Review: Laneige Sun Block Sensitive SPF30 PA++

I had been crazing over sunscreens lately as how I used to craze over facial sheet masks previously. Ever since I had finished up my bottle of Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++, I had been looking for something equivalent. I had even bought and tried both Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++ and Kose Sekkisei Sun Protector N SPF50+ PA+++, but unfortunately I don’t like them both as much as I did with Multi-Defense.

I had been given four sample sachets of Laneige Sunblock Sensitive SPF30 PA++ previously when I bought a bottle of Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence from Parkson, Miri. I am usually very skeptical towards the sunscreens from Laneige because they used to give me breakouts whenever I used them. Albeit it stated that the sunscreen was completely oil-free, but it still broke out on my skin quite seriously and they made my skin even more oilier than usual.

But surprisingly, this Laneige Sunblock Sensitive SPF30 PA++ changed my perception towards Laneige sunscreens to the extent that I even bought a whole tube for myself in the end. So, you could fairly guessed how much I loved this product.

DSC00843

Laneige Sun Block Sensitive SPF30 PA++

Instead of the small bottle packaging like the ones from Shiseido and Kose, this particular sunscreen comes in the packaging of a tube like Laneige version of BB Cream.

DSC00851

Extracted from Hermo.my:

The non-chemical sunscreen suitable for sensitive skin.

Minimize allergic reactions that may appear on sensitive skin.

A mild sunscreen with 10 FREE formula containing 6 herbs water – lavender, chamomile, lemon verbena and aloe to sooth your skin.

The silicone complex powder minimizes oiliness and excess shine.

DSC00853

It has a typical nozzle type for majority sunscreens and BB Cream in the market. With this type of nozzle, it’s easier for you to measure the dosage that you needed.

DSC008273

The texture of the sunscreen is very creamy unlike the other sunscreens which I had previously tried. The other sunscreens were more like very watery in consistency. Albeit it’s texture is creamy, it doesn’t leave a white casting as long as you spread them evenly. The sunscreen might get “stuck” in some of your big sized open pores, so make sure that you spread them evenly especially around areas of open pores.

The sunscreen has a very typical scent of Laneige but not as strong as some of their range of skincare products. The scent is much more minimal compared to Laneige Snow BB Cream SPF41 PA++. It took me slightly longer to spread the sunscreen evenly on my skin compared to the watery version of other sunscreens which I had previously used. But then I liked the finishing, it’s pretty matte and smooth in my opinion. And best of all, it doesn’t break out on my sensitive skin like how the previous Laneige Sun Block Oil Free SPF35 PA++ did to my skin.

But unfortunately, I find it to be a little bit hard to wash off with household hand soap after application of this sunscreen on my face. It felt as if there is a layer of film left on my fingers. So, cleansing your face with a makeup remover or cleansing oil is mandatory if you don’t wanna wake up with a face full of breakouts the next morning.

So, here’s what I think of Laneige Sun Block Sensitive SPF30 PA++ in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Minimal scent.
2. Creamy texture but easily spread.
3. Smooth and matte finishing.
4. Doesn’t leave skin looking greasy.
5. Able to control the excess sebum secretion.
6. Doesn’t break out on my sensitive skin.
7. Doesn’t leave white casting if you spread them evenly.

Cons:
1. Hard to wash off with household hand soap after application.

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Price: B$39.90

Repurchase? Yeah!

6 thoughts on “Review: Laneige Sun Block Sensitive SPF30 PA++

  1. The description of this Laneige sunscreen sounds awfully like the Senka Mineral Pure UV SPF27 PA++. But this Laneige one from your description sounds much better than the Senka one which leaves my face really shiny even when I apply a small amount.

    Not many SPF30 sunscreens are water resistant like this one though. But I’m wary about using sebum, sweat and water resistant sunscreens on a daily basis, especially those Biore ones. They are hard to remove even with C.O n high chance of breakouts.

    I guess this Laneige sunscreen is better than the Shiseido Mild one u reviewed a few months ago ?

    1. Hmm .. I have never tried the Senka sunscreen which you mentioned above so I couldn’t be sure how similar they are. Among all the sunscreens which I had tried previously, I think this is by far the best when it comes to finishing. Very smooth and matte.

      So far, water resistant sunscreens are still okay on my skin. But not sure about long term though. As long as you are hardworking enough with double cleansing before you go to bed, I am sure they will turn out fine.

      I think I liked both sunscreens, Laneige and Shiseido. What I liked about this Laneige sunscreen is the matte and smooth finishing without making your face looking all greasy. I liked Multi-Defense for it’s sun protection coverage. But of course, Laneige one is a lot cheaper than Shiseido.

    2. Yeah! But of course, this sunscreen doesn’t leave the face staying matte all day long. It did make my face looking oily a couple of hours later. But it’s normal since I have an oily combination skin.

  2. Thanks for the review. I previously bought the laneige white plus renew sun block and dang it made my skin hideosly oily and cligged ny pores. Should havebought the sensitive straight because even though my skin is not sensitive, most sunscreen break me out

    1. I think it is probably the oil which breaks your skin out. I had tried a few brands of sunscreens but none was as good as the ones from Shiseido. Have you tried the sunscreen from Shiseido?

Leave a Reply

