Review: Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30 PA+++

As promised, here comes my product review for Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30 PA+++.

DSCF0867

This product comes in a gift set when I purchased Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++. The usual price of a Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++ is actually RM135 but you can get the mentioned product with a sample size of Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30 PA+++ and Shiseido White Lucent Power Brightening Mask at the price of RM150 only! Well, I wanted the mask badly. So, that was the reason why I am willing to spend extra RM15 instead of paying RM135 for the sunscreen. The mask is good but pricey. It is currently retailing at about RM210 for 6 pieces.

According to the BA at Shiseido counter, this particular sunscreen is specially formulated to be extra mild. Hence, making it extremely suitable for children who stay outdoor most of the time. And since it’s specially formulated to be usable for kids, it is of course suitable for sensitive skin as well.

So, here’s my 2 cents on the product itself.

DSCF0894

If you liked the texture of Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++ or Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++, you might not like this. The texture of this product is much more thicker and creamy instead of fluid compared to the above two products. It’s much more greasy in my opinion. I have quite an oily skin, hence I am not that keen with the texture of this product.

It doesn’t blend into my skin as well as Multi-Defense did. It takes a longer time for it to be fully absorbed into my skin and it doesn’t leave a smooth finishing like Multi-Defense did. It does not leave a white casting though. But with the thick texture that it has, washing off can a tad bit tricky after application. If you are thinking of washing it off with tap water only, it might leave a sticky feeling afterwards. So, I would usually wash my hands with liquid hand soap after application.

So, if you happened to be using this product, be sure to remember to properly cleanse your face by the end of the day before you go to bed with your usual makeup remover to avoid clogged pores. I don’t wear makeup but Bioderma Sebium H20 Solution Micellaire seems to be doing the job just fine in removing the mentioned sunscreen.

Pros:
1. Extra mild, suitable for children and sensitive skin.
2. Fragrance free.
3. Doesn’t breakout on my skin.

Cons:
1. Texture is creamy and thick.
2. Doesn’t blend in as well as Multi-Defense did.
3. Doesn’t smooth out skin after application.

Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Price: To be updated

Repurchase? No!

4 thoughts on “Review: Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30 PA+++

  1. I bought this sunscreen 2 weeks ago n even though i have oily skin I quite like it. I agree it’s thick but once i adjusted the amount i applied it seemed just right for me. Being fragrance free made me like this sunscreen even more. I was kinda sick of heavily fragrances sunscreens like Perfect UV n Multi Defense,

    1. The other day when I was trying out Perfect UV at Shiseido counter, I find the texture to be a wee bit thicker than Multi-Defense coz I can feel a layer of the sunscreen on my skin. But the BA said both textures were the same. What do you think? The fragrance of Perfect UV is slightly less stronger compared to Multi-Defense though.

      When I was purchasing sunscreen from Kose the other day, the BA recommended me their gel version of sunscreen. It’s formulated for oily skin. It doesn’t leave any sticky or greasy feeling. But you could still feel like a plastic layer atop your skin. But if you want effect coverage and protection, of course the creamy version would be better compared to the gel version.

      1. I find Perfect UV’s texture to be lighter on skin compared to Multi Defense. This is after I put the two on a 2 week long test a few months ago. On me Multi Defense has a more prominent slightly sticky feel on the skin which I think makes it work well as a makeup base. Perfect UV feels smoother n more natural on the skin. But oil control seems to be about the same.

        I think it’s just inevitable that sunscreen will leave a layer on the skin. I would be worried if I couldn’t feel that layer LOL.

        Nowadays I’m moving away from all those oil control sunscreens like Biore Perfect Face. even though i got oily skin, after prolong use those sunscreens dry my skin out not to mention how red and irritated my skin gets due to the oil control properties.

Leave a Reply

