Baking #34: Maple Chiffon Cake

I decided to bake Maple Chiffon Cake last Sunday evening on a very last minute decision as the Golden Syrup which I bought earlier in the afternoon was left in Kaylie’s car. The both of us totally forgotten about our purchases as she was the one who carried the grocery bag into her car. I only realized that I left my groceries in her car while I was almost reaching my home. I even made a trip to the supermarket nearby my place but the only closest thing that they have is the normal honey, which I bought but ended up not using.

I was actually searching recipes for a 18cm Banana Chiffon Cake when I came across this Maple Chiffon Cake by SeaDragon. And I remembered that I still have a small cup of maple syrup stored inside my fridge which my colleague gave me. The maple syrup was purchased from Canada, if I am not mistaken. So, I guess the taste would be original rather than flavored only.

Without further ado, let me show you the ingredients and directions for the making of Maple Chiffon Cake …

DSC05697

Maple Chiffon Cake (adapted from SeaDragon)

Ingredients:

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 60ml maple syrup
  • 40ml canola oil *corn oil*
  • 30ml milk, warmed to room temperature
  • 70g cake flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/8 tsp salt *1/4 tsp cream of tartar*
  • 60g fine granulated sugar *50g*

Directions:

  1. Beat egg yolks and maple syrup together until it reaches a slightly thick consistency.
  2. Add in corn oil and milk in sequence. Mix well.
  3. Sift in cake flour, baking powder and salt together and fold until no flour lump is found.
  4. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turns foamy and frothy.
  5. Gradually add in fine granulated sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peaks.
  6. Fold in 1/3 of the meringue gently into the egg yolk batter. Repeat similarly with the remaining 2/3 of the meringue until no white streak could be seen.
  7. Pour batter into a 17cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 160 degree Celsius for 30 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  8. Invert the chiffon pan immediately when removed from the oven for approximately 2 hours or cool enough to be removed from the pan.

DSC05702

Those words which were colored in red were what I had altered from the original recipe. As for the oil, you can use any kind of vegetable oil. Be it canola oil, sunflower oil, soy bean oil, grape seed oil or any type of vegetable oil. But steer clear from extra virgin olive oil as it is too heavy for the cake. But speaking from experience, I think corn oil is the best cooking oil for making chiffon, sponge or ogura cakes.

Instead of adding salt into the egg whites when creating the meringue, I added it into my egg yolk batter along with the flour and baking powder. I omitted the salt for the meringue and replaced it with cream of tartar. The original recipe doesn’t call for cream of tartar but I usually add in some so that my egg whites don’t deflate easily and they are easier to whip into the stiff peaks stage that I wanted.

In terms of the sweetness level, I think you could reduce the quantity by half to 30g if you are a health conscious person. I personally find 50g of sugar is still too sweet for my liking. And furthermore, the maple syrup itself is originally sweet. The texture of the cake is extremely soft, fluffy and it has a subtle maple taste.

The original recipe called for a chiffon pan size of 15cm only but I used one of 17cm anyways. Albeit the diameter of my chiffon pan is larger than the original recipe, my cake still rose very high and beautifully. So, if you have some maple syrup left at home, why not give this recipe a try and see if you like it for yourself?

Happy trying!

Leave a Reply

