Review: Kiehl’s Cucumber Herbal Alcohol-Free Toner

I am pretty sure a lot of you had heard of Kiehl’s. Kiehl’s famous for being environmental friendly and they had the simplest and straightforward packaging compared to any other counter skincare products in the market.

DSCF0770

I bought a bottle of this product from Singapore Changi International when I am due to fly back to Brunei early of last month. I had read quite a lot of reviews on Kiehl’s products and majority of the reviews that I had read highly raved and recommended their Calendula Herbal-Extract Toner Alcohol Free. I wanted to buy a bottle of the said product but the price tag was too steep and I couldn’t be sure if Kiehl’s product work well with my skin. So, I bought the cheaper toner which is their Cucumber Herbal Alcohol-Free Toner. Sister bought a bottle too before when she was coming home from Singapore last year.

DSCF0773

Anyways, I opened up this product when I had used up my Kose Sekkisei Lotion 360ml a while ago. Majority toners that I have used came with screw cap instead of this one which Kiehl’s is having. Kiehl’s made an extra protective seal on the mouth of the bottle so that there won’t be any unwanted germ or bacteria going into the product before it was sold to customer.

The one unique feature that Kiehl’s has over other brands is that whatever product information that you needed to know are printed in front of the bottle on a piece of sticker. Kiehl’s doesn’t have fancy packaging like any other brands which I have used before. If you observe properly, even their font design were the simplest one that you can find in MS Word. LOL! Anyways, let’s stop talking about the packaging and focus on the product itself.

As mentioned on the product packaging, this particular product is formulated for all skin types but dry and sensitive skin in particular due to the zero content of alcohol in the product. It doesn’t smooth out skin complexion like some other toners did. So, you couldn’t see much difference that it could do onto your skin after application. I had used the said product for a few days and honestly speaking, it doesn’t show me any visible difference.

It smelled quite herbal, not the kind of scent that I like but still tolerable. Throughout the few days when I had been using the said toner, I experienced a burning feeling on my skin during application. I was shocked that it caused such burning feel even though the product contains zero content of alcohol level. So, I asked Sister how could it be possible that the said toner stung my skin when it’s supposed to be suitable for sensitive skin? Her answer towards this matter is that certain ingredients in the said toner itself caused a reaction on my skin and there’s probably open scar on my skin at the time of application.

I know quite a lot of beauty bloggers had praised and complimented this product. But I am sorry to say that this is just not the right product for me.

Pros:
1. Zero content of alcohol.
2. Suitable for dry and sensitive skin.

Cons:
1. Don’t really like the scent, but tolerable.
2. Doesn’t show much results on my skin.
3. Not cheap, unless you bought it from Changi International Airport.
4. Burnt my skin quite badly during application.

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5

Price: S$28.20 (@ Changi International Airport), S$43.00 (Downtown Price)

Repurchase? Nope.

Leave a Reply

