Baking #26: Rich Chocolate Chiffon Cake

I felt like baking yesterday evening albeit I wasn’t feeling well early in the day. But lucky for me, the migraine subsided later in the afternoon but I still do experience a little bit of aching on a certain few spots of my mouth gum. Sister gave me a tablet of Ibuprofen and it managed to soothe down the swollen mouth gum.

Sister once requested that she wanted to try bitter version of chocolate cake rather than the usual sweet version. I had previously baked Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake of which all of my colleagues said was bitter. LOL! Instead of baking a full size Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake, I baked Rich Chocolate Chiffon which I adapted the recipe from Nasi Lemak Lover.

DSC04106

Rich Chocolate Chiffon Cake (get original recipe here!)

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks (large)
  • 10g fine granulated sugar
  • 40g corn oil
  • 60g full cream milk
  • 70g dark chocolate *I used 62%*
  • 15g cocoa powder or chocolate powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 35g cake flour
  • 3 egg whites
  • 50g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Melt dark chocolate over a pot of simmering water. Remove from heat.
  2. Add in full cream milk and combine well. Set aside.
  3. Beat egg yolks with 10g of fine granulated sugar until pale in color.
  4. Add in corn oil and mix well.
  5. Add in cocoa or chocolate powder along with the melted chocolate and mix until well incorporated.
  6. Sift in cake flour and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  7. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy and frothy.
  8. Gradually add in 50g of fine granulated sugar in three batches until it reaches soft peaks stage.
  9. Gently fold in 1/3 of the meringue with a balloon whisk until well combined. Gently do the same with the remaining meringue.
  10. Pour the mixed chocolate batter into a 17 or 18cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 175 degree Celsius for approximately 30 – 35 minutes.

DSC04108

If you are wondering why my cake looked slightly slanting in the above picture, that’s because one of the sides of my chiffon cake rose higher than the other. Hence, it made the cake looking rather imbalance in real and in picture. LOL!

The crust was a little bit hard compared to my other bakes of chiffon cakes. But I think I might know what went wrong. I beat the egg whites to stiff peaks stage instead of soft peaks stage. Albeit the crust being a little bit hard, the texture on the inside was extremely soft. It has a nice and strong dark chocolate taste. It wasn’t sweet at all and it gives a slight bitter taste as well.

For those of you who fancy bitter dark chocolate cakes, this may be what you are after. But I think I am gonna bake Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake on this Friday evening with my newly purchased 24cm chiffon pan and slice half of the cake for Jennifer to taste.

Leave a Reply

