Baking #20: Durian Cotton Cheesecake

I had been quite busy with work over the past few days and by the time I got home, I was knackered. That explained the lack of update for the past few days and I realized that my blog statistics had been dropping recently as well. I guess I gotta keep up with blogging to maintain the statistics. If I am earning from blogging, I think I might go ballistic. And thankfully, I am not. LOL!

Anyways, here’s a recipe of Durian Cotton Cheesecake which I baked after coming home from work yesterday evening. I am supposed to leave work early yesterday but then something came up and I had to stay back. But I still bake Durian Cotton Cheesecake after work albeit it was very late. Reason being, I don’t want the durian to go bad.

DSC03906

I was intrigued when I found out that we can make Cotton Cheesecake out of durian as well. Hence, this recipe went into my to-bake-cakes list. I bought the necessary ingredients quite some time ago but only bought durian and sliced cheddar cheese yesterday evening. I got the original recipe from Mui Mui and click here to the link to her original recipe.

Let’s start, shall we?

Ingredients:

  • 115g cream cheese
  • 1 slice Kraft Slice Cheese
  • 60ml full cream milk
  • 30g unsalted butter
  • 30g corn flour
  • 20g cake flour
  • 60g durian flesh (advisably blended)
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 4 egg whites
  • 80g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Melt cream cheese, slice cheese, milk and butter over a pot of simmering water. Stir gently until you see no lump in the batter. Remove from heat and set aside for approximately 5 minutes to cool down.
  2. Add in egg yolks one at a time and whisk the batter with a balloon whisk until the eggs were well incorporated and mixed in.
  3. Mix in durian flesh until well incorporated.
  4. Sift in corn flour and cake flour and mix until well incorporated. Be careful not to overmix the batter.
  5. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it started to turn frothy and foamy.
  6. Gradually add in sugar in three portions until stiff peaks are formed.
  7. Scoop 1/3 of the meringue (egg whites batter) into the durian cream cheese batter and fold them gently until the color of the batter turned lighter.
  8. Pour the lightened durian cream cheese batter into the meringue and gently fold them in until you see no white streak anymore.
  9. Pour durian cream cheese batter into a greased and lined 7″ square baking pan and bake in a preheated oven of 150 degree Celsius in water bath for 55 minutes.
  10. When cooked, leave the cake inside the oven with the door ajar for approximately 5 minutes before removing from the oven and unmould from it’s baking pan.

As you can see from the above picture, my cake had shrunk about half from it’s original size the next morning. Original recipe called for inverting the baking pan immediately after removing the cake from the oven. But I did not follow as no inverting process was required even when I baked Japanese Cotton Cheesecake previously.

Albeit I am not using a removable bottom baking pan, the water still managed to get into the pan resulting in a slightly wet and soggy cake when baked. I made an alteration with the recipe. The original recipe did not call for cream of tartar but I preferred beating egg whites with it as it stabilizes the egg whites and they don’t turned grainy fast.

Leave a Reply

