunei

Had dinner with Kaylie this evening. I arrived earlier and waited for her at The Xinful Cafe. Had some snacks first because I was a little bit hungry at that point of time. I was at this job fair at UBD since yesterday and thank God the job fair shall end tomorrow. Couldn’t stand waking up early in the morning and having to drive about 30 minutes of journey to UBD. I could even remember the last time when I drove friend back to his hostel at UBD and ended up getting lost. LOL! The aftermath of my lack of sense of direction, that’s what they called it.

Anyways, I was craving for sashimi this evening hence I suggested to Kaylie that we go Sushi Tei. We actually planned to wait till the next month when another friend of ours returns to Brunei from Kuala Lumpur (KL) but I couldn’t wait till next month. We did not order a lot but just a few small side dishes. No main course this time round as I was still a little bit full after having light snacks at The Xinful Cafe.

Anyways, here comes the food pictures.

DSCF0443

Green Tea | B$1.00

A must have whenever I am having sashimi.

DSCF0450

Electric Lemonade | B$5.50

Hmm … That was quite a steep price for a drink! Hahaha … I only realized that it costs B$5.50 per glass when the bill was placed in front of me. Of course, I wasn’t the one to order for this. This was Kaylie’s drink. It was highly recommended by the waiter. It’s actually lemonade mixed with blue syrup. But according to Kaylie, this was extremely sour. But what can you expect when the drink was originally a lemonade but added with coloring?

DSCF0454

Tekka Maki | B$3.50, Salmon Maki | B$2.70, Tamago Maki | B$2.20

I liked the freshness of their seaweed sheets, so did Kaylie. The rice wasn’t soggy and sticky at all. As a matter of fact, they felt extremely “solid”. They don’t crumble when you picked them up with your chopsticks. It was my first time trying Tekka Maki, it was okay actually. But I think I preferred salmon more. Hahaha … But the Salmon Maki were not as good as the ones from Kaizen Sushi Waterfront. I don’t think they used the same part of a salmon fish. Tamago Maki was ordered by Kaylie as she was interested to try how  Tamago tastes like. Hahaha … She said it tasted a bit weird but I think the Electric Lemonade contaminated her taste bud. LOL!

DSCF0441

Salmon Nigiri | B$3.50

I ordered this for myself since Kaylie doesn’t eat sashimi. It was okay but I don’t think it was the freshest. Doesn’t really melt in the mouth but I liked their rice. Very solid feel, like what I mentioned above.

DSCF0459

Potato Croquette | B$3.80

One of Kaylie’s staple food at any Japanese restaurant. It’s mashed potatoes with frozen vegetables, deep fried in bread crumb batter. I personally am not a huge fan of potatoes but she is. I even kidded that I will buy her a gunny of potatoes as her next birthday gift. Hahaha … I personally think that B$3.80 for a Potato Croquette is way too steep but I liked their food presentation. She did not complain about her Potato Croquette so assuming that it doesn’t taste half bad.

Overall Rating: 8 out of 10

Verdict: Customer service is good in my opinion. The waiter serving us was quite enthusiastic in introducing their highlight dishes. But unfortunately, we rejected majority of the introductions as Kaylie couldn’t eat seafood and sashimi while I don’t eat beef at all. Price range is about the same like Kaizen Sushi but I think Kaizen Sushi serves better quality food. That’s my own personal opinion. What about you? Have you been there before?

Sushi Tei
42 & 43, Ground Floor,
Gadong Central,
Kampung Menglait,
Jalan Gadong,
BE3919, Bandar Seri Begawan,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2449977

Leave a Reply

