Baking #11: 6″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake

It’s been months since I promised baking Japanese Cotton Cheesecake for Jia. I decided to bake her one today since I wasn’t able to do so last Friday. I had a block of Philadelphia cream cheese ready since last Friday but I was short of lemon. So, I drove to Supa Save, Mata-Mata for them. But unfortunately, one of the staffs told me that they were out of lemon when asked. I drove to Sim Kim Huat, Kiulap and I was given the same answer too.

Out of frustration, I drove to Hua Ho, Kiulap to try my luck again but I wasn’t that lucky either. But I still managed to get two lemons from Warisan UtamaJaya in the end. It turned out that I drove to four different supermarkets just for two lemons. *sigh* Jia came over to pick up her Japanese Cotton Cheesecake while she was on the way home with Stephen (Jia’s fiance) from Lumut.

To be honest, I baked two 6″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake in within a short period of 5 hours. Started baking Jia’s Japanese Cotton Cheesecake since 3:30p.m. in the afternoon and I baked another piece right after the parents and I finished dinner.

DSC03551

The ingredients for a 6″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake are the same as a 8″ but only difference in terms of the measurement. I adapted the recipe from Tested & Tasted. Here’s the link to her recipe if you are interested.

Ingredients:

  • 125g cream cheese
  • 25g salted butter
  • 50ml fresh milk
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 30g cake flour (sifted)
  • 10g corn flour (sifted)
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tbps lemon juice
  • 4 egg whites
  • 70g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Melt cream cheese, butter and milk over double boiler. When they had completely melted, remove from heat and set aside to cool. Upon slightly cooled, fold in sifted cake flour, corn flour, salt, eggs and lemon juice.
  2. In another clean bowl, beat egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy. Add in fine granulated sugar bit by bit and continue beating until you see soft or medium peak forming.
  3. Scoop 1/3 of the egg whites meringue into the cream cheese batter and gently fold them in and careful not to deflate the batter. Add in the remaining egg whites meringue into the cream cheese batter and fold them in until they are completely incorporated.
  4. Pour cream cheese batter into a 6″ baking tin lined with baking parchment. Wrap the exterior of your baking tin with aluminium foil if you are using those removable bottom baking tin.
  5. Bake your cheesecake in a preheated oven at 160 degree Celsius for an hour and 10 minutes or until cooked in water bath.
  6. In order to prevent the cake from collapsing, do not remove the cake from the oven immediately when cooked. Leave it in the oven with the door ajar for at least 30 minutes before removing.

photo1 (1)

Jia was quicker than me in posting the result of my baking today on Instagram. And since she had already posted it, I decided not to do so on my side.

Unfortunately, my second piece of 6″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake which I baked after dinner was not as successful as the one I baked for Jia. It did not rise as much as compared to Jia’s but it browned nicely on the top. I couldn’t be sure what went wrong but I think it’s the egg whites meringue as I only used 3 egg whites when the recipe called for 4 egg whites.

And here’s the link to my 8″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake which I baked previously.

Leave a Reply

