Review: Kose Sekkisei Sun Protector N SPF50+ PA+++

After reading some positive reviews about this product from various beauty bloggers, I decided to get one for myself since I am quite a huge fan of Kose products nowadays. This particular sunscreen came in two forms – normal and medicated.

I actually wanted to try the medicated version as it was the highly reviewed one. But Stephanie, the BA at Kose, Boulevard Hypermarket told me that she doesn’t have it at her counter as medicated skincare products require prescriptions and it could only be bought from pharmacy. I am not sure about the case in West Malaysia but that’s how it is in East Malaysia according to her.

I started using this sunscreen couple of days ago since I am planning to bring my almost finishing Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++ with me on my upcoming KL, which is on the mid of next month.

DSCF0739

This particular sunscreen comes with higher quantity compared to Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++ or Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++. Kose Sekkisei Sun Protector N SPF50+ PA+++ comes in 60g which is 10g more than Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++ and 30g more than Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++.

DSCF1607

The consistency of the liquid is much more watery compared to the Shiseido which I had been using. When I first tried it at Kose counter few months ago, I could feel that it’s a little bit oily. I wanted to go for Kose Sekkisei Sun Protect Gel SPF50 PA+++ since it felt less greasy on my hands compared to the former. But Stephanie advised me to go for the liquid version if I am more likely to be exposed under the sun for quite a long time. The gel version would do just fine if I am only exposed to the sun for a short period of time and staying indoor most of the time.

So, I followed as instructed and got the liquid version. The first day when I was trying out the product, I don’t really like it but there’s nothing I could do since I bought a full size bottle. I even planned on giving it away to my Sister. But then I decided to give it another shot on the next day by lowering down the dosage so that it wouldn’t make my face looking like a grease ball and it worked!

The texture is not as thick as Shisiedo Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++ and it’s easily spread all over the face without leaving a white cast. It did feel a little bit greasy at first but it will be absorbed into the skin after a short while and leaving your skin feeling smooth. And what’s good was that it doesn’t break out on my skin.

Albeit being a little greasy, my skin doesn’t secrete much sebum throughout the day. In terms of the smell, it smelled like any other Kose Sekkisei range of products but less stronger. It wasn’t able to even out the skin tone as well as Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++ did but I still find it good enough for my expectation.

Pros:
1. Smelled like any other Kose Sekkisei range of products but less stronger.
2. Comes in 60g, which is a lot more compared some other brands of sunscreens.
3. Doesn’t leave a white casting.
4. Leaves skin feeling smooth when the sunscreen was fully absorbed.
5. Doesn’t break out on the skin.

Cons:
1. A little bit greasy.
2. Doesn’t absorb instantly.
3. Couldn’t even out skin tone.

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Price: RM118

Repurchase? Yes

22 thoughts on “Review: Kose Sekkisei Sun Protector N SPF50+ PA+++

  1. I also use Shiseido multi defence. What I do is to mix the sunblock with foundation and I have my own tinted sunblock which makes it look more natural. You can do the same for any sunblock that leaves a white casting.

    1. Thanks for the idea!

      I have never used any foundation before. Tried BB Cream less than 5 times and it leaves my skin kinda a bit dry than usual.

      But I shall try your suggestion one day if I decided to try foundation for myself. =D

  2. I was just discussing about this sunscreen with a Kose SA yesterday. According to her this sunscreen is more for dry combination skin and the recommended me to try the new gel type sunscreen instead. at RM105 for 80g its cheaper than my usual Shiseido sunscreen. But there r so few reviews about the gel sunscreen. this makes me hesitant to buy it,.

    anyways how does the Sekkisei Sun Protector N SPF50+ compare with the Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30 in terms of greasiness n shine ?

    1. The texture of Kose Sekkisei Sun Protector N SPF50+ PA+++ is a lot lighter than Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30 as the latter has the texture of a cream.

      In terms of absorption, I preferred the former and it’s easier to wash off as well. I tried applying the sunscreen on my hands yesterday and rinse them off. Easily rinsed off compared to the latter. But the scent does linger around for quite some time no matter how many times you wash your hands. In terms of controlling greasiness and shine, I think both are relatively the same.

      if I were given the option for my preference of both products, I would definitely go for the former. But of course, if I were to compare with Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++, I’ll definitely prefer this more than the Kose one.

