Baking #10: Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake (21cm)

Baked my fourth chiffon cake few days ago. I baked Mocha Light Cheesecake in the morning of the same day and I had more than half a block of Philadelphia Cream Cheese left in the fridge.

So, I baked Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake since parents were out running some errands and it’s much more convenient for me to do my stuffs when I am alone. The texture of the Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake which I baked was the finest compared to the rest of the chiffon cakes which I had baked.

I adapted the recipe of Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake from Bakericious. Click here for the link to her recipe.

DSC03298

Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake

Ingredients:

  • 40g cream cheese
  • 60g full cream milk
  • 25g butter
  • 65g cake flour
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 4 egg whites
  • 90g caster sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Melt the cream cheese, full cream milk and butter over a double boiler. When completely melted, remove from heat and let it cool down for a while.
  2. Add in the egg yolks into the cream cheese batter, two at a time (at least that’s how I did).
  3. Sift in cake flour into the cream cheese batter and mix them until well incorporated.
  4. Beat egg whites until foamy and frothy with cream of tartar. Add in both sugar and salt and continue beating until they form soft peaks.
  5. Fold 1/2 portion of the egg whites batter (meringue) into the cream cheese batter.
  6. Pour in the lightened cream cheese batter into the remaining meringue and fold them until you no longer see egg whites streak.
  7. Pour batter into a 9″ loose bottom chiffon pan and baked in preheated oven under 170 degree Celsius for 35 to 40 minutes.
  8. Invert the cake to cool when the cake is cooked.
  9. You can only unmould the cake when it’s completely cooled.

DSC03301

I know my cake is slumping to one side. I  think I had been over whisking the egg whites hence they did not rise too well in the process of baking. The texture of the chiffon cake is soft, spongy and fine.

But I personally find the sweetness level was a little bit too high. I think I am gonna reduce the quantity of sugar the next time I bake this cake again. It does have a mild taste of cream cheese. Not overpowering, hence suitable for those of you who doesn’t like rich cheesy taste.

If you are interested, click on the below links for my previous baking of chiffon cakes.

  1. Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake (well received among my colleagues)
  2. Orange Chiffon Cake
  3. Banana Chiffon Cake
Leave a Reply

