Baking #2: Sponge Cake

I had been meaning to bake Japanese Light Cheesecake since last Friday evening but as usual, laziness got the better out of me. LOL! I had bought all the ingredients since last week and a block of Philadelphia Cream Cheese costs me B$4.50. I am not sure if it’s gonna be a success so I decided to bake a simpler cake yesterday evening – Sponge Cake. If I could’t ace baking a simple Sponge Cake, I think I could just throw my block of Philadelphia Cream Cheese out of the window. LOL!

A colleague of mine shared with me her simple version of Sponge Cake recipe which she extracted from a baking recipe book. I had tried baking Sponge Cake in the past but they all turned out to be extremely hard and almost inedible. And I realized that there’s actually a special kind of baking flour for sponge cake!

So, I am gonna share with you here the recipe which I used yesterday to bake Sponge Cake yesterday evening. The ingredients are very minimal and easy to obtain as well.

Ingredients A

  • 250g Sponge Mix Flour (sieved)
  • 60g Water
  • 240g (approximately 4 nos) eggs

Ingredient B

  • 60g Cooking Oil (I used Canola Oil)

DSC01214

The reason why I sieved the Sponge Flour Mix was because the flour mix contained sugar and it will be extremely sweet in the end. By sieving, you can reduce the amount of sugar in the batter when baked. It’s not much but a lot better compared to the original amount of sugar in the flour mix.

DSC01216

Pour Ingredients A into a large bowl and started mixing them with an electric mixer until they are light and fluffy. I used an electric handheld mixer so it took me a long time to get the desirable texture.

DSC01218

This is what I got in the end. According to the recipe book, it should be very light and fluffy but I got tired of holding the electric mixer so I settled with this. LOL!

DSC01219

Pour in Ingredient B, which is the cooking oil into the batter and mix them until well combined.

DSC01220

I poured some of the batter into muffin cups so that it’s easy for me to bring to work to share with my colleagues. Put them into the oven and bake at 180 degree Celsius for approximately 30 to 35 minutes.

DSC01227

Tadah!

2 thoughts on “Baking #2: Sponge Cake

Leave a Reply

