Baking #31: Cheddar Cheese Chiffon Cake

I only needed to work half a day this afternoon as it’s a national public holiday today. And you must be wondering why am I still working half a day when it’s a national public holiday? Truth is, the nature of the business of the company where I am currently working in opens 364 days in a year. But there are few days a in a year whereby I get to work half a day on national public holidays.

Anyways, I bumped into Jia and her family last Sunday evening and Jia’s dad talked about my chiffon cakes. And I decided to bake them my version of Cheddar Cheese Chiffon Cake since I have a little extra time to spare before getting ready for work. I used the original recipe of Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake by Bakericious and tweaked a little bit and sort of made it my own version. LOL!

DSC05546

Cheddar Cheese Chiffon Cake

Ingredients:

  • 60ml full cream milk
  • 3 slices of Kraft cheese
  • 25g unsalted butter
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 65g cake flour
  • 4 egg whites
  • 50g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Melt sliced cheese with unsalted butter and full cream milk over a pot of simmering water until the texture becomes smooth and lump free. Remove from heat and leave to cool for about 5 minutes.
  2. Add in one egg yolk at a time and mix until well combined.
  3. Sift in cake flour and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  4. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy or frothy. Gradually add in fine granulated sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peaks stage.
  5. Gently fold in 1/3 of the meringue into the cheese batter and be careful not to deflate the batter. Proceed similarly with the rest of the meringue until no white streak could be seen.
  6. Pour batter into a 17cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 30 minutes or until inserted skewer comes out clean.
  7. Invert the chiffon pan immediately when removed from the oven for approximately 2 hours or cool enough to be removed from the pan.

The original recipe calls for 90g of fine granulated sugar but I reduced them by 40g as I personally find the cake to be rather too sweet for my liking. And furthermore, Jia’s Dad is cutting down on his sugar intake.

According to Eldie (Jia’s brother), the cake and the sweetness level was good. And both his parents ate at least half of the cake in a short time. I did not get to try the cake myself as I gave the whole lot to Eldie. But I am planning to make it again some other time so that I could know how it tastes like before passing over the recipe to a colleague of mine.

Leave a Reply

