Baking #28: Orange Chiffon Cake (18cm)

I attempted Orange Chiffon Cake yesterday evening after I came home from work. I intended to bake a 24cm Orange Chiffon Cake on Thursday evening but I was not feeling well that night hence I gave up on the idea. Instead of using my other “bigger” version of 18cm chiffon pan, I attempted my Orange Chiffon Cake with another 18cm chiffon pan which I bought quite some time ago but had only used it once.

Kindly please pardon me the picture quality as Sister is borrowing my SONY NEX-3N for her Melbourne trip. Unfortunately, I do not have a spare camera anymore after I bought SONY NEX-3N as I gave the battery of my previous Fujifilm Finepix F200 to Sister. So, I had to resort to using my iPhone 5S for picture taking. I am still not so used to take picture with a mobile phone.

photo3

Orange Chiffon Cake (adapted from Cuisine Paradise)

Ingredients: 

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 25g fine granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil *I used corn oil*
  • 60ml freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 80g top flour *I used cake flour*
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tsp Cointreau *omitted*
  • 3 egg whites
  • 45g fine granulated sugar

Directions:

  1. Beat egg yolks and 25g of fine granulated sugar with a hand mixer until it becomes creamy and pale, which roughly takes about 2 minutes depending on the speed that you use at the time.
  2. Pour in vegetable oil and freshly squeezed orange juice in sequence and mix until well incorporated.
  3. Sift in cake flour and orange zest and mix until well combined or until no flour lump could be seen.
  4. Beat egg whites until it becomes foamy and frothy. Gradually add in 45g of fine granulated sugar in two batches until it reaches stiff peaks stage.
  5. Gently fold in the meringue in the egg yolk batter in two batches until no white streak could be seen.
  6. Pour mixed batter into a 18cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius on the lowest rack for approximately 30 to 35 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  7. Invert the cake immediately when baked and let it cool down for roughly an hour or until it’s cool enough to be unmoulded.

photo6

I was a little disappointed at how short the cake rose when baked. But I could have over beaten the egg whites hence causing the batter not to rise as beautifully as I expected it to be.

I don’t mind giving this recipe another try some other time but I am definitely gonna reduce the sugar amount and include cream of tartar in the recipe. Dad mentioned that the cake tasted sweet but it has enough orange flavor.

Leave a Reply

