Baking #17: Double Chocolate Muffin

Jia just commented that my Blueberry & Cream Cheese Muffins looked good in my previous blog entry earlier this morning. Anyways, they looked pretty good too in my opinion but only tad bit salty for my liking. I should have used unsalted butter instead of the salted one. Anyways, I am planning on baking Apple Crumble Muffins from DessertzHouse on this coming Sunday afternoon.

If time permits tonight, I am gonna bake two chiffon cakes. Durian Chiffon Cake is a definite for tonight and maybe a Banana Chiffon Cake adapted from KitchenTigress. So, stay tune if you are interested. I am gonna make my own version of Durian Chiffon Cake tonight with a bit of alteration here and there. So, fingers crossed that it’s gonna be a success tonight.

Without further ado, let me show you the Double Chocolate Muffins which I baked two weeks ago. Yeah, it’s quite some time ago. Like I said, I hadn’t been free for the past two weeks.

DSC03838

Double Chocolate Muffins

I adapted the original recipe from DessertzHouse and click here for the link to her recipe if you are interested.

Ingredients: (yields 6 muffins)

  • 140g cake flour
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 70g butter (softened)
  • 110g fine granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 130g natural plain yogurt
  • 75g chocolate (coarsely chopped)

Note: I used 40g of Cadbury Milk Chocolate and 35g of dark chocolate chips.

Directions:

  1. Grease the top of muffin tray and line it with paper cases. (You could always use those aluminium muffin foils which you could get from your local bakery or grocery store if you couldn’t get a muffin tray.)
  2. Mix cake flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.
  3.  Cream butter and sugar together until they are well combined.
  4. Add egg and followed by vanilla extract. Mix well.
  5. Add butter mixture and natural plain yogurt into the flour mixture.
  6. Using a spatula, gently fold in 3/4 of the chocolate.
  7. Scoop mixture evenly between paper cases. Top each muffin with the remaining chocolate.
  8. Bake the muffins in a pre-heated oven of 190 degree Celsius for 20 to 25 minutes or until an inserted skewer comes out clean from the centre of the muffin.

Note: In order to have even scoop of mixture between paper cases, use an ice-cream scoop. One scoop for each paper case is more than enough.

To be honest, I preferred Blueberry & Cream Cheese Muffins over these Double Chocolate Muffins. I am never a big fan of chocolate desserts anyways. I think I had over-baked these muffins, hence they turned out drier compared to Blueberry & Cream Cheese Muffins. If you are not a huge fan for sweet desserts, try lowering down the sugar quantity as I find these muffins overly sweet for my liking.

Leave a Reply

