My Latest Skincare Regime #3

It’s been more than half a year since I last updated on my skincare regime. Well, lots had changed since my last updated skincare regime. And I guess it’s time for me to update you with my current one which worked well with my current skin condition. I will briefly explain each and everyone of them following by the order of how and when I use them.

Both my day and evening skincare routine were of not much difference from each other. The only difference was that I incorporated cleansing oil as part of the facial cleansing during the evening.

DSC03159

Nature Republic Green Tea Cleansing Oil | RM57.90

Bought this on my previous holiday trip to Kuala Lumpur (KL) from a Nature Republic branch at Berjaya Times Square. Albeit I had quite a stash of cleansing oils back at home, my addiction towards cleansing oils never seems to die. LOL! I bought this as I am a huge fan of skincare products that came with the scent of green tea. This is one good cleansing oil.

It’s texture was light and emulsifying ability was good as well. It doesn’t come with an overpowering scent of green tea but you could smell it when applied onto your face. It leaves my skin soft, smooth and clean. Best of all, it doesn’t cloud eye vision.

DSC02931

Yves Rocher Hydra Vegetal Refreshing Gel Cleanser | RM49

Bought this as I had read a lot of positive reviews about this brand. It’s an inexpensive brand and yet effective. But the downside is that it couldn’t be found in Singapore but certain malls in Malaysia only. Thankfully, I could always order via ZALORA and have it posted to my doorstep without having to fly all the way to KL just for Yves Rocher skincare products.

If you have a sensitive skin, perhaps this product could be of good use for you as it doesn’t produce as much foam and bubbles like some other cleansers did when you massage them against your skin with water. It has a pure refreshing scent which I like.

DSC03244

Kose Sekkisei Lotion | RM255

I am sure majority of you had seen this popping up in multiple skincare blog entries of mine. I am proud to say that Kose Sekkisei Lotion had became my holy grail toner. I couldn’t find any other toner which works as well as this, not even my previous Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Balancing Softener. I am currently on my third bottle of their full size and coming to the fourth in a matter of a month time.

Some of you may not like the alcohol content in the product but it worked pretty well on my skin. It was able to smooth my skin complexion and my skin had tone down quite a few shades ever since I started using it like a year ago?

DSC00107

Artistry Youth Xtend Enriching Eye Cream | RM128

To be honest, I liked this eye cream well enough compared to some of the others which I had used. At least, I was able to see the results it promised. I started using this eye cream about four months ago and I still had half a tub of it. It’s really money and value saving. It’s a lot cheaper compared to some of the other counter brands of eye creams.

I was complaining about the fine lines around my eyes to Sister six months ago and asked what’s the current bestselling eye cream for fine lines and wrinkles. She suggested both Lancome and Estee Lauder. However, I personally think that both of these two ingredients’ may be too potent for my for my current age as well as my skin condition.

So, I texted Ing and asked if she has a good eye cream to recommend me. She suggested me trying Artistry Youth Xtend Enriching Eye Cream. At first, I was feeling dubious about the product as the price is half price cheaper compared to the other brands of eye creams. It took me about a month before I was convinced and sold by the product. Why did it take a month?

On the first day when I tried the eye cream, I hated the texture. It was too oily. Told Ing about it and she suggested me lowering down the dosage as she used to experience the same problem as well. I decided to take her advise and lowered the dosage. It wasn’t as oily as before. And two to three months later, I could see that the fine lines around my left eye had reduced a lot.

DSC03179

Artistry Time Defiance Skin Refinishing Lotion | RM155

I had been using this for about a month and I am pleased with the results. The main purpose of this product is to repair your skin condition. How it repairs, I couldn’t be very sure. You’ll use it both day and night after your usual toner. It has a slightly thick texture but it makes your skin looking matte and smooth after application.

DSC03188

Artistry Ideal Radiance Illuminating Essence | RM185

After finishing my previous bottle of Laneige White Plus Renew Original Essence, I decided to get something new than the sticking with the old one. I had heard that this product was pretty good in terms of toning down the skin shade. According to Ing, this is even better if you use it with Artistry Ideal Radiance Illuminating Moisturizer. Artistry Ideal Radiance is the improved version of the previous Artistry Pure White.

DSC03241

Shiseido Pureness Matifying Moisturizer Oil-Free | B$45

Bought this moisturizer few months ago when my Laneige Water Bank Essence was running low. I liked the texture as it’s not heavy and it gets absorbed onto my skin real quick without leaving it looking shiny or oily. I only use this during the day time before my usual sunscreen. But I do use this occasionally as my night moisturizer when I feel that my skin couldn’t take in too much oil.

