3 Bakes – Basic/Sweet Corn Cream Chiffon Cake & Light Cheddar Cheesecake

Good morning!

Feeling kinda knackered right now as I slept pretty late yesterday evening and still woke up around the same time like I usually do for the past few days. Dad is flying back to Kuching this afternoon for the 100th days of my grandma wake. So, I baked three cakes for him to bring back to my two grandmas and my youngest aunt.

I intended to bake Banana Chiffon Cake at first. But unfortunately, the banana which I bought few days ago weren’t that ripe to be baked as a cake. The skin were bright yellow and turned slightly black in color on certain parts. But the flesh is rather raw for my liking. Hence, I substituted Banana Chiffon Cake with Sweet Corn Cream Chiffon Cake from Peng’s Kitchen.

Without further ado, let me show you all my 3 bakes!

DSC05877

Sweet Cream Corn Chiffon Cake 21cm (adapted from Peng’s Kitchen)

Ingredients:

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 250g creamy sweet corn
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 60ml corn oil
  • 100g fine granulated sugar *80g*
  • 120g plain flour *cake flour*
  • 50g coconut powder
  • 6 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Beat egg yolks with 20g of fine granulated sugar until it turned creamy and pale in color.
  2. Add in vanilla essence and mix until well combined.
  3. Pour in corn oil and creamy sweet corn in sequence and mix well.
  4. Sift in cake flour and coconut powder and mix well until no flour lump could be seen.
  5. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turned foamy and frothy.
  6. Gradually add in the remaining 60g of fine granulated sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peaks stage.
  7. Fold in 1/3 of the meringue into the egg yolk batter and repeat the same with the remaining portions of the meringue.
  8. Pour batter into a non-greased/lined 9″ chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for approximately 40 to 45 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean. *But I used 21cm chiffon pan instead*
  9. Invert the chiffon pan immediately when baked for approximately two hours or until cool enough to be unmolded.

DSC05886

Basic Chiffon Cake (adapted from DessertzHouse)

Quite disappointed with my bake of Basic Chiffon Cake this time as it did not rose as well as it did previously. Click here for my previous attempt.

DSC05884

Light Cheddar Cheesecake (adapted from Honey Bee Sweets)

So, I managed to bake all of these three cakes in a matter of five hours. I had intended to bake chiffon cakes yesterday evening and leave the Light Cheddar Cheesecake for this morning. But seeing that it’s still not that late yet when I am done with Basic Chiffon Cake, I decided to bake them all in one night.

But unfortunately, my Light Cheddar Cheesecake cracked rather badly. I wonder what could have gone wrong time. Can anyone shed some light here? On the happy note, the cake did not shrink badly. LOL!

Leave a Reply

