Desserts @ MADbites Cafe

I took an extra day off from the Company yesterday after my overnight weekend trip to Miri to meet up with Andrea. I went to some of the banks in town to check out the terms and conditions for their credit card application. And I got myself a credit card from Standard Chartered Bank (SCB) as it offered me the best deal compared to Baiduri Bank and HSBC.

Invited Jia out over Skype for desserts at MADbites Cafe. Stephen (Jia’s boyfriend) isn’t around in Bandar for the week so Jia is more flexible when it comes to outing. Kindly please do not get the wrong idea, I am not saying that Stephen grounds her or what. But when you have the other half, they would usually come to the first priority. I set out from home for MADbites Cafe around 4:30p.m. in the afternoon as I don’t wanna get stuck in the traffic jam and only reached the cafe like half an hour later coz I missed the exit and I have to make a detour via Batu Satu area.

I am supposed to go MADbites Cafe with Jennifer yesterday but she took a rain check as she had to go on some business trip in Kuching. And I was craving for some desserts so I invited Jia out instead.

Anyways, let me show you the food pictures.

DSCF1673

Latte | B$3.50

Took me a while to realize that there is no ear hook for the cup but only a “flat” surface for you to hold the cup. The Latte tasted not bad in my opinion. There is no need for additional white or brown sugar as the coffee itself is not bitter enough.

DSCF1675

Picture to support my “above statement”. LOL!

DSCF1679

Hansel & Gretel | B$4.80

This is what I had been wanting to order from MADbites Cafe even before I was there for the first time with Seng Yee and Kaylie. But unfortunately, Hansel & Gretel was sold out for the day back then. And luckily enough, there were about 2 left when I was there yesterday afternoon. So, I ordered one for myself without hesitation. Honestly speaking, the price may seem a bit steep. But it’s considerably reasonable when you took a bite and realized the generous fillings provided.

Hansel & Gretel is a savory cream puff with Hazelnut and Mustard Cream. The cream puff was softer than “usual” as it was probably refrigerated since they opened business for the day. The layer of Hazelnut and Mustard Cream was generous. I am assuming the yellow cream which you could see in the picture was Custard Cream. Both Custard and Hazelnut & Mustard Cream were separated by fresh grapes. The taste of Mustard Cream wasn’t too strong, which is okay for someone like me who doesn’t eat wasabi whenever I am dining at a Japanese restaurant.

DSCF1677

Smoked Salmon Sandwich | B$6.00

Jia’s choice of food since she doesn’t like much desserts. Jia personally liked what she had yesterday. Both salads and smoked salmon were fresh. There were several slices of cream cheese in her sandwich, assuming they were those Philadelphia cream cheese?Β  What Jia doesn’t like about the sandwich was that it was toasted. She preferred her sandwich to be non-toasted but I preferred otherwise. Toasted bread usually tasted nicer when it has butter spread over the bread. Hahaha … xD

For your information, the business hours of MADbites Cafe had been revised recently. They are no longer operating their business till 10:00p.m. in the evening. Business hours for Monday to Thursday and Saturday shall be from 10:00a.m. in the morning until 6:00p.m. in the afternoon. And 3:00p.m. in the afternoon until 8:00p.m. in the evening for every Friday. Note: MADbites Cafe is not open on every Sunday. For more information, you could always check out their Facebook page.

MADbites Cafe
Peugeot Car Showroom
(TCY Motors)
Unit 4, Ground Floor,
Simpang: 22,
Kampung Kiarong, BE1318,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-7181887

Leave a Reply

