Review: Kose Sekkisei Cleansing Cream

My skin complexion had been dull and blotchy over the past few days and I couldn’t be sure what triggered it. I was using Hada Labo Mild Peeling Face Wash yesterday. I bought it randomly at a local supermarket because I did not have a skincare set stashed in my office. My face was feeling very oily, dirty and clotted at that point of time. And least did I know that the facial cleanser will cause me a few bumps and redness on the face. If you are interested to know what I thought of the product, do stay tune. I’ll review it in another day.

Anyways, back to our original topic of the day – Kose Sekkisei Cleansing Cream. Cleansing cream is an alternative of cleansing oil or water to me nowadays. I had only tried a couple brands of cleansing creams, namely Tony Moly Morning Dew Broccoli Sprout Cleansing Cream, Skin Food Green Tea Milk Cleansing Cream (Fresh) and SK-II Facial Treatment Gentle Cleansing Cream. And the other one would be what I am about to review today.

DSCF1757

The full size of this product comes in 140g but I got the sample size from Hermo.my a couple of weeks ago. This small tub of cleansing cream only contains 16g worth of product but it’s more than enough for at least a week of usage.

DSCF1760

I understand that buying sample size products from the Internet is a bit of a rip-off especially when you can get them from the beauty counters for free. Thing is, despite I am a Kose user nowadays, the BA at Kose Malaysia counters are usually stingy when it comes to giving free samples. I have no idea why but this is what I had been experiencing.

Even Jennie who had been an avid Kose user for the last few years said the same thing when it comes to Kose counters in Malaysia. But she did mentioned to me that the previous BA at Kose Brunei were very generous when it comes to giving free samples. Unfortunately, the counter had been closed down since more than 2 years ago and she had to resort to replenishing her Kose products from Malaysia.

DSCF1762

Anyways, let’s start talking about the product.

The texture of the cleansing cream is very creamy. I find the texture to be a little bit similar to Kose Sekkisei Eye Cream but less thicker. In terms of scent, it smelled just like Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash. Very powder-ish, it smelled. I liked how smooth and easy it glides and spread over the face. It’s like you are applying your night cream. I usually use about the size of 2 pieces of soy beans per usage. LOL!

Instead of emulsifying the cleansing cream with lukewarm water before rinsing the cleansing cream off, I used a piece of The Body Shop Organic Cotton Pads and wiped off the cleansing cream. The cleansing cream came off with a bit of brownish stain on the cotton pad.

The reason why I chose to wipe the cleansing cream off with a piece of cotton pad before rinsing was because I don’t want the cleansing cream to clot my pores if I did not manage to remove all the cream stains. After wiping off the cleansing cream, I used lukewarm water to further remove the cleansing cream and followed by my usual double cleansing routine with Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash.

The cleansing cream left my skin feeling all soft, moisturized and supple after application. I could see that it brightened up my skin complexion a bit as well. If I were to compare my preference between Kose Sekkisei Cleansing Cream and SK-II Facial Treatment Gentle Cleansing Cream, I think I’ll go with the former.

Pros:
1. Leaves skin feeling soft, moisturized and supple after application.
2. Doesn’t break out on my sensitive skin.
3. Brightened up skin complexion a bit.
4. Smelled powder-ish like Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash.
5. Removes dirt and grime as well as any other cleansing oils which I had used before.

Cons:
None that I could think of at the moment.

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Price: RM108 (140g)

Repurchase? Most likely to be!

Leave a Reply