DSC00897

Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Gentle Hydrating Cream Dry | B$85

I had been using this regularly for the past two months as my evening moisturizer. I was being told to use a moisturizer which was richer in texture compared to my day moisturizer. As a matter of fact, this moisturizer could be used day or night. Albeit I am having a combination oily, this moisturizer works well on my skin. It doesn’t give me hell of a breakout. It smells like cucumber extract even though there was no cucumber extract in the ingredient list.

DSC00626

Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++ | RM135

I know my previous review on this product hadn’t been as great as my review on Shiseido Multi-Defense UV Protector SPF50 PA+++ but I am starting to like it. The texture of Perfect UV Protector is not as thick as Multi-Defense UV Protector but it doesn’t look so greasy on my skin after application anymore as compared to before. I had tried to lower down the dosage and it works extremely well on my skin. The scent is not as strong as Multi-Defense UV Protector and both did not leave white casting as well.

DSC03237

Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Good Morning Retexturing Primer | B$65

I am currently on my second bottle of this product. The first time when I tried it, I almost gave up using it completely until some time later when I decided to give it a second chance. And oh boy, I was completely in love with it. I always tend to get on the same mistake – over dosage.

A colleague of mine has been using the same product as well and she said this is one good product especially for us who stay in an air-conditioned room for a long time every day. I liked it that it’s able to keep my skin looking matte for quite some time before it started to get oily. According to the BA at Elizabeth Arden, this product can also be use on top of your makeup so that they aren’t easily smudged.

Day Routine:
Yves Rocher Hydra Vegetal Refreshing Gel Cleanser
Kose Sekkisei Lotion
Artistry Youth Xtend Enriching Eye Cream
Artistry Time Defiance Skin Refinishing Lotion
Artistry Ideal Radiance Illuminating Essence
Shiseido Pureness Matifying Moisturizer Oil-Free
Shiseido Perfect UV Protector SPF50+ PA+++
Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Good Morning Retexturing Primer

Evening Routine:
Nature Republic Green Tea Cleansing Oil
Yves Rocher Hydra Vegetal Refreshing Gel Cleanser
Kose Sekkisei Lotion
Artistry Youth Xtend Enriching Eye Cream
Artistry Time Defiance Skin Refinishing Lotion
Artistry Ideal Radiance Illuminating Essence
Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Gentle Hydrating Cream Dry

So, this basically summed up my entire current skincare regime. What about yours? Do share!

18 thoughts on “My Latest Skincare Regime #3

    1. Hmm … I think I love both now. LOL!

      Perfect UV is much more fluid compared to Multi Defense. But in terms of value, definitely the former won as it’s 20ml more than the latter.

      What about you? Have you been trying any new cleansing oil, facial cleanser or sunscreen lately?

  1. I bought a bottle of the DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and its very good. One of the best cleansing oils I have used. I really like that it’s unscented. But the price is a high. the 200ml bottle set me back RM99.90 and it rarely goes on sale.

    I have finished off most of my Sekkisei products and I doubt i will be repurchasing because of the prices that go up yearly. I have gone back to using Shiseido Men.

    I am however very intrigued by the Shiseido Sun Protection Stick Foundation SPF36. Have u tried it before or know of its price in Malaysia ? i doubt it will be anything less than RM100.

    1. I saw the DHC Cleansing Oil at Watsons, Miri previously but I think it was a little bit more expensive than what you saw. I think Watsons retailed it about RM100+. We don’t have any DHC counter in Miri. So, the only places where you can get DHC is probably in Watsons or Sasa.

      Yeah … RM99 for a bottle of cleansing oil is quite expensive but if it works out good, why not? You had previously tried Kose Seikisho Perfect Cleansing Oil, right? Do you like it? I think it was retailed at RM88 each. Not sure if there’s any price increase though now that you mentioned Kose been increasing their products’ pricing.

      I am not using much Kose Sekkisei range anymore apart from their lotion. It is by far the best toner which I had used. And Kose usually goes on sale for their 500ml. If you are lucky enough, they will be giving away free Kose Sekkisei Emulsion 70ml or Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash with the purchase. But sadly, the emulsion doesn’t work well on my skin. It’s light but not as light as my Shiseido moisturizer though.

      But Shiseido also increases their product pricing from time to time though. When I was still using Shiseido previously, I remembered the price going up by RM5 every year.

      Nope … I had never tried any of Shiseido Sun Protection Stick Foundation. To be honest, I doubt it will be less than RM100 either. As much as I know, Shiseido products which come with sun protection are usually starting from the price of RM130.

