Baking #5: 8″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake

Chinese New Year is just around the corner. And I will be going on a vacation in less than two weeks time. *excited* Anyways, I decided to come home early yesterday afternoon after my pedicure session at Nails&Wax. Did not even go for window shopping like I always did. Came home and started baking Japanese Cotton Cheesecake when the Philadelphia Cream Cheese which I removed from the fridge had slightly softened.

For those of you who like cheesecake, this is something you can try. It’s soft, spongy and tastes rich at the same time but doesn’t make you go sick of the cheesy taste over time.

DSC02023

I adapted the recipe from The Little Teochew and here’s the link to her recipe. Just follow whatever she instructed in her recipe guideline and you can never go wrong. Don’t be skimp and over generous with your ingredients. AND NO SHORTCUTS! I tried that before and my cakes failed miserably. Lesson learnt. LOL!

Ingredients:

  • 140g fine granulated sugar
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 6 egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 50g butter
  • 250g cream cheese
  • 100ml fresh milk
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice (I omitted this)
  • 60g cake flour
  • 20g corn flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Melt cream cheese, milk and butter over a double boiler. When they are completely melted or dissolved, remove them from the heat and set aside. I used the time to line my baking tin with parchment. And by the time I am done lining the baking tin, the melted cream cheese mixture had cooled down a little.
  2. Fold in cake flour, corn flour, egg yolks, lemon juice and salt. I mixed all the dry ingredients together and sifted them before pouring them over the mixture. Please do not over fold the flour as they will make your cheesecake hard when baked. Then followed by your egg yolks and lemon juice. I poured in three egg yolks each time instead of all 6 of them in one go.
  3. When you are done with your cream cheese mixture, whisk the egg whites and cream of tartar until they looked foamy. Add in the granulated sugar little by little and continue whisking until you see soft peak forming.
  4. Fold in the egg whites into the cream cheese mixture. I scooped half of the egg white mixture and folded until I see no white streak before pouring the remaining egg white mixture into the cream cheese mixture.
  5. Pour your cream cheese batter into a 8 inches baking tin lined with baking parchment. You may want to wrap your baking tin with aluminium foil if you are using a springform cake pan or a removable bottom cake pan like mine.
  6. Bake your cheesecake with 160 degree Celsius for an hour and 10 minutes or until cooked in water bath. You can use the water that you had previously used as double boiler for your cream cheese.
  7. In order to prevent the cake from collapsing, do not remove the cake from the oven immediately when cooked. Leave it in the oven with the door ajar for about an hour before removing. The cake will “shrink” in size nicely but it doesn’t collapse.

DSC02027

This is the how texture of the cake looked like the next morning. It’s soft, moist and spongy!

photo

I posted the picture of my Japanese Cotton Cheesecake a while after I had removed it from the oven. The response was positive. Guess that I had succeeded my Japanese Cotton Cheesecake. Even my colleagues said they were good when tasted.

4 thoughts on “Baking #5: 8″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake

  1. This looks great but I’m probably not going to try it because I’m so bad at folding ingredients haha. I always feel like it’s not mixed enough and never know when to stop!

    1. I used to have the same perception like yours. I couldn’t fold the flour and ingredients previously but I had been watching lots of baking videos from YouTube and now I am starting to get the hang of folding.

      When it comes to folding flour, you can stop immediately when you don’t see flour lump anymore. And no sight of white streak when folding egg whites.

      You can refer to this blog. She had quite a few blog entries with videos whereby the recipe requires folding both flour and egg whites. I learnt a lot from her.

      Once you get the hang of it, baking is easy but it’s the ingredients which are costly. Especially when it comes to baking cheesecakes. Cream cheese is not cheap here in Brunei. Thank goodness that I don’t live in Malaysia or else I’ll go broke baking cheesecakes! LOL!

  2. Nyum it looks really good. Lightweight to the touch but moist-y on the inside :9 I still prefer regular cheese cake though lol. Happy advance CNY to you! Gong Xi Fa Cai 😀 Where’s my angpow? Haha jk. Are you going to Thailand right? Have fun & take care 🙂

    1. Regular cheesecake? You meant something like New York Cheesecake? Hmm .. That is really really rich and it makes you go sick for having too much in the end.

      Thanks for the early greeting! I am not married yet so I couldn’t give you any angpow yet. LOL!

      Yeah … Initial plan was to go Thailand but we cancelled the trip due to the ongoing riots in Bangkok right now.

      Changed to KL in the end. Paid so much for the cancellation fee and stuffs, both hotels and tickets. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

