Review: Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence

Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum+ used to be my holy grail product when it comes to lighten up scar marks. But due to it’s steep pricing, I am constantly in search for a good and yet affordable brightening serum. I have tried Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector and it gave me hell of a breakout. Wasted B$120 of my money on that product and ended up giving it away to Sister.

When I had used up my third bottle of Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum+, I was contemplating between getting myself another new bottle or trying out the newly released Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence. I took the bet and bought myself a bottle of Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence from Parkson, Miri.

DSC00214

This product was heavily promoted and advertised in one of the Korean drama series – That Winter The Wind Blows, released in early of this year starring Song Hye Kyo. I am assuming that for those of you who happened to be an avid user of Laneige would definitely know that Song Hye Kyo is the ambassador of Laneige.

Extracted from Laneige:

in just 2 weeks, find solutions to 6 whitening concerns with gentle whitening that excludes 4 mild ingredients for a complexion 2 tones brighter.

This product focuses on the following three aspects – Melanin Care, Evens Skin Tone and Dual Brightening Effect. The BA at Laneige, Parkson Miri promised me 2 tones lighter on my skin after 1 month of usage. According to her, this product is able to lighten up our skin tone by 1 shade after 2 weeks of usage and then another 1 shade after a complete 1 month of usage. I know I am bad with explaining the idea, but hopefully you are able to understand what I am trying to explain here. And it’s suitable for those of you who happened to also have a sensitive skin like mine as it’s free from Paraben, Animal Products, Artificial Pigments and Mineral Oil.

DSC00216

I think this is the first product of Laneige that comes with a “squeeze” pump dispenser. And I quite like this kind of dispenser compared to the usual pump dispenser. All you have to do is gently squeeze the rubber pump before you unscrew the cap, remove the stick later on and then gently squeeze the rubber pump again so that the liquid would squirt out from the stick. One pump is more than enough for your entire face. Don’t go all greedy and use two pumps instead. Remember, this product actually acts as a serum albeit it was named as essence on the product branding. You’ll use it after the application of your usual toner/lotion/softener and before your moisturizer.

DSC00218

The consistency of the liquid is pretty watery to me and it gets absorbed onto my skin really quick without leaving any sticky or uncomfortable feeling. It smelled nice too since it contained Camellia Sinensis Leaf as one of the main ingredients.

I am happy to say that I am very satisfied with this product albeit some of Laneige products don’t work well on my skin especially their refiner and emulsion. But this one worked just great! After using this product for more than a month, I could see that my skin complexion is nowadays brighter compared to a month ago. And my scar marks were less visible. Even my colleagues did mentioned that my skin complexion had looked a lot brighter compared to before.

So, here’s what I think of Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Affordable.
2. Smelled nice, flowery.
3. Absorbed onto my skin very quickly.
4. Leaves no sticky or uncomfortable feeling.
5. Doesn’t break out on my sensitive skin.
6. Brightened up skin complexion after a month.
7. Scar marks less visible nowadays.

Cons:
None that I could think of at the moment.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

Price: RM180 (East Malaysia), B$75.90 (Laneige counters across Brunei)

Repurchase? Definitely!

8 thoughts on “Review: Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence

  1. Is there really a lot of scenes to do with Laneige in the Kdrama ”That Winter The Wind Blows” ? I haven’t watch it but i saw they showed Song Hye Kyo in a Laneige store when i watched their promo banner. I’m interested to see more beauty-related dramas xD I wish there’s a Jdrama or Kdrama solely about beauty. I sounds like a vain person now :b Anyway i still remember the SA told me not to try this yet first so i could clear up my acne & keep it under control </3

    1. Yeah … You would see that all the skincare and cosmetic products that she uses is related to Laneige. And there was a scene whereby she was doing a makeover at Laneige counter, they focused on Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence.

      Well, this drama wasn’t any sort of beauty related drama but because Song Hye Kyo is the product ambassador. That’s why you will scene quite a few Laneige scenes. LOL!

      I bought this product from Parkson, Miri and I personally think that the BA is not experienced enough with Laneige products. When I asked her how much they are selling Laneige Clear-C Effector, she wasn’t even able to explain to me what’s the product for. And I on the other hand had to tell her what’s it’s for (I bought a bottle previously and still is using it).

      Normally when you asked for the product pricing, the BA will automatically explain to you what’s it’s for. It’s natural and automatic. *sweat*

  2. Awesome review šŸ™‚
    I have had my eyes on the original essence for ages, but the fact that alcohol is listed as the third ingredient in this product is kind of off- putting. I’ve heard a lot about the ‘pro- aging’ and drying effects of alcohol on skin, and I would really love to hear your opinion regarding it- do you think it is worth rejecting a product based on the fact that it contains alcohol, and should I concern myself over the possible long term effects of using something like the original essence?
    It will be amazing to hear your thoughts on this rankling issue šŸ™‚

    1. To be honest, I am not that concerned about the alcohol thing. It’s quite hard to find skincare products that do not contain any level of alcohol. Apart from Kiehl’s, I guess.

      But honestly, I personally think that it all depends on individuals’ skin. If your skin is sensitive towards skincare products which contain alcohol, then better stay away with alcohol contained skincare products.

      But if your skin do not react badly towards alcohol, it’s okay I think. I have a sensitive skin but my skin is still able to tolerate a certain amount of alcohol content.

      I had been using Kose Sekkisei Lotion and my skin reacted well to it. Unfortunately, my skin burnt and stung when using Kiehl’s Alcohol Free Cucumber Toner.

      Like I said, it all depends though. You could ask for sample and give it a try and see how your skin react to it.

      I am not sure if I’ll able to answer your doubts but hopefully this helps. xD

      1. Thankyou very much; what you have said gives a new perspective to the issue šŸ™‚ I think I’ll do just that, and I’ll see what happens.

    1. May I know how severe is your acne prone skin? As in you get breakouts when you used skincare products which your skin couldn’t accept?

      I also have an acne prone skin but they are not as serious as before and a lot of post acne scarring like the ones you have too. But the product worked quite well on my skin. I did not buy a second bottle of the product as I find the price to be pretty steep so I switched to Artistry Ideal Radiance Illuminating Essence.

      I couldn’t vouch if the product is gonna work on your skin as different products react differently on different skin types. I would suggest you heading over to the nearest Laneige counter and get a few samples to try. Don’t worry, Laneige are very generous when it comes to giving samples.

      Just tell them that you couldn’t be sure if it’s gonna work on your skin and I am sure that they will be more than happy to give you a few sachets to try. Well, it worked for me most of time. Do tell me what you think of the product when you have tried it. xD

Leave a Reply

