Review: Imperial Palace Hotel, Miri

Just came back from Miri yesterday evening for an overnight trip to meet up with Andrea who came back from Singapore for a friend’s wedding. Decided to stay at Imperial Palace Hotel this time round after my experience at M | Boutique Inn. I am not saying that the boutique inn is not good but I am not used to small room.

I planned to book a Imperial Hotel 2 Bedrooms Executive Apartment via Agoda but after a bit of calculations here and there, KinG suggested that we get ourselves one room each at Imperial Palace Hotel since the price difference wasn’t huge. So, he called in and booked two Standard Room with king sized beds. Check-in procedure was a brisk as KinG already got our rooms’ access key cards in hand when I am back with my backpack from the car.

If you are wondering what’s the deposit amount required per room, I am afraid that I wouldn’t be able to provide you the exact figure as I wasn’t around during the check-in procedure. Both rooms were reserved under KinG’s name so he was the one dealing with the check-in. But the room rate for a Standard Room is RM155 nett with complimentary breakfast for 2 per room, which we both forfeited and had McDonalds for breakfast in the morning after checkout. *sweat*

DSCF7363

View upon entering the room

This is the small walkway which greeted me upon unlocking the door. As usual, you will be given two room access key cards per room to get into your room. Instead of having your room access key card scanned like the one at M | Boutique Inn, you will have to insert the card into the designated slot and wait for the light to go yellow before you will be allowed in. The room was smaller than what I had expected but big enough for myself alone.

DSCF7361

DSCF7362

We have the bathroom cum toilet on the left upon entering the room. I actually planned to ask the receptionist if they have any Standard Room with a shower room cubicle instead of a bathtub. But ended up not asking coz I remembered that Imperial Hotel doesn’t have such room either. The reason why I always requested for a shower room cubicle was because the floor of the bathtub is always slippery. I liked their power shower, the water pressure was strong enough. xD

DSCF7364

The bed was comfortable enough but I personally think that the duvet is not thick enough. I was feeling a little bit cold in the middle of the night even when I have the duvet all over me. Perhaps it was due to the rainy weather during the night? Television channels provided were reasonably good, at least they have some channels which I was interested in. The room window doesn’t overlook the town like some other hotels did. For Standard Rooms, you will only be given views of their hotel corridors. Should have taken a picture to show but I had forgotten to.

So, here’s what I thought of the hotel itself.

The room was clean and tidy in my opinion. Room slippers were provided as well if you don’t feel like stamping your feet on the carpet coz you’ll never know how many dirty shoes had stepped on it. LOL! But unfortunately, the slippers were not safe enough to be used in the bathroom. I almost slipped a couple of times while wearing them. Complimentary mineral water were provided as well.  As I mentioned earlier, complimentary breakfast for 2 per room was being provided as well but I couldn’t tell if they were nice or not since I did not have my breakfast at the Lobby Restaurant.

The hotel itself is centrally located in the nightlife area of Miri town. One of the most ongoing clubs in Miri – Club Celebrities is located on the Ground Floor of the hotel. You could see it when you turned into the junction leading to the hotel. I have quite a few friends who always stayed at Imperial Palace Hotel whenever they were in Miri for Club Celebrities. That way you don’t have to worry about driving in drunken state.

Hotel guests can park their cars at the basement parking lot for free as long as you remember to bring your parking coupon to the check-in desk for validation. Hotel lift doesn’t take forever to arrive unlike the ones at Meritz Hotel. The hotel is only two bus stops away from Boulevard Shopping Mall and one bus stop away from Bintang Megamall. If you are gonna rely on the public transportation of Miri during your stay, I would recommend Imperial Palace Hotel since the nearest bus stop is like 3 minutes walk from the hotel?

Imperial Palace Hotel
Lot 1120, Block 7,
Jalan Sehati, MCLD,
98000, Miri,
Sarawak,
Malaysia.
Tel: +6 085 437799
Website: http://www.imperialpalacehotel.com.my

Leave a Reply

