Review: High Frequency Lifestyle Cafe

I guess a lot of you had heard of the newly opened cafe in town since two weekends ago. I came to know about this new cafe when I was browsing through a few random Instagram profiles. Well, they are probably friends of my friends’ Instagram profiles. LOL! The cafe was launched on the day when Sister and I met with our respective friends at Paddington House Of Pancakes.

So, I arranged to try the place with Jennifer yesterday afternoon for brunch. We met at High Frequency Lifestyle Cafe at 12:00 noon. It took me quite some time to find the location of the cafe. I know it’s located in Batu Bersurat area and opposite to Fun Bee Park. But I just didn’t know where is Fun Bee Park.

I turned in at the junction leading to De’ Olde Cottage Restaurant & Cafe but couldn’t find it and decided to turn to the back. Both Fun Bee Park and High Frequency Lifestyle Cafe are located at the newer blocks behind De’Olde Cottage Restaurant & Cafe.

The place was only quarterly packed when I arrived, meaning I get to choose decent and comfortable seats. The unique feature about the cafe is that there is no certain fixed chairs’ designs at very tables. I chose a table that came with 4 cushion sofa type of chairs/couch. LOL!

DSC03295

So, this is how High Frequency Lifestyle Cafe looked from car park. The frames of both windows and doors of the cafe were painted in blue color. Quite unique as compared to the other cafes that we have here in town. The restaurant was registered under Renjis Restaurant & Cafe. That explained the reason why it took both Jennifer and I quite some time to locate the said cafe.

DSC03292

The interior look of the cafe when coming in from the entrance. Like I said, they have quite a unique design for their chairs. All tables don’t come with the same chairs’ designs. There is a long table at the centre of the cafe to accommodate a larger group and the remaining ones were smaller tables which could accommodate up to a maximum of four people. And they have a few high stool tables and chairs.

DSC03291

Fancy a read while waiting for your friends to arrive? High Frequency Lifestyle Cafe provides quite a number of books selections at the centre of the cafe, just right behind the long table for larger groups.

DSC03263

All tables came with a glass bottle of plain water and brown sugar. Cups and eating utensils will only be served when seated down.

So, here comes the food pictures which I knew you are eagerly waiting for (that’s if you are interested with the cafe). LOL!

DSC03266

Both Jennifer and I thought that the menu selections were not extensive. To be honest, there’s not much to choose from. I am actually very intrigued about their Blue Cheese Prawn Slider but the price was kinda steep. But oh well, I expected the price to be steep actually since the ingredients don’t come cheap. But I think I am gonna try their Blue Cheese Prawn Slider the next time I visit  the place again.

DSC03289

Iced Long Black | B$5.50

Jennifer’s choice of drink. According to her, the coffee tasted extremely bitter even when iced. I am not sure if she added in any extra brown sugar.

DSC03267

Latte | B$5.00

I had Latte myself and honestly speaking, it was as bitter as Jennifer’s Iced Long Black. Albeit being bitter, I still find the bitterness tolerable hence not adding any extra brown sugar into my coffee. I liked their coffee art as it doesn’t go out of shape even when I had finished up the entire cup of coffee.

DSC03274

Mocha | B$5.50

Eric’s. This little guy likes fancy coffee art too and he’s gutted every time when he sees his cup of coffee doesn’t come with nice looking designs as compared to mine. It happened too when we were having high tea at Zest, EMPIRE Hotel & Country Club last month.

DSC03271

Cheesy French Fries | B$4.50

DSC03281

Eggs Royale | B$15.60

I ordered this for lunch yesterday. It came with two poached eggs on brioche breads. The breads were toasted before placing the poached eggs on top of them. The poached eggs were then topped by smoked salmon and their Hollandaise Sauce.

Their Hollandaise Sauce tasted a little bit different compared to the other Hollandaise Sauce which I had tasted before. It tasted a little bit sour, as if the sauce came with a little touch of lemon juice. It’s appetizing though. The poached eggs were of perfection. Runny egg yolks oozing out when you poked on them. And the salad, fresh and it came with sun dried tomatoes.

DSC03282

Creme Of Wild Mushroom | B$9.50

Jennifer’s. The soup also came with a few slices of brioche breads. According to Jennifer, the soup tasted good but portion was a little bit too little. But oh well, it’s an appetizer anyways. Not the kind of food which is supposed to make you full after having it. Ingredients wise, fresh and the soup was homemade.

Verdict: The three of us liked the ambiance of the cafe. It’s cozy and it’s a great place for brunch and do catching up with friends. Foods were great as for what we had tried yesterday but not sure about the others on the menu.

Customer service was good in my opinion. But there is just one little thing which I am not impressed about. A while after my Eggs Royale was served, I stopped eating for a few minutes to talk to Jennifer. I still had an unfinished poached egg and a slice of smoked salmon back then. A waitress approached me asking if she could take away my plate. Her hand was already holding the side of my plate when asking. I had to put both my hands at the side of the plate to tell her that I am not finished with my meal. Honestly speaking, this is the first time that I encountered such situation whereby the staff was so eager in clearing away your dishes. LOL!

All in all, I think this is a great place but perhaps a bigger varieties on the menu?

High Frequency Lifestyle Cafe
Unit 5, Block B,
Sempurna Complex,
Kampung Pengkalang Gadong,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2428262

Leave a Reply

