Review: Charcoal BBQ & Grill Restaurant, Brunei

Feels like going for a massage tomorrow morning as both my hands and legs joints were kinda sore from all the green tea drinkings. But unfortunately, Thann Sanctuary Spa was all fully booked up tomorrow morning. The next available slot that they have for tomorrow is at 12:00 noon which I assumed isn’t with my usual masseur.

I never had any other masseur before every time I am at Thann Sanctuary Spa. She’s by far the best for me, she’s very detail orientated and gentle. I had seen worst before, so I am always returning to her every time I go Thann Sanctuary Spa. I had even recommended her to both Sister and Jennifer. Sister said she was good too but Jennifer never gotten round to be served by her because Thann Sanctuary Spa was already fully booked the last time she went there and they gave her whoever masseur is available.

Anyways, here’s a review of Charcoal BBQ & Grill Restaurant today. I had only been to Charcoal BBQ & Grill Restaurant three times including the one from yesterday. So, Charcoal BBQ & Grill Restaurant was pretty much like a stranger to me. It was pouring cats and dogs yesterday when both Kaylie and I arrived. The waiter offered to take my dripping umbrella to storage when I stepped into the restaurant. How nice! At least, I don’t have to bother about a dripping umbrella under the table until I am done with dinner. But you must remember to take them with you when you are leaving as the staffs wouldn’t be reminding you about your umbrella.

Kaylie asked if I had made any reservation, which I did not since it’s already the middle of the month. I thought the place wouldn’t be packed. And oh boy, how wrong was I? The place was indeed packed when we arrived but thankfully, there was a group of patrons who were just leaving when we arrived. So, the waiter seated us at the bar counter first while they cleared away the table.

DSC00799

Part of the restaurant from where we were seated in the dining area

DSC00798

You must be wondering what’s so special about this picture that I even took the decency to snap a picture of it. Hopefully, you’ll be able to identify it by now. But if you have not, let me be the guest to tell you. LOL! Did you notice that Charcoal BBQ & Grill Restaurant was selling this bottle of Volvic mineral water for B$6! That’s an outrageous price, I would say. Who would wanna have a bottle of Volvic when they can get free warm water if requested?

DSC00802

Notice that there are two bowls of this nacho lookalike thingy? Kaylie did not know that we will be given a complimentary bowl of this nacho lookalike thingy so she ordered a bowl to share. So, we ended up having two bowls in the end. It’s basically home made deep fried wanton skin. It’s pretty addictive as it comes in a salty and spicy flavor.

DSC00801

Nachos? | B$2.00

DSC00806

Cafe Latte | B$5.00

DSC00809

Peppermint Tea | B$4.00

As I am still not fully recovered from my cough yet, I decided to order myself a cup of Peppermint Tea. I was almost tempted to go for their Cafe Aulait but Ing sort of complained that I still drink coffee albeit being coughing non stop all day long.

DSC00805

Honey Wings | B$6.90

My favorite appetizer to date would be Calamari Rings but Kaylie is allergic towards seafood. So, I ordered this Honey Wings to share with her. I actually wanted to try their Spicy Buffalo Wings but Kaylie couldn’t tolerate much spicy food either. So there goes. We both think their Honey Wings were overcooked as the meat was pretty hard and dry to us. The accompanying honey sauce was good though but just slightly overly sweet for my liking.

DSC00812

Macaroni Carbonara With Beef Cutlets | B$12.90

Kaylie’s choice of main course for yesterday dinner. She personally finds the carbonara sauce to be overly creamy and the macaroni looks big! I don’t usually order macaroni because I don’t really like them over other choices of pasta. But she did mentioned that the beef was nicely done. B$12.90 seems reasonably priced to me based on the portion and the size of the beef cutlets, don’t you think so?

DSC00813

Creamy Pesto Linguine With Smoked Salmon | B$13.90

The smoked salmon was what I am after actually after seeing a food post on Cecimissy about Charcoal BBQ & Grill Restaurant. The portion was super generous as I think there were more than 5 slices of big fat juicy smoked salmon. The linguine was cooked al dente and the creamy pesto was flavorful but I find it to be tad bit oily for my liking and I only managed to finish like three quarter of the pasta before leaving it aside.

But I made sure of finishing the smoked salmon. They are not cheap, you know? LOL! The Garlic Bread were good though. Smoked salmon tasted pretty salty to me so I am gonna go for lamb cutlets next time round since it’s about the same price, if I am not wrong.

Charcoal BBQ & Grill Restaurant
LeGallery Suites Hotel,
KM2.5, Jalan Tutong,
Crown Princess Seri Complex, BA1779,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2221171

Leave a Reply

