Baking #19: Light Cheddar Cheesecake

Having been constantly attempting on various kinds of chiffon cakes, I had decided to attempt something different today and I baked a cheesecake. The texture is about the same like Japanese Cotton Cheesecake but spongier and fluffier.

After having attempted this Light Cheddar Cheesecake, my confidence level had boosted up a bit and I had decided that I am gonna attempt Ogura Cake again soon. Some claimed that Ogura Cake is easier to bake compared to Chiffon Cake but I thought otherwise. Oh well, practice makes perfect anyways.

Let me show you my outcome of Light Cheddar Cheesecake …

DSC03897

I am so happy that my Light Cheddar Cheesecake rose up to 4.5″ high and it did not shrink much when cooling down. I wasn’t this lucky with my previous bake of Orange Ogura Cake. It had shrunk about an inch or two when cooling down. Taste was of perfection but there are still spaces for improvements in terms of the baking time and temperature control

Without further ado, let me get on with the ingredients and directions of baking this cake. I adapted the original recipe from Honey Bee Sweets. Click here for the original recipe if you are interested.

Ingredients: 

  • 6 slices cheddar cheese (I used Kraft Slice Cheese)
  • 100ml full cream milk
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 100g cake flour
  • 6 egg whites
  • 100g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar (optional)

Directions: 

  1. Melt cheese slices, butter and milk over a pot of simmering water. Stir gently until they were all mixed in. Remove from heat and set aside for approximately 5 minutes to cool down.
  2. Pour in one egg yolk at a time and mix with a balloon whisk until the egg yolk is well incorporated. Do the same with the remaining 5 egg yolks.
  3. Sift in cake flour into the cheese batter and mix until they were well incorporated and no lump could be seen.
  4. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until they turn foamy. Gradually add in sugar and beat until stiff peaks are formed.
  5. Gently fold in a third of the meringue (egg white mixture) into the cheese batter until well incorporated.
  6. Pour the lightened cheese batter into meringue and gently fold them in until you see no white streak.
  7. Pour batter into a greased and lined 8″ square pan.
  8. Place the square pan on top of a bigger square pan and fill the bigger pan with boiling water.
  9. Bake the cheesecake in a preheated oven of 155 degree Celsius on the lowest rack for approximately 50 minutes or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.
  10. Leave the cake in the oven with the door ajar for approximately 5 minutes before removing it from the oven.
  11. Remove the cake from pan and let it cool completely before serving.

DSC03902

As you can see, I did not do egg whites folding properly as I could still see a few white streaks on the cake. LOL! Nevertheless, the cake still taste exactly the same like cheddar cheese. But I am still happy that my cake rose high and no major shrinkage happened. Yay!

The original recipe from Honey Bee Sweets did not call for cream of tartar but I had been getting grainy meringue whenever I beat egg whites without cream of tartar. So, I decided to add in cream of tartar even though the original recipe did not call for it and I am glad that the cake still turned out well. This recipe is definitely a keeper but I am gonna reduce the sugar quantity to 70g or 80g next time.

Leave a Reply

