Dinner @ Koryo Restaurant, Kiulap

Jia and I finally met up for dinner six month after our last meal gathering together. We had always arranged to meet up for dinner occasionally but it ain’t that easy now as compared to before as she has family commitment on every weekend nowadays. She usually stays in Lumut every weekends unless she has other things to do in Bandar over the weekend. And now that she’s getting married, it’s even harder to meet up with as she has quite some wedding planning and arrangement to do.

This BFF of mine had tied the knot with Stephen on last March 15 and wedding dinner reception will take place some time in June. She invited me to be one of her “sisters” on the morning when she is to be sent off to the Stephen’s place in Lumut. Jia had originally planned to have dinner with me at Senja Lounge or Modesto Bistro & Grill but I wasn’t up to that heavy food for dinner.

Seeing that I had been so obsessed with Japanese cuisine lately, Jia suggested that we go either Excapade Sushi or Kaizen Sushi. But I declined as I am kinda sick of sushi lately as I had been having it for quite a few times in within a short period. Jia then suggested Korean cuisine and I decided to go for Koryo Restaurant. She picked me up from my workplace in her spanking new Kia Optima which she bought last December. The size of her car was so huge that mine pale in comparison when I returned to mine when she dropped me off after dinner. LOL!

Anyways, we ordered so much yesterday for dinner and I ended up feeling bloated after dinner and kept on burping the entire night until I drank some warm tea which Mom brewed during the day.

DSC03560

My dinner companion – Jia, who was busy mixing the Dol Sot Bibimbap.

Anyways, let us get started with the food pictures …

DSC03559

Tuna Gim Bap | B$3.50

This is my favorite Gim Bap at Koryo Restaurant after trying it with Joo Sie previously. Even Jia agreed this tasted a lot better compared to the Chicken Gim Bap which she ordered. The texture is moist compared to Chicken Gim Bap.

DSC03561

Chicken Gim Bap | B$3.50

This was way too dry for my liking and the both of us ended up couldn’t even finish half of it. Had them taken away as supper for Eldie (Jia’s brother).

DSC03563

Kimchi Pancake | B$5.00

My ultimate favorite at Koryo Restaurant. To be honest, Koryo Restaurant has the best Kimchi Pancake in town. None of the other Korean restaurants in Brunei could beat Koryo for their Kimchi Pancake. Do try this if you happened to be a huge fan for Kimchi Pancake like me. I tried making Kimchi Pancake at home last Sunday and they turned out rather good albeit being soggy at the same time. LOL!

DSC03556

Chicken Dol Sot Bibimbap | B$10.00

I am not much of a huge fan of Bibimbap compared to any other friends of mine. But to be honest, this was pretty good to the extend that I went ahead with second serving. That explained how I ended up with a bloated tummy by the end of the meal. As I don’t consume beef, both Jia and I settled with chicken.

The chili paste wasn’t too spicy. To be honest, I think it tasted rather sweet in my opinion. But nevertheless, their Chicken Dol Sot Bibimbap was good!

Koryo Restaurant
B11, Bangunan Lim Eng Ming,
Simpang: 88,
Kampung Kiulap,
Bandar Seri Begawan, BE1518,
Negara Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2239837

Leave a Reply

