Review: Kose Sekkisei Day Essence SPF25 PA+

I had not been trying out new facial sheet mask lately hence here I am with a product review for Kose Sekkisei Essence SPF25 PA+. I haven’t been dining outside for the past few days as I had been busy with my latest hobby – baking.

Speaking of baking, I Google-d for several recipes for cheesecakes and I came across this Hokkaido Light Cheesecake. Then I was wondering what’s the difference between this Hokkaido and Japanese Light Cheesecake. I think they are both the same. Just that the recipe that I obtained for Japanese Light Cheesecake came with a layer of sponge cake as the base. But I think I am gonna try baking Japanese Cotton Cheesecake next and hopefully it will be a success.

Anyways, let’s not talk about cheesecake anymore and start with what I wanna write about today – Kose Sekkisei Day Essence SPF25 PA+.

DSC01103

I got this from Hermo.my couple of months ago along with my other purchases of Kose products. This is not the product which I wanted in the first place but Hermo.my ran out of stock for the ones that I wanted. Hence, they suggested if I wanted to substitute the non-available ones with Kose Sekkisei Day Essence SPF25+, Kose Sekkisei Emulsion or Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash or wait till the next batch of stocks arrive. I decided not to wait and chose both Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash and this.

DSC01099

This product comes in extremely handy when I am feeling lazy to go through my usual full morning skincare routine before I leave for work. If I opted this into my morning skincare routine, I would ditch both moisturizer and sunscreen. But of course, the protection coverage for this is not as high as compared to a normal sunscreen but lazy days don’t come very often nowadays.

The texture of this product is slightly thicker than Kose Sekkisei Emulsion. It looked creamy but it doesn’t feel the least creamy when you applied it onto your face. It smelled very herbal, just like other range of Kose Sekkisei but with quite a powerful scent of Angelica to me. Still bearable though I don’t like it. There’s no stinging sensation during application and best of all, it doesn’t break out on my sensitive skin.

But what I disliked about this product is that it made my face looking all wet after application though it felt dry when you touched it. The website recommended two to three pumps but it already made my face looking all wet with just one pump. I couldn’t imagine how my face would looked like if I followed the recommended dosage. LOL!

If you are wondering if this product is good enough for whitening/brightening effect, I am sorry to say that I couldn’t vouch for it as I only tried a sample size product instead of a full size product. But all I can say is that I am quite impressed with Kose Sekkisei for whitening/brightening effect more than Shiseido White Lucent despite I used to be an avid Shiseido user in the past.

Anyways, here’s what I think of Kose Sekkisei Day Essence SPF25 PA+ in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Doesn’t sting.
2. No breakout.
3. Comes with protection coverage albeit SPF25 only.

Cons:
1. Face looked wet after application.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

Price: RM180 (East Malaysia)

Repurchase? Don’t think so

Leave a Reply

