Sungkai Buffet Review: Sushi Tei, Gadong Central

The hectic days were finally over. I get to sit down properly in my office and finishing off some of my overdue works which had been piling for almost a month. Our office opened late today as it’s the first day of Hari Raya Aidilfitri. So, a couple of colleagues and I headed over to Ching Nam Fong for a hearty brunch. Well, it was brunch for me as I did not have any breakfast beforehand. I set my alarm to ring off at 9:30a.m. in the morning so that I get ample of time to get ready. Turned out I was still running late as three of my colleagues had arrived before me. LOL!

And it’s dinner tonight with two ex-classmates of mine from CHMS. We had been making plans for dinner together since last month. And I stood them up twice. There was one time when I cancelled on them as I had tooth cleaning at the dentist in the morning and my gums were a bit swollen. Hence, it doesn’t feel very comfortable when having food. And there was once when I had to cancel on them due to overdue work which I had to finish on that particular evening.

One of them – San Diann, invited both Clara and I to Raya house visiting to another ex-classmate of ours. I turned them down again as I couldn’t be sure if I am able to leave work on time on that evening. I decided to invite them for dinner tonight since I do not have much to do and they seem to be free at the same time. We had decided to go Sweet Lemongrass Restaurant tonight for Thai food.

Anyways, let’s not get sidetracked and let me get going with what I intended to blog about today. I have quite a few skincare products to be reviewed. I’ll get them up as soon as possible as I haven’t even took their picture yet. LOL!

The four of us – Jia, Stephen, Eldie and I went for Sungkai Buffet at Sushi Tei, Gadong Central two Sundays ago in celebration of Eldie’s birthday. It was an advanced celebration from me. Eldie wanted to try Pasta Mania at first since he has never been to one. But unfortunately, Pasta Mania doesn’t serve ala carte apart from beverages and huge portion of pastas can make you go sick as well. So, we decided on Sushi Tei in the end since they are serving buffet spread for B$18.80 per person. Quite a good deal I would say.

Anyways, let’s get started with the food pictures. I did not take all of the food pictures as it was kinda awkward to take pictures of them one by one as there could be another patron waiting behind you for food.

DSC05567

Complimentary smoothies for you to try upon arrival. All tables were placed with a set of these. We did not try at first until at the very end of our dinner. I took one to try while Eldie tried a little bit of each and everyone of them. I remembered that there was one blended out of oat or cereal. Quite an odd taste for smoothie I would say.

DSC05568

DSC05569

DSC05570

DSC05571

DSC05573

DSC05575

These were only half of the food served at Sushi Tei, Gadong Central the other night. The waitresses did refills from time to time when food were running low. I wanted to have a lot of salmon sashimi but unfortunately, my toothache hindered me from doing so. I couldn’t eat much of too hot or cold food and painkiller doesn’t seem to be working well that evening. So, I only had a slice or two of the sashimi.

According to Stephen, the sashimi were only average and it’s probably because they did not use the best part of a salmon. The lamb looked overcooked in my opinion albeit I did not take any to try. Eldie tried Okonomiyaki and he said it wasn’t that great. To be honest, I think the food were a bit of hit and miss. Some were good in my opinion.

DSC05576

This was my first round. I thought they were serving Shiitake Tempura but it turned out to be Soft Shell Crab Tempura. My first round of food was okay. The Grilled Salmon with Teriyaki Sauce was good and I ended up with a second helping. Hahaha … xD

DSC05578

Second round of food. The Baked Cheese Scallop was good but I did not go for a second helping as I find the gravy of the melting cheese a little bit too salty for my liking. But nevertheless, it was good. Takoyaki was okay but not the best as it wasn’t piping hot when I had it.

Sushi Tei
42 & 43, Bangunan Gadong Central,
Kampung Menglait, Gadong,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2449977

Leave a Reply

