Review: Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++

It’s Elsey’s wedding next month and majority friends of ours are going to Miri to attend her wedding apart from Andrea and Alan. Andrea was invited to another wedding in Singapore while Alan is going to Kota Kinabalu (KK) with his family. So, it was only down to Patrick, KinG, Ing and I. I have yet booked for hotel room. Planning to stay at Meritz Hotel this time round as I am not sharing the ride with KinG. He will be in Miri one day before me to attend another wedding of his friend while I’ll go down on Sunday morning instead and come back Bandar on Monday morning.

My current plan is to book Meritz Hotel and if I am lucky enough, I will be granted an early check-in. If not, I could just leave my luggage with the concierge and then head over to Starbucks Coffee for breakfast while waiting for Patrick and KinG for brunch in town. Anyways, I still have another few weeks to plan until Elsey’s wedding. So, no hurry or worry. LOL!

As some of you may have known, I rarely use BB Cream. As a matter of fact, I don’t even bother to buy one as I am more of a sunscreen person. The first BB Cream which I had tried previously was Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Multi-Targeted UV Shield BB Cream SPF30 PA++. I didn’t really like it because it dried up my skin after few hours of application. I was being told by Ing that you need to use sufficient amount of moisturizer under the BB Cream so that it doesn’t dry up your skin. The thing is, I applied plentiful amount of Laneige Water Bank Essence before Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Multi-Targeted UV Shield BB Cream SPF30 PA++ and it still dries up my skin.

DSC00937

Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++

I was being given this sample packet of Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++ when I bought my first bottle of Laneige Clear-C Effector. I wasn’t interested with BB Cream back then after my unsatisfied experience with Elizabeth Arden’s BB Cream. I almost forgot about it’s existence in my skincare stash drawer until I was doing some clearing the other night and I was thinking why not give it a shot? It might turn out differently.

???????????????????????????????

Instead of the usual white color packaging, Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++ came with a silver packaging for samples. As usual, Laneige BA are usually very generous with samples when you buy things from them. There was once when they gave me some sample sachets even when I did not buy anything from them but only asked about some of their products’ information.

DSC00940

I got Shade No. 2 this time round. As much as I knew, Laneige only released two shades for their BB Cream. Shade No. 01 comes with shimmering effect, if I am not wrong. I read it from some beauty blog the other day. I think it looks a bit weird as if you have you shimmering powder on your face, don’t you think so? If you are going to a party, it will look okay. But if it’s for daily use, I think it’s gonna be too much though.

The texture of the Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++ is much more creamier than Elizabeth Arden’s and it’s fragrance is a lot minimal compared to Elizabeth Arden’s as well. What I liked about this BB Cream is that it doesn’t dry up my skin even after hours of application and no touch up is necessary as well. Not sure if it applies to everybody. I don’t stay outdoor most of the time when I am at work so I am not prone to sweat anytime as I stay in an air-conditioned room all day long until the sun sets. LOL!

The first time when I used this Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++, I scooped too much onto my fingers and my skin tone ended up looking too artificial as if I had slabbed too much makeup foundation onto my face. So, I got careful with the dosage the second time round. It managed to cover up majority of my open pores marks on my nose but not on my cheeks as the sizes were too big. Hahaha … xD

Unfortunately, this BB Cream is gonna make your face look like there are two shades. If you don’t wanna end up looking like that, do apply some concealer around your eye areas so that it will look much more natural especially for those of you who has severe looking eye bags or dark circles. And since I never had severe looking eye bag or dark circle, I am never bothered to get myself a concealer. So, I would make sure that I spread the BB Cream evenly.

The BB Cream couldn’t be washed off with just normal tap water. So, be sure to use your usual makeup remover to remove them before you go to bed so that you don’t wake up with breakouts the next morning. This BB Cream may not be good enough for some of you as it doesn’t give as much coverage as a liquid foundation does. But it’s good enough for me since I don’t like heavy makeup.

So, here’s what I think of Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++ in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Doesn’t dry up my skin after hours of application.
2. Doesn’t have an overpowering scent.
3. Managed to cover up the pores on my nose but not the ones on the cheeks though.

Cons:
1. Two shades of skin tone if you do not apply concealer around the eye areas.
2. Couldn’t be easily washed off with just normal tap water.
3. Not suitable for those who wanted bigger coverage like liquid foundations.

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Price:  To be updated

Repurchase? Maybe

4 thoughts on “Review: Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++

  1. Ohh that must be a new sample packaging since mine is in the normal white color. I like the silver one 😀 Yes i hate that shimmering effect! It made my face too bling bling even i wore the appropriate amount. More suitable for events or parties lol. Plus it leaves my skin kinda dry after time. Although i have slathered on moisturizer earlier. I think i like Skin79 Hot Pink & Vital Orange bb creams. Yes they are my favs hehe.

    1. Have you tried the No. 1 shade of this Laneige Snow BB Cream? I once bought a liquid foundation from The Face Shop few years back and I think it came with shimmering effect too. I only used it once and God knows where it is now. LOL!

      BB Cream with shimmering effect is more suitable for events whereby there will be dim lighting. People usually use liquid foundation with these shimmering effects when they are going clubbing.

      Surprisingly enough, this Laneige Snow BB Cream doesn’t leave my skin as dry as the one from Elizabeth Arden’s. I like this BB Cream but I don’t like that it leaves my skin with two skin tones.

      And like what I said, I don’t use concealer around the eyes so it’s gonna take some time before I am able to spread them evenly on my skin.

      I have a friend who has been using Skin79 BB Cream and she said it was good. But it doesn’t come cheap either, isn’t it? Have you ever tried CC Cream?

  2. Two skin tones as in one is lighter than the another? Hmm i don’t experience it but then my face is a bit darker than my neck which has always been like that. No i have yet to try any CC cream. I noticed most of them are more expensive than BB creams. Plus i still have a lot of BB creams, have finish it up since i bought some of them from 2011 lol. I hope they’re not gonna expired soon. Yup the Skin79 BB creams are quite pricey. I bought the small ones though which are like $8. And it last me long 😀

    1. Two skin tones as in one looked smoother while the other is not. LOL! But still okay though as long as you try to spread them evenly. The contrast is usually around eye areas and my face.

      As long as you has never opened the packaging, it should be able to last three years from date of manufacture. But once it’s opened, it has to be used up in a year.

      There’s not much brand which have CC Cream, isn’t it? I only know Clinique has it, I think.

Leave a Reply