  2. Yea I do have a bottle of the Seikisho cleansing oil. But with the yearly price increases it will be more expensive that the DHC one by next year LOL. DHC is 200ml n Seikisho is 180ml. Its already RM89 currently. After using so many types of C.O, I realized the artificial sweet fruity scent in these C.Os make me kinda nauseous.

    The Sekkisei cleansers are really expensive and don’t last very long, even the powder wash. It foams up well with a small amount of powder but the foam is too airy to clean properly. So i end up just using more powder.

    Maybe the price increases are for the more famous ranges like White Lucent and The Skincare. Shiseido Men prices have not gone up a cent since i started using the range back in 2010.

    After reading more reviews about the stick foundation i realized its probably going to be a prob when it comes to removing it completely. I don’t need something that water resistant.

    Both my Perfect UV and Multi Defense r almost empty. I quite like both and I can’t decide which one to repurchase. first world problems LOL.

    1. DHC Cleansing Oil comes with fruity scent? I am not keen about floral or fruity scent either when it comes to cleansing oils. I am currently using Nature Republic Cleansing Oil and it comes with green tea scent, which is okay for me as I like green tea scented stuffs.

      Yeah … Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash doesn’t last me long either but Kose Sekkisei White Powder Wash lasted me quite some time though. But I still preferred the former among the two. LOL!

      When I finished my first set of Shiseido Pureness, I returned for another second set some time after and the price indeed increased by RM5. I couldn’t remember well which product was it, but I think it was their Pureness Anti-Shine Lotion. I don’t use this anymore so I do not know if they further increased their price again.

      I heard Shiseido Pureness Anti-Shine Lotion is not good on skin for long term usage. It did a great job in reducing the amount of shine on the face but I heard there’s one ingredient in there which is not good on our skin. Shiseido Brunei doesn’t have it as I heard that it wasn’t approved by MOH Brunei.

      I would suggest you go for the Perfect UV as it’s only RM5 more than Multi-Defense. Both come with the same coverage but Perfect UV has 20ml more in quantity. Definitely more value and money worthy. Among all the sunscreens which I had tried out so far, I think Shiseido has the best sunscreens. What do you think?

      1. DHC C.O is unscented artificially. its smells mainly of olive oil and a bit of rosemary. I am able to massage the DHC on my skin longer. Previously those C.O with fruity scents just makes me wanna emulsify ASAP.

        I have tried the Anti Shine Lotion b4 by means of a small sample. I didn’t like it because it made my morning skincare routine longer as I needed to use a moisturizer after it. I prefer lotion/toners that are hydrating so i can skip moisturizer.

        I will keep ur advice in mind. But I will 1st need to test the Multi Defence again as I haven’t used it for months.

        I agree that Shiseido sunscreens are the best in the market atm. they have a good balance when it comes to matte-ness and hydrating abilities. brands like Biore UV Perfect Face r just too matte n drying and others like Sekkisei too hydrating to the point of stickiness.

        But the older Shiseido sunscreens in the blue n orange bottles i really didn’t like one bit. I bought the Very High Sun Protection Lotion a few yrs ago and it was horrible. very sticky, very shiny n had a white cast. So sticky that dirt will literally get stuck on my face when i go out.

        Those Biore Aqua Rich sunscreens are pretty good too. Very light especially the Watery Essence one but not resistant to water or sweat.

      2. Hmm … Did you use a toner/lotion before using Anti-Shine Lotion? As far as I know, Anti-Shine Lotion is a product which you use very lastly after application of all your skincare products. You are not using any moisturizer before sunscreen?

        I had never tried the Biore sunscreen which you mentioned. The Sekkisei one was okay when I was testing it out at the counter but I find it to be too oily if compared with Shiseido sunscreens. And I also have another bottle of Shiseido Anessa sunscreen which I only used up like 5% of the entire bottle?

  3. I used it right after washing my face. But it’s basically a toner and wouldn’t using it just end up wiping away the other skincare products ?

    For years i didn’t apply moisturizer before sunscreen. But for the past week I bought a Shiseido Men anti aging serum and I apply it before sunscreen. So far so good. My face didn’t get overly oily or suffered any breakouts yet.

    I bought the Shiseido Gentle Sun Protection Lotion SPF30 earlier. It’s not bad at all. Light and seems to have decent oil control without drying my face. Unscented which is a plus. However it doesn’t dry matte and instead is kind of dewy. Quite smooth to the touch with a slight tackiness. Much better than the Extra Mild sunscreen. Price is good too, RM115 for 100ml.

    The one thing I dislike about Shiseido sunscreens is the fragrance they use. All their sunscreens smell alike.

