Sungkai Buffet Review: Modesto Bistro & Grill

Sister went back to China this morning and that left me with no companion when it comes to food hunting. Both Kaylie and I had not been meeting up for meals lately as I had been busy with work. And furthermore, Jia is currently 6 months pregnant. So, eating out is not as convenient as it used to be anymore.

Anyways, both Sister and I tried out Modesto Bistro & Grill after contemplating between various restaurants for dinner. I was craving for Korean cuisine the other night but Sister sort of wanted to try somewhere we both never been before. And Modesto Bistro & Grill struck my brain the moment she said it. So, Modesto Bistro & Grill it was.

We never intended to try their Sungkai Buffet. I had only wanted to try their ala carte dishes. But unfortunately, ala carte is not available until 8:30p.m. in the evening and my growling stomach doesn’t seem to be able to wait till then. So, Sister suggested that we check out their Sungkai Buffet dishes before deciding whether to go ahead or not. Sister finds their food offerings acceptable at first sight so we settled with Sungkai Buffet rather than wait till 8:30p.m. for dinner.

Modesto Bistro & Grill has a printed leaflet that stated what dishes they serve on different days. But I will just show you what will be served on every Friday for your reference.

Appetizers
Prawn Cocktails in Shooter Glass
Assorted Cold Cuts
Kurma

Soup
Potato and Leek Soup

Main Entree
Modesto Beef Rib Honey Mustard Sauce
Grilled Lamb Scottadita
Mushroom Sauce (Marinated in Tomato)
Chicken Cacciatore (Stew)
Prawn Thermidor
Potato Wedges
Wok Fried Kailan in Garlic Oyster Sauce
Garlic Rice

Modesto Roast Carving Section
(Two choices of Roasted Lamb, Beef or Chicken)

Pasta Section
Live Cooking Show

Kiddie Station
(Two choices of meal from Kids Menu)

Food pictures ahead …

DSC05461

This is the pasta section whereby you order your pasta. They have two choices of pasta – penne and linguine, with two choices of sauces – carbonara and bolognese. I see that majority patrons ordered carbonara sauce instead of bolognese sauce. Sister claimed that carbonara sauce is way more expensive than bolognese sauce.

DSC05473

Carbonara Linguine

This is my plate of pasta. I ordered linguine pasta with carbonara sauce and side toppings of mushrooms. The portion for mushrooms were good enough but I would prefer if they used button mushrooms instead of shiitake. One thing I failed to notice was that coriander leaves were stirred into the carbonara sauce as well in the process of preparing my pasta. The sauce was great but it would be better without the coriander leaves.

DSC05464

Next to the pasta station was this kiddie station whereby they stationed a chocolate fondue with varieties of finger foods like biscuit sticks, fingers sponge, fruit cocktails and so on. Sister tried their mini pizza and she did not like them that much as they turned hard after getting exposed to air for quite some time already.

DSC05465

DSC05466

There were quite a few selections here at this main course station but I only tried their Grilled Lamb Scottadita and Chicken Cacciatore (Stew). The Grilled Lamb Scottadita was a little bit too hard and dry for me. And that particular piece of Grilled Lamb Scottadita which I took was cooked medium rare. The meat was still red with blood when I sliced it up. The Chicken Cacciatore (Stew) tasted okay though. At least, I find it better than the Grilled Lamb Scottadita.

DSC05467

Prawn Cocktails in Shooter Glass

I took one each for both Sister and I. We did not return for a refill for this. The prawns were okay, quite fresh but not the freshest. I couldn’t be sure what’s the dipping sauce but Sister guessed that it should be sour cream dipping sauce.

DSC05469

Assorted Cold Cuts

DSC05470

Our first round of food …

DSC05479

And this was my second round – Grilled Lamb Scottadita and Chicken Chicken Cacciatore (Stew).

DSC05482

And finishing off with desserts. The desserts were only average to me but there was one particular dessert which Sister tried was good. I couldn’t remember what’s the name but she complimented about it when the Cashier asked her about the food. But unfortunately, there was another dessert which was bad. I think it was the brownie or something. It was extremely hard to the extent that you couldn’t even poke it with a fork. So, you could sort of imagine how hard it was.

All in all, I think B$24 is value for money if you like beef or lamb. The spread is okay but then I suspected that they don’t do refills much as I saw that there were quite a few dishes which were almost finishing but no refill had been made.

Modesto Bistro & Grill
Unit 8,9 & 10,
Abraco Building,
Jalan Batu Bersurat,
Gadong,
Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2332000

Leave a Reply

