24062014 – Kaizen Sushi Waterfront

Jennifer, Sister and I had dinner at Kaizen Sushi Waterfront last Tuesday evening. Initially, I decided on Kaizen Sushi Kiarong but Jennifer claimed that the food menu at Kiarong branch wasn’t as extensive as the one at Waterfront. So, we agreed on Kaizen Sushi Waterfront in the end. I called in and make a table reservation for three at 7:30p.m. in the evening.

We ended up ordering too much as our dining table was topped entirely with food platters. LOL! I think some of the diners on the next table looked at our table for quite a few times. They must be thinking that these three ladies are such a glutton or what.

Without further ado, let me show you what we had for dinner at Kaizen Sushi Waterfront the other evening. If you are hungry and craving for Japanese cuisine at the moment, perhaps you might want to leave and come back another time? LOL! I don’t want to be responsible for your further craving. Hahaha … xD

DSC04692

Edamame | B$2.70

DSC04699

Chuka Wakame | B$2.70

DSC04707

Hamachi Belly Aburi | B$4.50

Jennifer ordered this to try. She mentioned that she had tried this before in Hokkaido and it was very nice. The fish slice was raw but slightly heated with a kitchen butane on the top and drizzled with sauce before serving. I don’t know whether it’s nice or not as I did not give it a try. B$4.50 for 2 pieces of sushi is a little too expensive in my opinion.

DSC04714

Inari Sake Sarada (No Rice) | B$9.00

The original Inari Sake Sarada comes with rice at the bottom but I requested them to be without rice. I find the fillings not to be as fresh as I remembered previously. The cucumber cubes in the fillings weren’t that fresh and crunchy.

DSC04705

Sake Maki | B$2.70 & Kampyo Maki | B$1.80

I ordered Sake Maki while Jennifer ordered Kampyo Maki. If you are wondering what Kampyo Maki is, Kampyo is a kind of preserved radish and it tastes sweet. I did not try this myself the other day but I tried something similar before at Sakae Sushi, 1Utama.

DSC04702

Sake Sashimi | B$12.80

We actually wanted to order a sushi platter instead of this but the pricing for a sushi platter is quite horrendous to be honest. So, we ended up with a Sake Sashimi. Loved their Sashimi as they were all fresh and juicy. I can eat them by dipping into soy sauce and without wasabi paste. To be honest, I don’t eat wasabi paste as I find the taste and smell to be rather “choking”.

DSC04700

Mixed Mushroom Teppanyaki | B$8.10

Wanted to try something with vegetables the other night. I know mushroom doesn’t exactly fall under vegetable category but it will do just fine. LOL! The platter comes with various kinds of mushroom but I was quite surprised when I saw black fungus included in the platter. I don’t remember black fungus being categorized as mushroom though.

DSC04710

Unagi Kabayaki | B$14.40

Both Sister and I were impressed with their Unagi Kabayaki the first time we had it couple of years ago. But unfortunately, it failed to impress us this time round as their Unagi were overcooked and the flesh were a little bit dry.

DSC04697

Kake Soba | B$5.40

This is one healthy option of noodles. Apart from the Hamachi Belly Aburi, this was the other food Jennifer ordered. Sister tried a small portion of the noodles and I ended up finishing the remaining half of the noodles. The soup taste refreshing and light but tad bit sweet for my liking. Noodles was just nicely done and cooked.

DSC04724

Agedori With Spring Onion | B$8.10

This was a major disappointment. The chicken cutlet was pre-seasoned for quite some time before it was put to deep fried. I find the seasoning to be a little bit extreme as the chicken tasted quite salty for my liking. And a little bit spicy too if you accidentally chewed on the chili seasoning.

DSC04711

Gyu Cheese Katsu | B$6.30

We did not order this in the first place but the waitress got the wrong order. It was pregnant fish that we wanted and had no idea how this came out on our order form. It was too late when we found out the mistake so we made no attempt to have it returned. We just leave it on the table and had Jennifer to bring home for her parents. Both Sister and I don’t eat beef while Jennifer did not feel like eating them due to the cheese on the beef.

DSC04719

Sake Avocado Tortilla Temaki | B$4.50

What’s unique about this Temaki is that instead of being wrapped with seaweed sheet, this was wrapped with tortilla hence the higher price compared to the ordinary temaki. This is something you could order if you wanted to try something different for a change.

DSC04718

Spicy Maguro Temaki (Sake) | B$3.60

This is one of my favorite fillings in a temaki. But unfortunately, the seaweed sheet wasn’t very fresh when I had it the other day. To be honest, I find it to be a little bit soggy for my liking.

Kaizen Sushi Waterfront
Block G, First Floor,
Yayasan Complex,
Jalan Pretty,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2226336

2 thoughts on “24062014 – Kaizen Sushi Waterfront

Leave a Reply

