Dinner @ Kaizen Sushi Kiarong

Supposed to do a blog entry for yesterday’s dinner at Kaizen Sushi Kiarong but I was so tired and I crashed to bed earlier than usual for a Sunday night. LOL! Kaylie and I met up at Kaizen Sushi Kiarong around 7:00p.m. in the evening. I was at a talk organized by CA Brunei (Amway) at Badi’ah Hotel before the dinner. The talk took up my entire afternoon. And I was basically almost starving by the end of the talk as I did not have any lunch prior to the talk. Only had a bit of light food during the refreshment hour.

I don’t usually go Kaizen Sushi Kiarong as it’s much more inconvenient compared to going Kaizen Sushi Waterfront. And since I was already in the area, I suggested going there to have my sushi craving fixed. I ordered my own food while waiting for Kaylie to arrive. She Whatsapp texted telling me that she will be running late. So, I had my dinner before her and waited for her before I dug in my main course.

DSC00288

Kaizen Sushi Kiarong is a lot smaller compared to Kaizen Sushi Waterfront. The former looked more like a Japanese restaurant compared to the latter while the latter has a much more contemporary design.

DSC00289

Trying to capture the moving sushi train but lose focus and turned blurry in the background.

Let’s start with the food pictures, shall we?

DSC00296

Spicy Tuna/Salmon Temaki | B$3.60

Had this on my first visit to Kaizen Sushi Kiarong but I did not do a proper food review back then. Presentation and portion was good in my opinion. The filling was crunchy and spicy at the same time. They are not bluffing when they stated spicy on their menu. It may not be extremely spicy for some of you but I do taste a little bit of spiciness in it.

DSC00294

Shake Maki | B$2.70

Loved this! The sashimi cubes inside the sushi were thick and juicy. This is why I love Kaizen Sushi compared to Excapade Sushi at most of the time. LOL!

DSC00302

Inari Spicy Maguro Sushi (No Rice) | B$5.40

This is not the version that I wanted but it was too late, I ordered the wrong thing. What I wanted was Inari Sake Sarada but without the rice. The filling of this sushi was basically about the same like Spicy Tuna/Salmon Temaki which I ordered earlier on. The tofu skin tasted a little bit sweet, probably from the drenching of the sushi fillings. Tasted a little bit “sour” at the far end.

DSC00305

Tori Katsu Don | B$8.10

Need I do any explaining about whose main course was this? LOL!

DSC00303

Una Tamra Don | B$11.70

Feel like having some unagi so I ordered this for myself. It was cooked with lots of big onions. Not that I hate big onions, but they were way too much for my liking. And I ended up feeling thirsty the entire night after the dinner. Perhaps too much MSG? Even Kaylie said the same thing.

Kaizen Sushi Kiarong
No: 10, Ground Floor, Block C,
Kiarong Complex,
Lebuhraya Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah,
Kampung Kiarong. BE1318,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2452662

Leave a Reply

