Baking #25: Pandan Sponge Cups

A colleague of mine was nice enough to make my sister a huge size Steamed Taro & Pumpkin Cake last Saturday evening for free. I insisted on paying for the cost of the ingredients but she declined. In order to lessen up my guilt, I decided to bake her some Pandan Sponge Cups so that she can eat them during tea break. Unfortunately, my Pandan Sponge Cups did not turn out as well as I anticipated them to be.

Sister had been asking if I could bake her cakes that come with pandan flavor. I had previously tried Pandan Ogura Cake and it failed rather badly. Therefore, it busted my confidence in making cakes out of coconut milk and screwpine (pandan) juice. But I found this Pandan Sponge Cups recipe from Wendyinkk while I was looking for inspiration on what to bake next. Instead of using pandan juice from scratch, it made use of pandan paste only.

DSC04049

Pandan Sponge Cups (adapted from Wendyinkk)

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 120g fine granulated sugar (150g)
  • 75g cake flour
  • 1 tsp pandan paste
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/16 tsp cream of tartar (a pinch)
  • 1 tbsp fine granulated sugar

Note:

Those fonts which were marked in red are the original measurement of ingredients from Wendyinkk. I decided to lower the sugar quantity by 30g as I find 150g to be a little bit exaggerating. To be honest, I myself even find the cake to be extremely sweet albeit I had lowered down the sugar quantity by 30g. If you aren’t someone into sweet cakes, you might want to consider reducing the sugar quantity to approximately 80g?

Directions:

  1. Beat whole eggs and egg yolks with 120g of fine granulated sugar until the batter turns creamy and pale in color.
  2. Add in pandan paste and mix well.
  3. Add in sifted cake flour and mix until well incorporated with no flour lump to be seen.
  4. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turns foamy and frothy. Add in 1 tablespoon of fine granulated sugar and beat until it reaches stiff peaks stage.
  5. Gently fold in the meringue in three batches until no white streak could be seen.
  6. Spoon about two tablespoons of the mixed batter into each muffin cups until 1cm to the rim. You can also pour all the mixed batter into a piping bag so that there will be no dripping while spooning the batter into muffin cups.
  7. Bake them in a preheated oven of 190 degree Celsius for approximately 15 – 20 minutes or until inserted skewer comes out clean.

DSC04052

I find the coloring to be a little intimidating. So, I swore to myself that I will never use pandan paste anymore. LOL! Original recipe mentioned that the batter can yield about 12 cupcakes but mine yielded 21 cupcakes. I could not understand why my cupcakes turned out to be holey on the inside.

Sister find the texture of the cake to be a little bit dry. I personally didn’t like the cupcakes that much either as I find the flavoring to be fake and the sweetness level was a little bit too high to tolerate.

Leave a Reply

