Baking #7: Orange Chiffon Cake (21cm)

I baked Orange Chiffon Cake for my second attempt on chiffon cake. My first attempt on chiffon cake was Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake which I baked like few weeks ago before Chinese New Year. It was pretty well received among my colleagues as they like dark chocolate and they said my Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake was bitter enough. I personally find it to be overly bitter for my liking but it was good to know that they liked my cake! One of them even asked for the recipe.

I adapted this recipe of Orange Chiffon Cake from KitchenTigress. I followed each and every instructions listed on her blog entry but there was just one step which I couldn’t manage well. It was required for the egg yolk batter mixed with corn oil and to be whisked as thick as mayonnaise. But no matter how long I whisked the batter, it just wouldn’t go as thick as mayonnaise. Hence, I decided to give up and stick with the liquid consistency. The reason why I chose to stop whisking at that point was that over whisking could lead to the cake being dry and hard when baked. And you do not want that.

This is the link to her recipe on her blog and she included a video tutorial as well. I loved her video tutorials as they were very informative and specific.

DSC03168

Orange Chiffon Cake

Ingredients:

  • 60g egg yolks
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 80g corn oil
  • 65g freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 15g finely grated orange zest
  • 100g cake flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda (sifted with the cake flour)
  • 1/3 salt
  • 180g egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar
  • 50g caster sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degree Celsius.
  2. Beat both egg yolks and 50g of caster sugar until thick and pale. Add in corn oil and whisk till it turned thick like mayonnaise.
  3. Add in orange juice and mix until evenly combined.
  4. Sift in both cake flour and baking soda for the second time. Mix in both salt and finely grated orange zest. Mix all the dry ingredients until just even. Do not overmix as it will make the cake go hard and dry when baked.
  5. Beat the egg whites until frothy before adding the cream of tartar. Your balloon whisk or electric mixer must be clean from any grease or else your egg whites wouldn’t stiff up.
  6. Gradually add in the 50g of caster sugar and continue whisking until you see firm peaks forming.
  7. Fold in the egg whites batter into the egg yolks batter in three batches and be careful not to deflate the batter.
  8. Scrape down the sides thoroughly with a spatula.
  9. Bang bowl against worktop for about 2 to 3 times to remove the air bubbles trapped inside the batter.
  10. Pour the batter into a 21cm loose bottom chiffon pan. Run a chopstick around the side of the chiffon pan to remove the air bubbles trapped at the side.
  11. Knock the chiffon pan against worktop for another 2 to 3 times to remove big bubbles trapped inside the batter.
  12. Bake on the bottom shelf and reduce the heat to 180 degree Celsius when baking.
  13. Place a baking tray on the top shelf after the first 20 minutes of baking and bake for another 20 to 25 minutes.
  14. Your chiffon cake is ready if it sprung back when pressed.
  15. Invert the cake on worktop for at least 2 hours or until completely cool before you unmould it.

DSC03165
This was how I inverted my Orange Chiffon Cake this time. No more drinking cup to hold the chiffon pan like how I did it previously. LOL!

DSC03172

My result this time was not as good as my previous attempt with Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake. It did not rise high enough. It did rise while baking but it collapsed shortly after. Guess that I had either deflated the batter when folding the egg whites batter or I missed something.

Texture wise, it’s very spongy and soft. The tangy taste was pretty strong and it wasn’t sweet either. I think I am gonna try Banana Chiffon Cake next.

Leave a Reply

