Review: Kose Sekkisei Cream

Finally booked an appointment for Yin Yang with Thann Sanctuary Spa for this coming Sunday. I was supposed to get my Touch Of Zen treatment from Zen Spa last Tuesday evening. But unfortunately, my time of the month came at the very perfect timing. I was left with no choice but to cancel it. My usual masseur at Thann Sanctuary Spa – Mary Anne had left for good so I had to find myself another masseur who is as good as her or perhaps better. I am getting Linda this time so hopefully she’ll be as good as Mary Anne.

I actually planned to have dinner outside yesterday evening after work but got lazy in the end because I was knackered after having to leave for work as early as 7:00a.m. in the morning when I usually leave around 9:30a.m. So, there wouldn’t be any food review until Saturday, I guess. Made arrangement to meet up with Kaylie at The Mall tomorrow evening, that’s if the weather permits. LOL!

Anyways, here’s a skincare product review for today’s blog entry – Kose Sekkisei Cream.

DSC00640

DSC00642

This is an extremely tiny pot of Kose Sekkisei Cream which I got from Hermo.my couple of months ago along side with my purchase of facial sheet masks. The reason why I got myself a sample size of Kose Sekkisei Cream was because I am not sure if it’s gonna be good on my skin.

I was being told that it’s mandatory to have a night cream in evening skincare routine. It helps in moisturize and hydrate our skin when we sleep at night. The reason why I rarely invest on a night cream was because night cream are usually too rich and oily in texture for my skin to fully absorb. Worst case scenario, I woke up with breakouts.

DSC00644

Capsule-based formula provides long lasting nourishment and whitening effects while controlling melanin generation.

Fresh yoghurty texture prevents dehydration and skin roughness, with no sticky after-feel.

Contains abundant Korean Ginseng and Cordyceps Sinesis extracts to enhance skin constitution. Also fortified with extract of Chinese Pearl Barley, Angelica and Melothria Heterophylla for highly translucent skin.

Instead of the usual creamy and rich texture that we often get for night cream, Kose Sekkisei Cream on the other hand is a gel based night cream. It’s not completely oil-free. It comes with certain amount of oil content but it’s texture is still gel based. Albeit it claimed that there will be no sticky after-feel, I could still feel the slightest sticky and oiliness on my fingers after application. And it made my skin looking shiny after application. It doesn’t give the kind of smooth finishing that I was hoping for.

Kose Sekkisei Cream came with a strong herbal scent compared to Kose Sekkisei Emulsion. It has a pretty strong fragrance level of Angelica in my opinion. I am not a huge fan of Angelica hence I could pick out the scent very quickly. The good thing about Kose Sekkisei Cream is that it doesn’t break out on my sensitive skin albeit it came with a certain level of oil ingredient in it. It did made my skin looking moisturized and hydrated the next morning but what I do not like was that it made my skin looking oily after hours of application.

So, here’s what I think of Kose Sekkisei Cream in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Doesn’t breakout on my sensitive skin.
2. Doesn’t come with overly strong flowery fragrance but Angelica.
3. Gel based, not the usual rich and creamy texture.
4. Skin felt moisturized and hydrated the next morning.

Cons:
1. Fingers felt oily and wee bit sticky after application.
2. Doesn’t give the smooth finishing that I was hoping so.
3. Skin gets oily after hours of application.

Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Price: RM188 (East Malaysia)

Repurchase? Definitely not!

Leave a Reply

