Review: Laneige Oil-Free Cleansing Liquid

A little bit sidetrack first before I start today’s entry.

Ing and I were currently planning on a trip together to Kuala Lumpur (KL) in the mid of next month (September). She is representing her Company to attend a 2 days training course. So, I am tagging along as well. Not that I am going for the 2 days training course but I am going because I had never been to KL throughout my 25 years of life! I actually planned to go in October as birthday weekend getaway but I might not be able to find any travel companion. So, September it is if I am being granted my leave application.

Can’t wait to go KL as KL is about the same as Singapore when it comes to skincare shopping. I think I might have to control myself a bit when it comes to skincare shopping. I still have quite of lot of unused skincare products. Maybe I should take this going to KL opportunity to “upgrade” the clothing in my wardrobe. Kinda feeling sick of having to think what to wear on every Sunday.

Anyways, Sister birthday is around the corner and I haven’t actually decided what to buy. I had a rough idea already but I am not sure if it’s gonna work. Not gonna reveal what I had in mind here or else it’s not gonna be a surprise anymore (just in case she happens to be blog-hopping on my blog). LOL! So hopefully, it will turn out as I hope by the end of the day.

Let’s get back to our main topic, shall we?

Those of you who had been a huge fan of Laneige products and use makeup all the time might have came across this product previously. This is one of the makeup removers from Laneige which I had requested Sister to get it for me from Seoul last September. Don’t give me that look, I know it’s almost a year since I bought it. Like I said, I am never a stickler when it comes to skincare products as I would usually switch in between products even when they are not entirely finished yet. Hahaha … xD

DSCF1397

The texture of Laneige Oil-Free Cleansing Liquid is a little bit gelish compared to the other makeup removers which was previously launched by Laneige. Housed in a transparent plastic sturdy bottle with a dispenser for easy measurement of dosage. The dispenser came with a blocking cap as well so that you don’t have to worry about spillage if you happened to be bringing it with you when you are travelling.

The consistency of the liquid was neither very runny nor thick. It’s thick but not as thick as Kanebo Blanchir Superior Oil Cleansing. According to the packaging, this product contains no oil, fragrance and alcohol. What I gathered from Laneige official website was that this product is a plant based liquid cleanser hence making it extremely suitable for users with sensitive skin like mine. It contains both anti-inflammatory peppermint extracts and exfoliating lemon extracts which soothe the skin and leaving it smooth after cleansing. I was once being told by the BA at Laneige counter to avoid using this product on the eye areas as it will sting since it contains peppermint extract.

As mentioned on the packaging, this cleansing liquid did really contain no fragrance as I couldn’t pick out the slightest hint of fragrance. Albeit it stated on the packaging that this is an oil-free cleansing liquid, I couldn’t help but wonder why do I feel grease on my fingers after massaging the liquid onto my face. So, I did a little of an experiment with a piece of oil-blotter.

DSCF1582

The covered area immediately turned transparent like how it does when it gets in contact with the shine on our face. So, I am not exactly sure what Laneige meant by oil-free. The liquid cleanser is indeed mild as it doesn’t strip skin moisture. According to the direction of usage on Laneige website, this liquid cleanser does not require further foam cleanser after rinsing. But I did feel a layer of oil film on my skin after I rinsed off the cleansing liquid. So, I still continued with double cleansing with Elizabeth Arden White Glove Extreme Clarifying Foam Cleanser. The liquid cleanser was able to remove all dirt and grime on my face but I feel much more assured if I double cleansed my face with my facial cleanser.

Pros:
1. Completely fragrance-free.
2. Skin felt soft and smooth after rinsing off the cleansing liquid.
3. Peppermint extracts to soothe sensitive skin.
4. Doesn’t strip skin moisture.
5. Cleanses the face well.

Cons:
1. Can still feel grease on my fingers albeit stated oil-free on packaging.
2. Leaves an oil film layer on my skin after rinsing.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

Price: KRW$21,000 (~B$24)

Repurchase? Nope

Leave a Reply

