Baking #33 – Steamed Egg Muffin

I made Steamed Egg Muffins few weekends ago when Sister was still home for holiday. I got tired of baking. Hence, I decided to make something by steaming rather than baking. I had been keeping this recipe which I bookmarked from BeautyMeLoveRecipes for quite some time but never gotten round to do it.

Fortunately for me, the ingredients were easy to get hold of as I had majority of them at home apart from cream soda. But unfortunately, I find the texture of my Steamed Egg Muffins to be of failure as it was pretty dense. The taste was alright and the sweetness level was just perfect.

DSC05339

Ingredients for Steamed Egg Muffins …

Ingredients:

  • 230g self-raising flour
  • 120ml cream soda *I used F&N Ice-Cream Soda*
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 190g fine granulated sugar *I reduced to 90g because I not using non-sugar cream soda*
  • 4 eggs

Directions:

  1. Whisk eggs and sugar till the batter turned pale in color and add in vanilla essence.
  2. Sift in 1/3 of the self-raising flour into the creamy batter and alternating with the cream soda. Repeat the process and stop when all were well combined.
  3. Pour the batter into muffins with 3/4 full.
  4. Steam on high heat for about 10 minutes. *I steamed mine for about 13 minutes*

DSC05340

Steamed Egg Muffins (adapted from BeautyMeLoveRecipes)

I couldn’t understand why my Steamed Egg Muffins turned out to be dense in texture when I had followed all the instructions exactly. Can anyone shed some lights here on what I might have did wrongly?

Leave a Reply

