Review: Etude House I Need You, Pearl Extract! Mask Sheet

It’s been quite some time since I last did a skincare product review on Etude House Mask Sheet. If my memory serves me well enough, I think I bought this sheet mask more than half a year ago but I just never gotten round to use it as I have tons of unused sheet masks in my skincare stash drawer.

DSC03512

Etude House I Need You, Pearl Extract! Mask Sheet

Decided to bring this mask out for a good use few evenings ago when Mom mentioned that her skin hasn’t been great ever since we moved into this newly rented house. I had previously complained to my colleague that my skin has been experiencing mild breakouts on my neck and cheek. The breakouts were all situated on the right side of my cheek and neck. It’s a wonder to me why so I assumed that it’s probably my pillowcase. So, Mom aired it under the sun the next day and it’s a lot better now as I had been using Elizabeth Arden Clear The Way Mask very religiously. Not on daily basis but weekly.

You’ll probably get to read quite a lot of sheet mask reviews from now onwards as I am planning to finish up majority of my unused sheet masks and pampering my skin at the same time. I’ll write a blog entry soon listing what are the skincare products’ reviews that you will be expecting soon. They are not much but they are better than nothing at all, right?

The main purpose of this sheet mask is to promote natural skin glow. Pearl extract is quite famous in Korean skincare products as one of the main ingredients for brightening and whitening purposes.

As usual, I left the sheet mask in the fridge before application so that it gives a cooling effect and it could minimize pore sizes. The sheet mask doesn’t come with overly artificial flowery fragrance but some typical fragrance which I couldn’t make out what it was. The sheet mask was drenched in a generous amount of essence. It was almost dripping wet when I removed it from it’s packaging.

It fits onto my face quite well. And surprisingly, the texture of the sheet mask and the ability to hold essence were a lot better compared to what I last remembered. The first Etude House sheet mask which I first used was their Etude House I Need You, Green Tea! Mask Sheet. I was pretty disappointed with their sheet mask as the sheet mask wasn’t capable of holding the essence well enough as they kept on dripping throughout the course of application.

I removed the sheet mask around 20 to 25 minutes later as you shouldn’t leave it on your face for too long. Leaving it long on your skin doesn’t necessarily mean that it will do your skin good. To be honest, I was under the impression that the longer it stays on the skin the better it is until I was being advised by Shet Fui that it’s the other way round. The longer you left it on your skin, the more moisture that it will absorbs off from your skin into the sheet mask. After being shared this piece of valuable information, I no longer leave sheet mask on my face more than 25 minutes. Now that I always blow dry my hair while I had the sheet mask on, the sheet mask dries up faster than before.

We have now come to the part where I talk about the effectiveness. To be honest, I don’t see a drastic whitening/brightening effect on my skin but I could see that my complexion looks glowing. It did leave my skin feeling sticky as the essence wasn’t fully absorbed onto my skin. But I could see that my skin looked moisturized and supple the next morning.

Here’s what I think of Etude House I Need You, Pearl Extract! in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. No artificial flowery fragrance.
2. Sheet mask fits perfectly on my face.
3. Able to hold essence better than before.
4. Skin felt moisturized and supple the next morning.
5. Glowing skin complexion.

Cons:
1. Sticky feeling.
2. Not much whitening and brightening effect.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

Price: B$3.50

Repurchase? I don’t think so!

2 thoughts on “Review: Etude House I Need You, Pearl Extract! Mask Sheet

Leave a Reply

