Happy 26th, Jia!

It was Jia‘s 26th birthday yesterday. We were supposed to go for lunch or dinner together on last Sunday but she took a rain check few days before. So, we arranged to meet up for dinner tonight instead since she won’t be available for dinner yesterday evening as Stephen (the boyfriend) was celebrating with her. I asked her where she wanted to have her birthday dinner and she told me that she was craving for some sashimi so I gave her the benefit to choose between Kaizen Sushi Waterfront and Sushi Tei.

She chose Kaizen Sushi Waterfront as she doesn’t really like the food served at Sushi Tei. I called to reserve a table for two. Thank God that reservation had been made earlier as the place was pretty packed and we even have to wait for our table when reservation had been made earlier on. Both Jia and I were a little bit disappointed with some of the food served tonight.

DSCF7346

A picture of the birthday girl “vain-ing” with my iPhone 4 coz she said her Samsung Galaxy S3 sucks with image quality.

Without further ado, let me show you what we had for dinner tonight. Anyways, kindly please pardon me the lousy quality for the following pictures. I couldn’t seem to get the right angles for the pictures tonight.

DSCF1556

Sashimi (Sake) | B$12.60

Both Jia and I were disappointed with their Sashimi (Sake) this evening as the slices were not as thick as what we had previously. If you were to compare with this picture, you could have seen the big difference. It was fresh but not the freshest and not so juicy either.

DSCF1541

Sake Cheese Maki | B$3.60

One of Jia’s favorite sushi at Kaizen Sushi Waterfront. I liked it the first time I ate it but got sick of it eventually. I don’t usually order this unless I am with Jia at Kaizen Sushi Waterfront. If you do like cheese a lot, you might like Sake Cheese Maki as the cheese stick was pretty thick in my opinion.

DSCF1544

Sake Maki | B$2.70

Feel like having some plain sushi, hence I ordered this for the both of us to share.

DSCF1570

Okonomiyaki | B$5.40

Kaizen Sushi Waterfront version of Okonomiyaki looked a bit different compared to the ones from Excapade Sushi, Kitaro Japanese Restaurant, Misato Teppan Grill and Gohan Sushi Restaurant. The batter was crispy and crunchy, topped with generous servings of bonito flakes and mayonnaise. This tasted not bad but not the best that I had tasted so far.

DSCF1563

Shitake Moriawase Tempura | B$6.30

Nothing much to shout about for their Shitake Moriawase Tempura this time round as both Jia and I agreed that their Shitake mushrooms were not so fresh and juicy compared to what we had previously.

DSCF1564

Satsumaimo Tempura | B$4.50

Sweet potatoes tempura. Crunchy if you eat it immediately after serving. Turned slightly soggy when both Jia and I tucked in with the last two pieces.

DSCF1553

Softshell Crab Temaki | B$3.60

Been a huge fan of Temaki lately but I am so not gonna order this anymore. Should have stick with their Sake Temaki, which was way nicer!

We pretty much finished all the food that we ordered aside from the Okonomiyaki. We were both too full to finish the leftovers of Okonomiyaki. We were supposed to have desserts at MADbites Cafe but our tummy couldn’t take any more food so we decided to head home earlier instead.

Last but not least, Happy 26th my dear! We shall meet again one day for desserts as Part 2 of your birthday dinner. LOL!

Leave a Reply