    1. Hmm … I did not use a cotton pad when using Anti-Shine Lotion. I just pour the required amount onto my hand and then pat them onto my face. That way it doesn’t wipe away the skincare products which I applied earlier on. This was how the BA taught me previously when I was still using the product.

      I used a BB Cream from Elizabeth Arden this morning and it comes in transparent coverage instead of beige coverage. Albeit it being transparent coverage, it did leave a white casting which I hated. The texture is like Extra Mild and if you applied too much, the shine is actually very obvious. I ended up washing off the BB Cream and reapplied my skincare products.

      RM115 is really cheap for a Shiseido sunscreen and it came with double the portion compared to Perfect UV. Did the BA give you any free samples to try?

      1. I think most BB creams need some time to oxidize . So u need to leave it on longer to see if it suits u or not, But if the texture is like Extra Mild then it’s going to be a tough leaving on the face. That greasy didn’t absorb feel is horrible.

        Just the usual Shiseido Men stuff. I think they have been instructed to be stingy with samples. But for once today the BA gave me a sample of the White Lucent cleanser. the full size costs RM115 and I think its not worth the price as its quite a basic foaming cleaner. Smells nice and lathers up very well though. I still prefer the Shiseido Men cleanser.

      2. I’ll reduce the dosage if I were to use it again tomorrow.

        I think majority BA in Malaysia are stingy unless you buy until a certain value. Shiseido usually gives a pack of travel pack samples when you purchase around RM350 and above. There was once when I was being given two packs. I couldn’t even finish them and ended up giving them away to some of my colleagues as I no longer use Shiseido apart from their sunscreens.

        I used White Lucent cleanser when I just switched over to White Lucent from Pureness years ago. To be honest, I don’t think the cleanser is that good compared to the other Shiseido cleansers which I had previously used. I think I preferred their Ibuki line of cleanser more than the White Lucent one. But the fragrance on Ibuki line could be a little overwhelming for some.

        RM115 is RM15 cheaper than what’s priced in East Malaysia. I paid RM130 for that cleanser few years ago and I wonder what’s the price of it in East Malaysia right now.

  4. They r really stingy and I was told by one b4 that the number of samples depends on the amount u purchase. most of the shiseido products i buy do not exceed RM140 so i get maximum 2 samples. But then again there r some BAs that r really generous n will give out many samples like it’s your birthday LOL.

    Ibuki was heavily promoted last year. Numerous roadshows and sampling giveaways. But again the prices r way too high for a line which uses simple ingredients.

    1. Now that I only buy Shiseido sunscreen once in a while, I don’t get much Shiseido samples anymore. Sometimes completely none.

      I bought a bottle of Pureness Matifying Moisturizer and The Skincare Purifying Mask few months ago from Shiseido Brunei and the BA did not give me any sample! But then I had also forgotten to ask her for samples anyways and she probably knows that I rarely buy from her unless necessary. I normally buy from Shiseido, Miri. Cheaper and I could earn BonusLink points also.

      Normally young BA are very generous when it comes to samples but a little bit stingy when it comes to middle aged BA. I am not sure if you agree to this but this is what I observed with the BA in Parkson, Miri. And young BA are not that pushy with sales as compared to the middle aged ones. LOL!

      I had only used Ibuki line of facial cleanser but their softener and moisturizer seem to be rather too rich for my skin. So, I decided to stick with Pureness for moisturizer. Do you have any recommendation for light but effective moisturizer for daytime use? I had tried Laneige Water Bank Essence previously but it’s a little bit richer compared to the Shiseido one. Kose Emulsion was too rich for me.

      1. Actually I do agree. So far I have gotten the most samples from the younger BAs.

        Maybe u can give Hada Labo lotion a try as a daytime moisturizer. i use it on my hands at night n it works quite well. absorbs fast n is scentless. Other than that I can think of anything as I rarely use moisturizers in the daytime except recently where i have been using a serum.

      2. The Hada Labo Lotion which you mentioned, is it actually a toner?

        I did some Google-ing and I couldn’t find anything which looked like a moisturizer to me.

  5. It’s a Japanese type toner/lotion. full name is hada labo super hyaluronic acid moisturizing lotion. a very basic product that gives decent moisture to oily skin. Hada Labo has a hada labo super hyaluronic acid moisturizing milk but that one is too heavy for day time use though.

    1. But according to some reviews, this Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Lotion requires a follow up of moisturizer after application. Some even recommended using it as lotion mask.

      Maybe I’ll give it a try to see if it works on my skin since it’s not that expensive compared to those counter brands of moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

