Dinner @ Hua Hua Restaurant, Kiulap

Kaylie and I met up at Hua Hua Restaurant for dinner yesterday evening after I made a trip to Amway for toiletries. Thank God that I managed to find a parking space just right across Amway. LOL! No need to walk a distance to Amway.

As I mentioned previously on my Twitter, I had been craving for Wah Tan Ho since last Saturday early morning. I planned to have it for breakfast that day with Alan but the uncle who brought me to Miri decided to treat me Kolo Mee as breakfast at one of the cafes nearby to Alan’s house. And gosh! The Kolo Mee was too salty for my liking and I ended up flushing them all out a short while after the breakfast. Wow! I did not expect my stomach engine to be that efficient. LOL!

I actually requested Alan for a second round of breakfast that morning but Alan declined as he said I just had breakfast albeit I just flushed them all out and he has yet had his breakfast too at that point of time. So, the next meal ended up at Bak Kut Teh Cafe for lunch.

Anyways, back to my craving for Wah Tan Ho. Initially, Kaylie suggested Yappy Kopitiam in Kiulap. But I was craving for Wah Tan Ho that comes with pork slices so I asked Jia if Yappy Kopitiam is a Halal or non-Halal restaurant. According to her, she recalled the restaurant being a Halal one. So, both Kaylie and I ended up at Hua Hua Restaurant in the end as I was craving for some pork dishes too!

DSC03618

Deep Fried Pork Ribs With Fried Rice | B$6.50

This was what Kaylie had for dinner yesterday evening. According to her, the pork ribs were good and the sauce was flavorful. I think she liked the sauce more than the pork ribs. LOL! She also ordered a takeaway for Kevin (her husband) before we left the restaurant.

DSC03619

Wah Tan Ho

No pricing here as I did not request for the bills. You can choose between chicken, pork or seafood for your Wah Tan Ho. But since this is a non-Halal restaurant, what’s he point of ordering chicken or seafood when you could have it at any other restaurants in town, right?

To me, this was only an average plate of Wah Tan Ho. The kueh tiaw weren’t dark enough for my liking. It lacks the “wok hei” required in stir fry noodles. But this will do for the time being. The vegetables tasted bitter to me though.

DSC03620

Bak Kut Teh

Been craving for Bak Kut Teh again so I had my second portion of Bak Kut Teh of the week. The Bak Kut Teh was steaming hot when served. This portion is more than enough for two. Albeit I requested them not to include innards of a pig, I still find two pieces of intestines in the soup. I don’t mind the innards actually but Kaylie doesn’t eat them. So, might as well ask them not to put any at all.

DSC03623

Slices of pork bellies were thick. Would very much prefer if they were thinner in size. The broth tasted quite bland at first, as if the ingredients have yet really infused into the soup. But the broth got salty towards the bottom. It’s quite addictive, to be honest. But I think this is not the best Bak Kut Teh that I had so far. Kaylie said the best Bak Kut Teh that she had was at Yit Sum Restaurant. I had been there before but never tried their Bak Kut Teh. Timings were always not right.

Hua Hua Restaurant
B1, Urairah Complex,
Kampung Kiulap,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2227796

Leave a Reply

