Review: Twisted Burger, Miri

I was at Miri yesterday for almost a day. Alan picked me up from Imperial Hotel around 8:30a.m. in the morning and we headed to Maybank straightaway so that I could do cash deposit for my colleague. Breakfast was at Yakin and I had my previous favorite Fried Kway Tiaw. And I also managed to get a few chiffon cake storage containers for Dad to bring back the cakes which I am gonna bake tomorrow evening.

I decided to try out Twisted Burger after hearing and seeing so many positive comments about the said place. I had actually wanted to try the said place when I was in Miri last April but it wasn’t opened yet for the day. There was no other patron at the time when we arrived yesterday afternoon. We were there very late as I was having late lunch instead of noon lunch. LOL! Alan had his lunch while I was out for tea break with Ing at TeaBox.

To be honest, I was awfully disappointed from my visit to Twisted Burger yesterday afternoon. I had actually anticipated a lot as Jia claimed that their burgers were good.

DSC05845

Swiss Shroom | RM16

Grilled chicken thighs, sauteed pearl mushroom in balsamic vinegar, melted Swiss emmenthal cheese (Tom & Jerry’s favorite cheese) with roasted garlic aioli on a wholemeal bun.

Let me get started on the burger first. The bun was a healthy option – wholemeal bun. And I quite liked the way they grilled the chicken thigh with barbeque sauce. It tasted good and the meat were all juicy and tender but Alan did not like the meat as much as I did.

Unfortunately, the sauteed mushrooms were a let down. Why? They were sauteed with balsamic vinegar hence making the mushrooms tasting sour and not fresh at the same time. The balsamic vinegar managed to get seeped into the wholemeal bun, hence making the bread tasting sour and stale as well. To be honest, I would prefer button or shiitake mushroom over pearl mushroom in a burger. The fries were good but the burger had caused the both of us to lose appetite, hence we had at least three quarter portion of the fries left.

Verdict: I personally think the reviews on Twister Burger were a little bit overrated. The design of the place was good as it quite resembles a burger parlor but the food was a let down. At least, Swiss Shroom to me. Alan was pretty upset that he saw a few dirt inside the ice cubes of his soft drink. I intended to pour some tomato ketchup for my fries but after seeing the sauce residues sticking on the cap and turning black, I decided not to. The sight was really a turn off.

Twisted Burger
Lot 523, Ground Floor,
Jalan Miri Pujut,
Pelita Commercial Centre,
9800, Miri,
Sarawak,
East Malaysia
Tel: +6-0168505771

Leave a Reply

