Baking #6: Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake

Some of you may have known that I had been obsessed with baking lately. Baking takes most of my spare time nowadays. Sister is home bound on the day after tomorrow so I will be baking Japanese Cotton Cheesecake tomorrow evening after work to welcome her return. Japanese Cotton Cheesecake is best consumed when left overnight in room temperature.

A colleague of mine once told me that it’s best consumed after refrigerated. I preferred mine non-refrigerated. But well, different people has different preference when it comes to how they consume their food. I left my Japanese Cotton Cheesecake in room temperature for about three days and it’s still as as fresh as freshly baked.

DSC02047

As you can see from my today’s headline, my latest adventure lately is Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake adapted from Bakericious. And here’s the link to her recipe if you are interested.

Ingredients:

Cocoa Batter

  • 150g chocolate (chopped or cubed)
  • 90ml of water
  • 100g of corn oil
  • 25g of cocoa powder
  • 65g of cake flour
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 115g egg yolks (I used 7 egg yolks)

Egg White Batter

  • 255g egg whites (I used 7 egg whites)
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar
  • 100g caster sugar
  • a pinch of salt (I omitted this as I forgot about it)

Directions:

  1. Melt the chocolate over a double boiler. Remove from heat when they had completely melted. I waited for approximately a minute after removing it from heat before I started folding in the corn oil and followed by the water and egg yolks.
  2. Combine cake flour, cocoa powder and bicarbonate of soda together and sift them into your cocoa batter in two portions. Fold them until they are all well combined and you see no flour lump in your batter.
  3. Whisk your egg whites with cream of tartar until they are frothy before adding in the caster sugar slowly. Remember to whisk them until a soft peak is formed. The one important thing that one should remember when whisking egg whites is that your mixing bowl must be clean and free from grease or else the entire egg whites couldn’t stiff up.
  4. Fold the egg whites batter into your cocoa batter in three portions so that they will all be evenly mixed. And be careful not to deflate your batter.
  5. When you are done mixing the egg whites batter into your cocoa batter, give your mixing bowl a few hard bangs on your table to get rid of the big bubbles trapped inside the batter.
  6. Then pour your batter into a 23 – 25cm chiffon cake pan but I used a 21cm chiffon cake pan instead. Run a chopstick at the side of the chiffon cake tin to get rid of the bubbles trapped at the side of the cake. Bake with 175 degrees Celsius on lower rack for about 45 minutes or until cooked.
  7. I baked the cake with 175 degree Celsius for the first 15 minutes and used a baking tray to block the oven top heat for about 20 minutes. Remove the baking tray 20 minutes later and bake the cake for another 10 minutes.

I adapted the method of baking chiffon cake from KitchenTigress. Here’s the video to her tutorial if you are interested. I liked the way she made her videos. They were all very informative and easy to understand.

DSC02042

The process of baking a chiffon cake is slightly more tedious than a normal cake. As a matter of fact, I think it’s more tedious than baking Japanese Cotton Cheesecake because you have to constantly watch the heat so that it doesn’t burn your cake. And thankfully, my Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon was a success yesterday albeit being slightly bitter as I used 62% dark chocolate. Remember to invert the cake immediately for at least 2 hours before you could unmould it.

DSC02048

This was how my Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake looked like when sliced. xD

Leave a Reply