      The advantage of using the gel sunscreen is that it won’t make your face looking like a grease ball after a couple of hours but I do not like the feel of a film layer when applying gel product. In terms of protection, the ingredients of a gel sunscreen is not as potent as those from liquid version of sunscreens, I guess.

  3. Sounds like it’s a light hydrating type of Japanese sunscreen. But the reviews from other blogs are very diverse. A few said this sunscreen is greasy, never absorbs and not suitable for oily skin. a few more said it’s mattifying, controls oil and great for oily skin. I don’t know what to expect from this sunscreen really. seems like it could go either way on my skin.

    1. Yeah … But majority reviews which I got from the Internet are reviewing on the medicated version. I couldn’t get the medicated version from Malaysia though.

      I don’t think it’s really that greasy if you controlled the dosage well. Just like how you did it with Shiseido Urban Environment UV Protector Extra Mild SPF30.

      You could always try getting samples from the BA at Kose counter though. Then only you can know if the product is worth spending on or not.

  4. Based on what I have read the Sekkisei and Medicated Sekkisei versions are probably the same. In Malaysia medicated products can only be sold in pharmacies hence no Medicated on the Kose products in Malaysia.

    The last time I bought a sunscreen without trying it turned to be a big waste of money, It was a Biotherm Homme sunscreen that costs me RM130 for 30ml. It promised to be light, non oily and no whitecast. It ended being shiny, greasy and not even water or sweat resistant.

    I tried asking for samples but the SA said she ran out of sunscreen samples.

    1. Unfortunately, I find quite a lot of Biotherm products not to be suitable for our weather here in South East Asia. I used Biotherm back when I was still in UK. It worked wonder but not when I have returned home for good.

      So, that’s why I chose Shiseido over Biotherm over the past few years. And furthermore, Shiseido is formulated for Asian skin anyways. LOL!

      Have you ever tried Laneige sunscreen? I tried them once and it broke out heavily on me. Not sure if it was the hormonal problem back then but I am planning to try it again one day since I have got a few samples.

      1. I have tried the old version of the Laneige Homme sunscreen. It was oily and didn’t really absorb fully even after 30mins.

    2. Actually what are the differences between Homme and normal range of products? I know for a fact that Homme is formulated for guys but I just don’t understand. Can’t guys also use the skincare products formulated for us women?

      I know this may sounds like a dumb question but I just couldn’t understand the differences. LOL!

      1. It’s mostly about the packaging being more masculine. Texture wise Men’s stuff is often lighter and dries matte. Some products also serves multiple functions like a toner, after shave n moisturizer in one or a facial cleanser and shaving foam in one tube. fragrance is another thing that is often very different. But most men products end up smelling like cheap cologne and I really can’t stand that. Biotherm Homme falls into this category.

        Clinique Skin Supplies For Men is one example of how easily some guys r influenced by packaging. CSSFM is just repackaged regular Clinique products. Ingredients, texture n etc r all identical to the women’s line. Prices are slightly higher for CSSFM and even the SAs tell me to buy the women’s line because it’s cheaper LOL.

        I have tried many men skincare brands and probably only Shiseido Men stood out. The rest were pretty meh with products promising a lot and delivering very little especially when it comes to oil control.

    3. I have a male friend who is also using Shiseido Men and so far, the product had done good on his skin. He has a sensitive skin but Shiseido Men worked on him.

      He tried SK-II previously but I heard it broke out rather heavily on his skin.

      1. I passed a Kose counter last night. I couldn’t resist and ended up buying a bottle of the Sekkisei Sun Protector. Applied it earlier and so far so good I guess. Greasy initially like any other Japanese sunscreen but it dries to a smooth finish a few minutes later. It isn’t matte but it isn’t shiny either on my skin. I applied an amount equivalent to a new Malaysian 20 cents coin (im sure u know the RM currency well). This amount was a little bit too much and I probably will need to use less. I usually don’t apply a moisturizer in the daytime. after cleansing I usually apply the Sekkisei Lotion and then sunscreen.

  5. RM 20 cents? Wow! That was a lot in my opinion. I only use like maybe RM 10 cents or less and I already think that it’s a little bit greasy. Hahaha … I applied more if I am using Shiseido Multi-Defense since it absorbs instantly.

