Baking #22: Sweet Corn Cream Chiffon Cake

I baked a Sweet Corn Cream Chiffon Cake this morning since I will be going work on late shift today. I had been meaning to attempt the said chiffon cake in a 18cm chiffon pan as my first attempt hadn’t been successful. The entire cake collapsed inside when inverted. I used self-raising flour on my first attempt instead of cake flour. So, I used cake flour on my second attempt and changed the pan size to 21cm.

The cake rose beautifully but the height was a little bit too short for my liking. But I successfully attempted the said cake this morning. I was happy when I unmoulded it from pan. This recipe is definitely a keeper but what bothered me was that the taste of sweet cream corn was extremely subtle. I would normally avoid using essence or paste as much as I could. But I am planning on modifying the recipe myself next time.

Without further ado, let me present to you my Sweet Corn Cream Chiffon Cake which I adapted from Nasi Lemak Lover. Click here for the link to the original recipe.

DSC03979

I do not have a picture of how the texture looked on the inside. Honestly speaking, this Sweet Corn Cream Chiffon Cake was considered as one of my successful bakes. The texture was light, airy and it doesn’t have a lot of holes on the inside. Some of my previous chiffon cake bakes have quite a lot of holes on the texture of the cake. The original recipe called for a 20cm chiffon pan but I used an 18cm chiffon pan.

Instead of using self-raising flour as of the original recipe, I used cake flour. Original recipe called for a total of 90g of fine granulated sugar but I reduced to 70g only as my dad mentioned that the cake was a little bit sweet when I baked for my mom on our advanced Mother’s Day celebration for her. It turned out 70g of sugar level is perfect for those who doesn’t like overly sweet cakes.

Ingredients: 

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 20g fine granulated sugar
  • 85g cake flour
  • 50g corn oil
  • 75g sweet corn cream
  • 4 egg whites
  • 50g fine granulated sugar

Directions:

  1. Beat egg yolks with 20g of fine granulated sugar until pale in color.
  2. Add in corn oil and mix until well incorporated.
  3. Mix in sweet corn cream and mix until well combined.
  4. Sift in cake flour and use a balloon whisk to mix the flour until no flour lump could be seen. Do not overmix the flour or else the cake will be hard when baked.
  5. Beat egg whites until it turned frothy and foamy. Gradually add in 50g of fine granulated sugar in three batches until stiff peaks are formed.
  6. Fold in the meringue (egg whites batter) into the egg yolk batter in three batches until no white streak could be seen anymore.
  7. Pour the mixed batter into an 18cm or 20cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 160 degree Celsius for 40 minutes.
  8. Invert the cake immediately for approximately two hours or until it’s cooled enough to be unmolded.

I personally prefer to add in cream of tartar when beating the egg whites as it stabilizes the egg whites. The egg whites don’t turn grainy easily with cream of tartar. I find my egg whites to be grainy and watery when I scooped a third of it before folding into the egg yolk batter. But honestly, this is my own preference.

Leave a Reply

