Reunion Dinner @ Ristorante Buon Gusto

Kaylie, Rain and I had a dinner gathering at Ristorante Buon Gusto yesterday evening. Our said reunion gathering dinner was supposed to be like 2 weeks ago but I kept on having other commitments, so we postponed it until yesterday. Rain will be flying back to Kuala Lumpur (KL) next weekend, so it’s compulsory to meet up yesterday or else I doubt I’ll have the time do so. We actually wanted to try out Bistro Chez Fio for dinner. But unfortunately, Bistro Chez Fio is only opened until 5:00p.m. in the afternoon. So, I suggested Ristorante Buon Gusto since I wanted to have dessert at The Xinful Cafe after dinner.

Gadong Central area were quite jam packed with cars due to payday time of the month. But luckily enough, both Kaylie and I managed to find parking spaces close to Ristorante Buon Gusto. I parked my car in front of AP Ayam Penyet while Kaylie parked hers behind me. Both of them were already waiting for me by the entrance of Ristorante Buon Gusto as I arrive.

DSCF7255

Introducing my dinner companions for the night – Rain & Kaylie

DSCF7254

A naughty shot of the both of them. I used the Portrait Enhancer mode on my digital camera for the above two pictures.

Anyways, let’s start on the food pictures. To be honest, all three of us were quite disappointed with their food. I am assuming we ordered the wrong dishes. Majority patrons went for their pizza and pasta. But Kaylie swore that she wouldn’t be returning to the place anymore due to the food quality. But ambiance was quite nice though. I really liked the lighting of the place.

DSCF0920

Complimentary appetizer

I am not sure if this is French Onion or Mushroom Soup. It doesn’t look like Mushroom Soup to me though there were a few slices of button mushrooms. Mushroom Soup should be thick but this was quite liquid and see through compared to the usual Mushroom Soup that I had before. Both Rain and Kaylie mentioned that the mushrooms tasted quite raw. Well, such button mushrooms tasted like that. I preferred this kind of mushroom over Shiitake mushrooms though. The soup tasted quite nice for me though a little bit salty.

DSCF0923

Sizzling Lamb Loin | B$20.00

This was not included in their usual menu. The menu for their sizzling hot plate dishes came separately. You have to request for it and the waiter will bring you the said menu. I had Barbeque Sauce as the gravy for my lamb loins. Majority people would usually go for Black Pepper Sauce when it comes to lamb steak or what, but not me. I had mine medium cooked. But unfortunately, my lamb loins were all overcooked on the outside and undercooked on the inside. The meat were stiff and dry. Some of the meat were still red in color on the inside. The Barbeque Sauce that went with the Lamb Loins was very tasty though.

DSCF0928

Sizzling Salmon Cutlets | B$16.50

Rain’s dinner for the night. She had Honey Mustard as the sauce for her salmon cutlets. She asked the waiter which sauce goes best with Salmon Cutlets and he recommended Honey Mustard. Thank God that he did not suggest Mushroom, Barbeque or Black Pepper. If he did, I would have thought that he is not experienced enough when it comes to food. Rain quite liked the accompanying sauce in the end. Good for her, at least her money was well spent. LOL!

DSCF0930

Sizzling Chicken Steak | B$9.00

Kaylie’s dinner for the night. At first, I thought their idea of chicken steak was some boneless chicken breast fillets. But it turned out to be one whole leg of a chicken. *speechless* The chicken was rather hard and dry. She had Mushroom Sauce to go with her “chicken steak”. But unfortunately, I think she chewed on a black pepper and she goes all looking for water to numb out the spiciness on her throat.

DSCF7257

Kaylie & I. I think I needed to do something with my hair already. *hmm…*

DSCF7259

DSCF7261

Kaylie made multiple copies of the Polaroid prints for the both of us. And the waiter who took the pictures for us is so not cut out to be a photographer. He shouldn’t have taken from that distance hence making our feet been seen on the pictures as well. *sweat*

Overall Rating: 7 out of 10

Verdict: Customer service was okay in my opinion but what I don’t like was that the waiter kept on wanting to take away our appetizers when we have yet finished them. Dinner was only served like 15 – 20 minutes after ordering, which I find it acceptable since we ordered sizzling dishes. The whole place was fogged a while before our dinner were served, so assuming that the ventilation of the place wasn’t fully equipped? Food was only average as my lamb loins were overcooked on the outside and undercooked on the inside. Ambiance was pretty good though and I might return to try their pasta next time.

Rain’s version of yesterday’s dinner (click here to read if you are interested).

Ristorante Buon Gusto
Unit 46, Block C,
Gadong Central,
Kampung Menglait,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2427322

4 thoughts on “Reunion Dinner @ Ristorante Buon Gusto

  1. Wow i just know the existence of this restaurant & when i googled it, it was already opened since last year! I’d rather try their pasta dishes hehe. So how many restaurants are there in Gadong Central now? I feel like everytime i always discover new restaurants there XD

    1. I thought it was a new a restaurant too when I found it on my last visit to Gadong Central. All patrons ordered their pizzas, so assuming that their pizza are good.

      I would rather go Villa Mauri for meat next time and they are much more affordable (only if the 50% off deal is still on the table). LOL! Such a cheapskate, I know. Hahaha …

      Gong Cha is already opened since Tuesday. Have you been there? Queuing and waiting time was quite long though. My friend waited for about 10 to 15 minutes for her drink last time.

  2. Do the Villa Mauri & Grazie Mauri always do the 50% off deal?? Sorry i’m not keeping up with them xD LOL 10-15 mins can enough already to make me flocked away to other beverage shop :p Maybe Fruitime or Ochado heuheuheu. Oh speaking of Fruitime, i went there last wednesday yeay! Wish granted haha. Although i feel like the orange + pineapple drink is really fresh & refreshing, i find it so ordinary *giggles* lolol…i should try their smoothies next time! I think that’s the one more valuable for money imo xD I went dine at Ahan Thai too! Ordered Tom Yam seafood. Surprisingly it’s really good! Dare i would compare it to the one besides Excapade Serusop, since their Tomyam is always my all-time fav according to me hehe..

    I nearly made a blog post here LMAO xD

  3. Yeah … But all three branches alternate on months of the promotion. It will be Prego Mauri in KB for the next 50% deal and then back to Grazie Mauri for August.

    LOL! I used to always go Ahan Thai back when I am still in school but not anymore since Thai Cuisine was never my first food priority. I get heartburn if I had too much food that comes with coconut milk or spiciness.

    I even had a mild diarrhea yesterday midnight after dinner at Ristorante Buon Gusto. Maybe it’s the undercooked lamb which caused me to have diarrhea.

    I still haven’t try Fruitime. Maybe next weekend! But I wanna try Gong Cha first. Hopefully, it wouldn’t let me down. =D

Leave a Reply