    Doesn’t it dry up your skin if you do not use moisturizer before sunscreen? Or guys’ skin conditions are different than us women? LOL!

    1. After one whole day of having the Sekkisei sunscreen on my face I can say that I quite like it. Didn’t make my face oily or overly shiny instead my face was smooth n soft. Most of the Japanese sunscreens I used previously that were mattifying made my face a little dull and by the end of the day sometimes my face gets a bit irritated. However I am going to get the Sekkisei gel sunscreen next month. That one I’m really curious to try.

      I been skipping moisturizer in the mornings for a few yrs already and there doesn’t see mto be any ill effects. All the moisturizer I tried applying the mornings end up making my face sticky by noon. Even those oil control ones. I tend to go for slightly more moisturizing sunscreens so that it can act a moisturizer too.

      1. I tried skipping moisturizers previously and my skin dried out big time. Took me quite some time to restore it back to it’s original condition.

        Have you ever used BB Cream before? xD

        Let me know what you think of the gel version of Kose sunscreen after you have tried it. =)

  6. I do use a BB cream almost daily and getting a right shade is the biggest challenge of all. Right now I’m using Kanebo Freshel Mineral BB. It’s affordable (RM60, 50g) and dries to a pretty matte finish. I hope they continue bringing the brand in. For the 1st 6 months of 2013 Freshel disappeared from local stores. Luckily they brought it back.

    Yeah i’ll definitely let u know how the gel version sunscreen is like.

    1. Probably because last time there were a few products from Kanebo which were being recalled back so they stopped bringing them in until the wind dies down?

      I remembered you mentioning that you have quite an oily skin like mine? Well, if you don’t mind, I actually have a product to recommend you. I had reusing it again recently and it’s quite good on me so far.

      Have you heard of Artistry Intensive Skincare Renewing Peel (IRP)? It’s a beauty product from Amway. The product focuses on repairing your skin problems. If let say you have an oily skin, it can combat your sebum excretion. If you have large pores, it could try to reduce them in size. Not drastically, but you could see the difference.

      It could sort of lighten up scar marks as well. I used my first bottle more than a year ago. A bottle could only lasts you for 6 weeks. You use it twice per week for the next 6 weeks. Once you finish a bottle, you stop the product for another 6 weeks before you start with a new one. But of course, you could choose not to until you wanted to get another new bottle.

      Before I started using IRP, I definitely need Shiseido Pureness Anti-Shine Lotion to control the shine on my face everyday. But after I used IRP for 6 weeks, I could see that my skin is no longer that oily compared to before. And I am no longer using Shiseido Pureness Anti-Shine Lotion anymore.

      If you had heard of this product before, I am sorry for rambling on continuously. But if you have not, you could consider giving it a try. If you are a member, it’s RM260 per bottle. But if you are not an Amway member, I couldn’t be sure of the price.

      Hope this helps. Don’t worry, I am not trying to sell you the product. LOL! xD

      1. Thanks for the tip. I’ll go look for some reviews on the product.

        So far what really works for me is the Shiseido Men Anti Shine Refresher. Pureness has a similar product but the Shiseido Men one blows it out of the water LOL. If i apply it on bare skin there will be no shine for at least 6 hours. I blot with tissue and another few more hours no shine. But if I combine it with those Japanese sunscreen that double as a makeup bases, there will be no shine for close to 10 hours. However I only use it on the nose. Its kinda weird for a guy to walk around with a overly matte face.

        That being said Shiseido decided last year to discontinue the Shiseido Men Anti Shine Refresher for reasons unknown. But I managed to buy one of the last tubes of it in Malaysia. a 30ml tube costs RM130. Probably old leftover stocks r available online.

      1. I have heard of the new range but I doubt I will try it since I’m really happy with Kose atm. Ibuki Prices ain’t cheap either.

        I bought the Sekkisei Sun Protect Gel yesterday. Applied for the 1st time today. The texture is thicker than Sun Protector and is close to a cream type of feel. But once applied to the face it absorbs really fast and I couldn’t even feel like I applied any sunscreen. But it makes my face (nose especially) a little shiny but not oily. I thought it would dry to a matte finish so it’s a little disappointing. I washed if off my hands easily so I guess the water and sweat resistance ain’t very good.

Leave a Reply

