Review: Shiseido Ibuki Gentle Cleanser

For those of you who had been an avid user of Shiseido, I am pretty sure that you had known that Shiseido launched a new range – Ibuki couple of months ago. I only got to know about Ibuki when Shiseido sent me a promotion leaflet introducing their new range. At the same time, I was also given a redemption coupon to redeem some trial size Ibuki range of products from the nearest Shiseido counter, which I forgot to bring it with me when I went down to Miri last September.

And since Sister asked me to get her a bottle of Shiseido Multi-Defense Protector SPF50 PA+++, I decided to get myself a bottle of Shiseido Ibuki Gentle Cleanser as well since I was hooked with the scent of Ibuki range of products.

DSC00614

Shiseido Ibuki Gentle Cleanser came with a lovely flowery scent, at least that’s how it smelled like to me. LOL! But for those of you who doesn’t like strongly scented skincare products, I would advise you to stay away from this facial cleanser as the fragrance may be too overpowering for you. The texture of the cleanser is creamy and it could work up a rich and creamy lather, hence making the application extremely smooth and easy.

I don’t usually go for facial cleanser that comes in the form of paste as they usually leave my skin feeling all tight and dry after use. But this facial cleanser was good enough for my liking. It left my skin feeling all soft and smooth after use and also leaving it looking squeaky clean at the same time. Have you tried Shiseido Ibuki Gentle Cleanser? What’s do you think? Do comment!

So, here’s what I think of Shiseido Ibuki Gentle Cleanser in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Very gentle on the skin, doesn’t strip skin moisture.
2. Lovely flowery scent.
3. Skin looked squeaky clean, soft and smooth after use.
4. Can work up a rich and creamy lather.

Cons:
1. May be overly scented for those who doesn’t like strongly scent skincare products.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

Price: RM120 (East Malaysia)

Repurchase? Quite likely!

12 thoughts on “Review: Shiseido Ibuki Gentle Cleanser

    1. Hi there! It’s been a while since I last seen you around. xD

      Hmm … I couldn’t really vouch whether it’s good with removing makeup as it’s advisable to remove makeup with a proper makeup remover rather than a facial cleanser alone.

      I think it cleanses my face well enough. I used BB Cream yesterday and it seems to remove the traces quite well though I used Shiseido Senka Perfect Oil beforehand.

      I wouldn’t recommend to only use facial cleanser to remove makeup as some makeup could only be dissolved with cleansing oil.

      1. I know, I disappeared for over a year, but I miss it all!

        I know I should use cleansing oil first but a lot of times I get lazy. It’s just so easy to hop in the shower with a cleanser that removes makeup, too.

      2. Does that mean you are returning to blogsphere for good? I missed reading your blog!

        Yeah, I understand the feeling of wanting to have a facial cleanser which could remove all makeup without the use of makeup remover. But whenever I got lazy with double cleansing, I would just use Bioderma Sensibio. At least, it’s not as tedious as using a cleansing oil. Have you ever tried Bioderma?

  1. Hm. I can’t reply to your last message. That’s odd.

    I do miss blogging, but I would have to go through my blog and clean it up first. I am still not sure if I want my blog to be found by potential employers.

    I have never tried the Bioderma Sensibio but I just saw it in a video yesterday! I really want to try it, but it costs over $30 CAD for me to order online. I think that’s about RM92. Do you live in Malaysia? How much does it cost there?

    1. I can’t reply to your last comment either, hence the reply to your first comment. xD Maybe there’s something wrong with this WordPress template.

      Hmm .. Food and skincare products seem to be the safest topics. As long as they don’t involve your personal life, I don’t see there’s any problem to it.

      I am a Malaysian by nationality but I don’t live in Malaysia. I am living in Brunei right now. I bought Bioderma on my last trip to Singapore. I think a bottle of 250ml costs me less than S$30, which is about RM72 based on the current currency exchange.

      There is no Bioderma in Malaysia or Brunei for the time being. The nearest is in Singapore or Hong Kong. I could always order them from COSME-DE.COM at a reasonable pricing but getting through custom in Brunei a pain in the ass.

      Skincare products have to go through pharmacy at the post office which is only operating on every Monday and Wednesday (not including Public Holiday). If the product is sold in Brunei, then it’s easier to get through pharmacy.

      But if it’s not sold in Brunei, I think the products are very likely to be confiscated. And we are liable to a custom tax fee of 5% of the total bill, which is not a lot actually. But if the parcel doesn’t come with an invoice, the officer-in-charge may charge based on their pricing guidelines.

      1. Ah, I was just asking because the currency you post for a lot of your reviews say RM.

        Your post office only opens two days of the week? So does that mean you only get mail twice a week?

        Sounds like it’s very difficult for you to get products unless you travel. It’s a bit too far for me to do that, though. We should both just move to Hong Kong or something.

    2. Our local post office here in Brunei opens five days a week, closing on every Friday and Sunday. But funnily enough, the pharmacy counter at the post office is only open on every Monday and Wednesday. No idea why but that’s what I was being told though.

      The currency in price depends on where I bought the product from. Let say if I bought it from Malaysia, I’ll use RM. If it’s from Brunei, then it’s in B$. LOL! So, that’s why you may see various currencies for the pricing of the skincare products on my blog. So far, I have used about 6 currencies. LOL!

      I think it’s actually easier for you to get skincare products compared to me. At least, the local Canadian post offices don’t much that much restrictions compared to the one in Brunei. Not necessarily have to move to Hong Kong actually, Singapore will do. xD But of course, skincare products in HK are a lot cheaper and a lot more selections. Have you been going back to HK recently?

      I normally stock up my skincare products when I go Malaysia or Singapore. I have friends going Malaysia or Singapore most of the time. So, I usually ask them to carry some back for me. Or I buy some sample products from a Malaysia website and have them posted over to my friend’s workplace in Malaysia and I’ll collect them from her when we meet up. Sounds troublesome but that’s all I can do for the time being. LOL!

      1. The things we do for our skincare fix! No, I have only been to Hong Kong a few times and I have no plans to return any time soon. At least I have the option to order online, even if it is more expensive. Luckily, it seems that the Asian malls here are starting to stock products from Asia, as well. I just hate paying 13% tax on everything I buy.

    3. Yeah! 13% is a lot compared to 5% of mine here. I see that Canada has a store or mall which sells various Korean brands of skincare products. A blogger reviewed about the place, I think.

      So, are there any new skincare product which you had been using lately?

Leave a Reply

